We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality..”
Review of Dar Habiba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Habiba
Ranked #375 of 1,139 Marrakech B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great hospitality..”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My 26yr old daughter and I stayed here from 6-10 Sept and had a lovely time. We weren't bowled over on first sight - the plunge pool didn't look fresh, our room was small and dark and the terrace was not breathtaking: the photographs we had seen had led us to expect more. BUT Mustapha surprised us by offering breakfast though it was quite late; the location is fantastic - very close to the Jama el Fna; some of the best wares can be found on the alleys leading to the main square; the Riad is very old and retains a lot of it's antiquity; the toiletries provided are lovely; beds are very comfortable though narrow; food is tasty & plentiful (if expensive); mint tea is on tap, but the most important factor was the willingness of Mustapha, the manager, to help, including accompanying my daughter at night to buy some water because she was worried about going alone. He is also very knowledgeable about history and knows the area like the back of his hand...he can regale tales till the mint tea runs out....
Excursions: best to book your own tickets from the bus station otherwise return journeys are not guaranteed. Even though we paid Premier price for our tickets to and from Essouria which entitled us to an air conditioned comfy coach, we had to return in a beaten up 7 seater with no air con.
Taxis: haggle with the petite taxis and insist they don't stop to pick up other passengers on the route; even if one declines, another will accept. The agencies the Riad uses are very expensive- we paid 20Dh each to drive to the bus depot but on the return journey, we paid only 12.50Dh each for a petite taxi.
Water: buy your own - 6Dh outside, but 15Dh in the Riad
Breakfast: expected more but the orange juice is absolutely delicious!!!

Room Tip: The Nomade is on the West side so gets the setting sun; choose the one opposite which is brighter (m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    25
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
96
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Agadir, Morocco
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Marakech is an inspiring city, with plenty to do and see. This wasn't our first trip to Marakech, it was our third and my husband is Moroccan - which makes everything a little easier. However, had this not been the case, Dar Habiba would have made sure we visited and did all the right things!
This visit was part of our honeymoon and the first time we've stayed in a Riad - it was stunning. Moustapha collected us from the centre and walked us to the Riad, giving us tips en route and once in Dar Habiba, nothing was too much trouble.
Seemingly run by a European couple, Dar Habiba still has all the Moroccan charm and grace that we expected. Beautiful ambiance, fabulous food and a prime location;
Thank you Dar Habiba for looking after us, welcoming us and being generally fabulous. We will be recommending the socks off you!

Room Tip: We had the "Berber Room" and even though it was on the ground floor, near the front door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilySmira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2013

As a group of 17 year olds experiencing our first holiday without parents, Marrakech had the potential to be a bit daunting. However, as soon as we arrived at Dar Habiba our concerns were forgotten. Absolutely beautiful riad, with all of the western comforts subtly incorporated into a truly authentic Moroccan riad. Perfectly sized rooms with incredible ceilings, beautiful roof terrace, brilliant complementary breakfast with mint tea. The staff were incredible, offering us brilliant service and great advice about our time in the city. Couldn't fault it at all!

Room Tip: Every room is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

On June 15th 2013 7 females new to Marrakech stayed at this Riad for a week. The property exceeded all our expectations and as all the reviews show it is the perfect place to stay to explore this cultural city. Mostly however the devotion of the team of staff are what makes this place. Mustafa is a gem a true gentleman who caters to your very need in such a friendly and obliging way nothing is to much trouble, even us fussy crowd!!! There are aspects of Marrakech that are concerning and by no means does this reflect on this property as it is well located well kept and truly fabulous. I have no hesitation returning and would welcome the staff into my home any time as they became friends,Thank you so much for making the first taste of Morocco so good, it will not be the last.....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayestoneley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The riad staff were unbelievably friendly, giving us advice on anything we asked and this was one of the very best things about the whole trip. Rooms are clean and very attractive, ensure you take a good look at the ceiling in the rooms (sounds odd but you'll understand when you get there!). Relaxed atmosphere and great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montesson, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Excellent Riad with really nice staff. I would recommend Dar Habiba to anybody who wants to spend some time in Marrakech. It was a haven of peace, very nice perfectly sized rooms, very cool court yard and beautiful roof terrace.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

I am a bit delayed in writing this but hey, better late than never!
Nine of us travelled to Marrakech to celebrate my hen weekend back in March and we had the most amazing time.I must admit that when looking for places to stay I was really worried about finding the right location as we are quite a fussy group.
From the moment I made contact with Andrew here in the UK all fears were dispelled. His responses to all queries were extremely efficient and friendly.The payment process was secure and very user friendly.
When we arrived in Marrakech we were greeted by our driver and enjoyed taking in the lovely sights en route. The journey from the airport is not far and as we disembarked from the private transfer vehicle we were introduced to Mustafah...at the start of the trip he was a great host and guide...by the end of our trip he had become a friend.He is so attentative and goes beyond the call of duty to ensure guests have a wonderful stay.The welcome banquet was absolutely fantastic! It left the whole group full of jubilation.
The riad is an oasis of calm and a true example of what a traditional Moroccan riad should be. The ladies who cook and clean are all so genuinely friendly and accommodating and I was really touched to receive a parting gift to wish me luck for my what was then my forthcoming wedding.
I can't speak highly enough of this place and the staff...so if you are in doubt, please do not hesitate to go ahead and book your stay at Dar Habiba...you won't regret it.5* all round..

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katcam84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Tzarra
Riad Tzarra
#180 of 499 in Marrakech
242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad 58 Blu
Riad 58 Blu
#36 of 499 in Marrakech
708 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 499 in Marrakech
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 499 in Marrakech
1,215 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#15 of 499 in Marrakech
1,987 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#53 of 499 in Marrakech
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Habiba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Habiba

Property: Dar Habiba
Address: Rue Riad Zituon LkDim | Derb Jdid No. 18, Marrakech 400000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #375 of 1,139 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Habiba 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil English speaking Riad in the perfect location for exploring the Medina and Palaces. Search for Dar Habiba on the web and you’ll see everything we have to offer, including a beautiful candlelit hammam, a roof top terrace garden, spacious courtyard and atmospheric rooms. Our hammam experience, traditional food and personal service are genuinely second to none. We really look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Dar Habiba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing