We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like being in a film or a dream, a cross between arabian nights & indiana jones..”
Review of Riad Camilia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Camilia
Ranked #3 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“like being in a film or a dream, a cross between arabian nights & indiana jones..”
Reviewed 23 July 2011

this place is divine ! sheer oppulance, the attention to detail in all the rooms is like a caliphs palace. The staff cannot do enough for you anytime day/night & just glide in the background incase u need anything. The french manager nicholas even took us out shopping with him so we wouldn't get lost.... and even came into the city to find us when we did get lost ! he.. We had the whole riad to ourselves in june & toured all 6 suites which are to die for !

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayjay88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
182
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

This is a beautiful riad with staff who couldn't have been more helpful or welcoming. Rooms range from charming to luxurious (we got the chance to peek in most!) with big comfy beds. Public rooms including the rooftop terace were a delight. Don't be put off by the approach down a tangle of side streets, alleys and back alleys - you'll soon realise that all of the Medina looks like this, but do ask to have your transfers arranged as there's no way you'd find your way here by yourself. We were very well looked after, and do take the opportunity to eat dinner here during your stay if you can as the food is authentic Morrocan and really very good. As with any riad (given the basic design/concept is the same) take a room on the first rather than the ground floor for that bit of extra privacy/distance if that's important to you.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SPottinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2011

A superb riad with very friendly and helpful staff. We were offered mint teaand pastries frequently and bottled water with every meal and weren't charged for any of it when we left at the end of the trip. I was reallly surprised to read another review that commented on cleanliness as it was spotless and the staff are constantly cleaning. We have stayed in Marrakech before but would without doublt choose Riad Camilia again next time. It is perfectly located near the souks and a few minutes from the Jaama el fna square. Personally we prefer being in the heart of a place. Although it is very quiet in local alleyways at night we always felt very safe.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

We had a fabulous week away in Riad Camilia. The staff at the Riad, including Nicholas, our host and the Hotel Manager, were all very warm and welcoming but without being intrusive. The Riad is tastefully decorated and is the perfect end to a busy and noise filled day. I can't recommend Riad Camilia highly enough and would definitely stay again should we plan to re-visit Marrakesh.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vec29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

I had the most fabulous time here in February with my girlfriend. It was just perfect, combining the fun and vibrancy of Marrakesh with the stunning French colonial feel of the Riad and it's amazing feel, style and seclusion from the hustle of the souks. The staff members were fantastic, always just out of sight and awaiting your every need. Thank you to all the staff in particular Mohammed, Fatima and the Riad Manager Nicolas.
We can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richiemoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prangins, Switzerland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

A perfect weekend stay at the Camilia. We were in Room 4 which is a giant suite with beautiful decorations and a great bathroom with a private terrace and giant glass wall which fills the room with sunlight. The riad is very quiet, the roof terrace is large with different levels and has lots of space to relax and find a secluded space. I would highly recommend eating in the riad at least once (arrange ahead of time) - Fatima is a genius in the kitchen and it is pretty reasonable given the attentive service and quality of food. Nicolas, the manager, was very helpful in organizing everything. Also to recommend is a trip with driver (we had Abdelatif - excellent - but not sure if he speaks English as my wife and I both speak French). We had a great day in the Atlas and he took us to a few reliable sources for handicrafts, argan oil and essences, etc.

With respect to other critical evaluations on Tripadvisor - we found no basis for them. Our suite was clean (my wife is super maniacal for that) and there were no bird droppings on the chairs that tormented Clara from Namur. Maybe because we were there in winter with less birds...? But not even a hint of a stain, so I can't imagine that. The water basin was also very clean. As for TravellingPair's comments on the location: it is a riad in the medina, not a hotel in the Palmeraie. If you don't want the souk atmosphere at your doorstep and all that implies, don't stay in this or any other riad. However, if you want an authentic Moroccan atmosphere in a sumptuous and calm oasis in the medina, I can recommend the Camilia without an instant of hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Toltriaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

It is slightly hard to find and tucked away down an alleyway but after walking past the bustling souks, it is lovely to step into such a beautiful and calming riad. The staff are very helpful, although it helps if you speak french. Sometimes the photos of these places are very flattering but I thought it was even better in real life. Beautifully decorated and furnished. I was so looking forward to my trip and it was even better than I had imagined. I hope to return soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ASMDSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 500 in Marrakech
1,646 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#8 of 500 in Marrakech
1,210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 500 in Marrakech
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 500 in Marrakech
117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#7 of 500 in Marrakech
501 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#10 of 500 in Marrakech
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Camilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Camilia

Property: Riad Camilia
Address: Derb El Ouali 9, Kaat Benahid | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Camilia 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a sumptuous and authentic ryad with intact oriental and moorish atmosphere. The owners have invested time and passion to decorate this little palace of the Marrakech medina with wonderful objects and paintings found in local flea markets and antique shops around the world.

 The patio (courtyard) is an area of calm and relaxation where you find a small pool. There are two bedrooms on the ground floor and one bedroom and a suite overlooking the courtyard from the first floor. The master suite is absolutely gorgeous and we strongly advise you to spend a few nights there with your loved one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotel.de so you can book your Riad Camilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Camilia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing