We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stylish oasis in the medina” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chambres d'amis

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chambres d'amis
Ranked #46 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dordrecht
1 review
“stylish oasis in the medina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

From humoristic host Rutger Jan we were given useful tips about life in Marrakech while he walked us from our taxi to the Riad, were we felt immediately at home.

We stayed four nights in Chambres d'Amis in the middle of the Medina.

The riad is an oasis of peace and quiet and indulgence!

Whenever we returned from the city, the square or the souk;
It's amazing to experience the contrast of the crowd, the colors, the scents in the Medina and the complete delight of Chambres d'Amis.

Rutger Jan, Anke and the staff made our stay unforgettable and of course Marrakech itself. What a city!

We sure will return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IngridJansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    41
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
89
35
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

I have stayed in this riad twice now, and it is fantastic base for the city. Jansky is a godsend - he knows all the ins and outs of the city and was super-helpful with tips and suggestions for places to go and visit and things to do, as well as sorting out taxis etc.

The location is perfect - very close to the main square, but tucked away from all the hustle and bustle, providing a much-needed little oasis of peace and quiet, and nice and cool after all the heat outside. It is spotlessly clean, decorated in a trendy, minimal, Ikea-esque style.

Minor downsides: the rooms can get a little cold at night if you are not travelling in the hotter months. And also there isn't a dipping pool, which can be a welcome extra for some of you after a long day in the dust and heat. Showers can be a little temperemental. And the riad can be quite tricky to find first time round, so let Jansky sort you a taxi.

I'm in the middle of booking the riad again for June so don't let my criticisms put you off - it really is a gem : )

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

This peaceful lovely riad is a gem in the center of Marrakech. The visitors are in the prefect hands of the host Rutger Jan and his staff. This is a place where you can enjoy Marrakech in a wonderful way. Very stylish and modern within the beautiful moroccan heritage.

Therefor:
If you go to Marrakech stay in this lovely riad.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diederiknl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

I loved this place. In the center of Marrakech in the medina and close to the souk, this place is very peaceful. The staff great and very helpful. I totally recommend to go here.

Room Tip: A room on the second floor gives a good view of the Riad
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davince1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Visiting Chambres d’Amis was positive. The location is very good if one wants to live close to the center of the city (3 minutes walk from Djemaa El Fna Square and the Souks).

The first time of arriving to Chambres d’Amis it is recommended to ask Jansky (the host) to arrange a taxi. It is not so easy to find the riad the first time. However, after one have seen the way it is easy to get around.

The service at the riad was good too. Local Moroccans were preparing food and making sure that the guest had a good a relaxing time. Furthermore, Jansky was very helpful and service minded. He took great care of his guests and was more than willing to give advices about the city, what to see and how to get around.

The guests have to remember that this is a riad; thus, it can not be compared to a hotel. This means that there are not big TV screens, no pools, no mini bars etc. In my situation this was positive since I wanted to get the feeling of the Moroccan culture and everyday life. The riad is a place where one lives closer to the local culture compared to at a hotel. The design and (most) interior is local. This together with the local staff gives one a feeling of the Moroccan life.

The rooms in the riad all had own bath and toilet. There was a roof terrace where breakfast was served and where one could relax, enjoy the sun and find peace and rest from the hectic life in the streets of Marrakech.

On the negative side can be mentioned that if living two persons together in a double room there is a lack of privacy when going to the toilet. The toilet was only shielded with a wall. Thus, there is no door to close.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
190 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

On the plus side: the location is excellent, just a very short stroll from the Jemaa al Fna square and the souqs. The host, Rutger Jan takes excellent care of his guests. He knows the ins and outs of the city, will make reservations for you and help you find your way. He also made sure we had fresh roses in our room every day. Having breakfast on the roof terrace is a lovely way to start the day there.
On the negative side: the Riad has a spartan decoration with very little to remind you that you are in Marrakech. No decorations on the wall, plastic mats on the floor and IKEA bedside lamps. It all has a very cheap feel about it. The beds are very hard, the plumbing is temperamental and the chairs and sofas around the place are not comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scandilove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wuppertal, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2008

I can highly recommend to stay in Riad "Chambres D'Amis" in Marrakech, which is a lovely decorated riad. They do have 5 rooms, all with an own bath, the price for the room is between 55-85 €. The breakfast was ok, we had it on the roof terrace. You can also have dinner there, but we haven't tried it.
The rooms are spacious with a big bathroom, all made in tadelakt (Moroccan speciality). The patio is nice with a banana tree and you can sit down there and just relax.
The riad is situated only 2 minutes walk from Djemaa El Fna Square in the Derb Dabachi quarter. It is easy to find, once you have arrived there. I recommend to take an airport transfer because they will show you the way to the riad. It's not so easy to find the way the first time alone.
Although it is very near to Marrakech's main attraction you will find peace and calm in the riad, where you can have a rest from the trouble in the souks.
The only thing I disliked was e-mail communication. It didn't worked well, so I recommend to call them for reservation.

  • Liked — situation, cleanliness, friendliness, transfer, decoration
  • Disliked — communication
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank reisemarie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Les Nuits de Marrakech
Riad Les Nuits de Marrakech
#16 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Boussa
Riad Boussa
#13 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Al-Bushra
Riad Al-Bushra
#7 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Le J
Riad Le J
#70 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Matham
Riad Matham
#26 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Tizwa
Riad Tizwa
#157 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambres d'amis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambres d'amis

Property: Chambres d'amis
Address: Derb Dabachi/Derb Moulay Abdelkader 46/47, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing