We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“little oasis in the middle of the hustle and bustle”
Review of Dar Habiba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Habiba
Ranked #371 of 1,153 Marrakech B&B and Inns
wales
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“little oasis in the middle of the hustle and bustle”
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Really enjoyed our stay in Dar Habiba. Najat ws so helpful and welcoming ,any questions we had were fully answered,always with a smile or a laugh. The two lovely girls who served breakfast were friendly and couldn`t do enough to help.We were sorry to have missed Alistair, but were very grateful for the useful information via E-mail.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glascwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    26
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
97
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2010

We really enjoyed our stay in Marrakech and were so glad to have found Riad Dar Harbiba. Najat and the girls were so polite, helpful and friendly during our stay. The Riad was ideally situated being only a short walk to the main square. We would highly recommend this Riad to anyone who wants a peaceful setting but is just around the corner from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech.
Carol & Clive - England

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2010

We had a romantic Valentines weekend. We arrived at Dar Habiba and was greeted by Najat who made us feel welcome straight away. As this was our first time in Marrakesh, Najat explained everything we needed to know. She made us feel comfortable, even to leave our things in our room was not a problem. If you do not feel comfortable leaving your things in your room there is a safe available.

The other staff, Salwa & Adraa, were so friendly and warm hearted people. We had excellent meals and breakfast was always a pleasure. Our rooms were always cleaned.

On Valentines we had a hamam which is just the most invigorating experience. You will never feel as clean and relaxed. The lady who does the hamam is unbelievably good.

Overall, the staff at Dar Habiba really gives you a good impression of Moroccan people and culture. Stay here if you want to meet really nice people.

Thank you Najat, Salwa & Adraa; you are a hard working team and deserve all good things in life. We will certainly recommend anyone to stay at Dar Habiba.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angel44434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2010

This Riad is well-situated inside the Medina, close to Jema El Fna Square and the Souks. Although we have not stayed at other Riads and it is therefore difficult to rate the Dar Habiba, we found the Dar Habiba clean and, although a bit rustic, made up for by the warmth, guidance and friendliness of the staff. Like their website, the Dar Habiba offers much needed information to tourists on "what to do", "how to do it" and "tips on tipping, sites to visit" and efficient arrangements made through the Riad proved to be invaluable. The Dar Habiba contributed to our stay in Marrakech to be memorable and stimulating. Thanks to Allastair, Najat and the rest of the team!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlenAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

This is a Riad which is very comfortable and clean and also in a very convenient location, but above all stands out for the exceptional service provided by Najat and her staff who make you feel at home from the beginning.
When we made the booking, Alistair answered our emails very quickly and was very helpful and the website is very informative with lots of useful tips. Nearer the time, Najat answered our emails very speedily and booked the taxi for us. Despite a delayed arrival due to Marrakech airport being fogbound!! and our flight being re-routed to Agadir, Najat gave us a very warm welcome and over a mint tea, made very helpful suggestions about what to see and do in Marrakech. We happened to mention that the reason for our visit was an 18th birthday treat for my son, and just a few hours later, after a very delicious dinner on the terrace, the whole staff team arrived up on the terrace with sparklers and a freshly baked birthday cake - what a delightful thought!

Throughout our stay, Najat was always on hand to help and ready to chat when needed, but also stood back to allow us time to enjoy the Riad. On our return from our Sahara trip, she warmly welcomed us back and was genuinely interested to hear about our adventures.

I find it hard to understand the views of a recent guest who felt it is a greedy money making establishment - on the contrary, on my fairly extensive travels, I have never experienced such a generosity of spirit and excellent standard of service. The Riad is situated just a few minutes away from the noisy hustle and bustle of the main square and it is indeed a haven of peace and calm which is wonderful to return to and it is a pleasure to have quiet conversation with the staff and fellow guests.

Thank you very much Najat and team and we would love to return one day!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelenjoyment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Your experience with Dar Habiba starts well before arrival at the riad, it starts with your first enquiry. Alistair (the owner) is efficient and friendly. He provides you with all the information that you may need about staying at Dar Habiba and Marrakech. Alistair was prompt with his emails, which was really nice - you didn't have to wait days before you knew if there was avaliablity or have a query answered. Alistair also emailed us the menu for the riad which allowed us to pre-order our dinner for the first night (our flight didn't get into until after 7pm).

We provided Narjat (the manageress) with our flight details and she was able to arrange for an efficient transfer from the airport to the riad for us, it was all stress free, prefect after a day of travelling. The riad is located off one of the main streets near Djemma El Fna (5 minutes walk away), the street it is on is very safe, even at night, there was no point where I felt unsafe when walking back to the riad. The riad is also close to the El Badi Palace and Bahia Palace (5 minutes walk).

When we arrived at the riad we were greeted with mint tea on the roof terrace. I have been to Marrakech before so did not have many questions on our arrival for Narjat, however a couple who had arrived at the same time had not been before and Narjat seemed to answer all their queries.

Our room was on the first floor, it was perfect for 2 friends travelling together. Some may say the bathroom was a bit small BUT if you have stayed in a riad before in Morrocco you will know that they are all of a similar size. The room and bathroom was really clean and was cleaned daily. It was a really nice room, on one of our nights we needed to turn the heater on in our room as it was quite chilly that night. The heater was really great, it was so quiet and warmed the room very efficently.

Najat is a really warm and friendly host, a real welcome to all the chaos that you will find in the souks. She was able to arrange for a lady to come and do henna on our hands rather than us having to go to the main square and haggle for it. She was also able to arrange dinner for us at late notice and there was always mint tea if we wanted it. Najat took an interest in our day and provided us with hint & tips for our next shopping trip. Najat provided great conversation, my friend and I laughed so much, Najat was great company and never overstayed her welcome. Najat was really accomodating to our needs, especially as we were on quite a late flight out. All the girls at the riad were helpful and genuinely friendly. I felt so welcomed, like I was part of their family.

In addition to what I have said above there are a couple of things I would recommed about this riad. First, their hammam, this was such a relaxing experience. My friend and I both really enjoyed it and felt so chilled out afterwards. Due to time constraints we could only experience this once, if you are there longer you may want to use the hammam more than once. The second recommendation is the cooked meals at the riad. The lamb with prunes, lamb tangia, and the special cous cous were all amazing. You may think that you are paying more than you would if you ate outside of the riad but this is not really the case (obviously depending on where you eat - i'm comparing with a restaurant) and you get to chill out on the terrace.

Overall, this was a fantastic riad to stay at while in Marrakech and is good value for money. The service was impeccable and friendly. When I go back to Marrakech, this will be the riad that I will be going back to and the one that I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmaDablamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2010

Nothing is too much trouble, all organised for you. Najat makes it. Chatty and helpful. The riad is a good reflection of marrakech - not perfect but welcoming, different and local. The hammam was great. As per last reviewer we were concerned about privacy on arrival but it was a non issue in practice once you closed your shutters. I hope it wasn't us who were noisy!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pdm11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#23 of 500 in Marrakech
528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#12 of 500 in Marrakech
1,235 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Papillon
Riad Papillon
#25 of 287 in Marrakech
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Star
Riad Star
#134 of 1,153 in Marrakech
139 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#42 of 500 in Marrakech
1,250 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Habiba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Habiba

Property: Dar Habiba
Address: Rue Riad Zituon LkDim | Derb Jdid No. 18, Marrakech 400000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #371 of 1,153 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Habiba 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil English speaking Riad in the perfect location for exploring the Medina and Palaces. Search for Dar Habiba on the web and you’ll see everything we have to offer, including a beautiful candlelit hammam, a roof top terrace garden, spacious courtyard and atmospheric rooms. Our hammam experience, traditional food and personal service are genuinely second to none. We really look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dar Habiba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing