We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highest Rating Deserved”
Review of Riad Camilia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Camilia
Ranked #4 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Highest Rating Deserved”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is the seventh of eleven riad reviews in Morocco, following the two Fes reviews, and preceding our stay in Ouarzazate. Stayed on 28th to 30th April, 2014.

Our string of consecutive number one Trip Advisor rated B&B and inns was broken at our sixth, the Riad Fes. Camilia is rated fifth to seventh in Marrakech; it fluctuated between the time I started this review and the finish, but then competition is top notch here (the Trip Advisor list for B&Bs and inns is 1036 long), and yet it ranks amongst the very top. The truth be known - at this level, each of the top riads will have some outstanding qualities to deserve its exalted status.

From abroad, one can only chose the accommodation by the description, the reviews and the photos, and then the place may not even be available. We were very lucky to secure our ground floor suite at the Camilia; in terms of decor alone, it earns my vote as the most tastefully decorated inn in Morocco (note that I said inn, not hotel). The Camilia offers a plethora of exquisite lounges to sit in, each enticing in its own way, a feature all too rare for small riads: a living room here, a den there, and a breakfast nook with a five meter skylight ceiling highlighted by a three-layered colored glass chandelier; the roof terrace has a trellis structure that is unique and beautiful. Each of the lounges plays a different stream of exotic ambient music, European and Moroccan in origin, unknown to my ears but totally in tune with the environment. You are spoilt for choices trying to decide where to drink your next coffee, or read you book, or view your photos; one small note of limitation is that the wi-fi connection is spotty, as there are many blind spots which the Camilia should be mindful of rectifying, a small task to be sure for this otherwise fine establishment.

The absent owner is French, and the furnishings and antiques that adorn these quarters reveal impeccable tastes and a penchant for collecting. Our suite on the ground floor faces the courtyard with a wading pool on the left, trees on both sides, and wrought iron tables accommodating comfortable seating and reading. Inside our suite there are two terracotta figures that looked so authentically Xian-esque that we wonder if they were smuggled abroad. On the foot of our very comfortable beds is a chaise sofa with two ornamental armrests in the shape of ancient Egyptian rams’ heads. The bathroom is magnificent, with a walk in shower for two (double rain shower heads), the shower wall is accented by translucent glass circles that let in light from the outside, and when I later sat down at the dining room, I saw on one wall the same glass circles and came to realize to my great surprise that this wall backs onto our shower - totally ingenious! I note also that inside the bathroom there is a recessed space with a multi-coloured Chinese medicinal vase that is faux antique but exquisitely tasteful.

Nicolas, our manager, is a young Frenchman of great enthusiasm and vigor, and he is generous with his advice. The breakfast is first rate, and the cooks provide eggs on order. On our first night, we had dinner at the roof terrace; the food is first rate, as expected everywhere in Morocco.

On Nicolas’ recommendation, we dropped La Mamounia, and visited the Royal Mansour instead. His advice was spot on, as the property is probably one of the most beautiful hotels we have ever visited. It is opulent to the point of being intimidating, and yet it ranks lower than 100 in the Trip Advisor list. In our late evening exploratory stroll, the security was courteous but firm and I had to leave my backpack at the gatekeeper’s office. Everywhere we walked we were the only occupants except for the occasional staff or security. But at the end of visiting this palatial lodge, and in a city blessed with extravagant hotels such the Royal Mansour, La Mamounia, Four Seasons and Aman Resorts, we felt blessed with our choice of staying at the quaint Camilia, which oozes charm and unique character. Five stars and totally well-earned.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pandarooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
184
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 nights here with another couple after 3 nights in Fez. Riad Camilia provided a wonderful relaxing environment to which we could retreat after the bedlam and heat of Marrakech became too much. After staying in a wonderful riad in Fez we were not disappointed. We had the large suite on the second floor as nothing else was available when we booked. It was huge! Beautifully decorated with its own balcony and access to the roof. Nicolas and his staff were fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble. The roof garden was lovely for breakfast and a drink at the end of the day. We had dinner there the first night and the staff made it very romantic with candles etc. The food was OK but not as good as we had in Fez but that may be due to regional differences in cuisine. Breakfast was fine but not as big a range as in Fez.
Overall we would totally recommend this riad. From the outside it is very unassuming and approached through a dark alley. When you enter, you are blown away by the contrast. It is also well located for exploring the medina which can be done easily without a guide, unlike Fez.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi-Traveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tsawwassen, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night before doing a 15 day "Riads and Kasbah's" Explore tour of Morrocco and again for 3 nights at the end. What a fantastic find. After staying there at the beginning of our trip, I couldn't wait to get back. It was the highlight of our journey. Initially we were going to stay at the hotel where our tour ended but it was too pricey so we used Trip Advisor to find something less expensive and found Riad Camillia. Riad Camillia was far superior to the more expensive hotel. Nicolas is extremely helpful and all the staff have smiles that can light up any room. We stayed in room 6 for both visits and loved this room. The photos of the Riad do not do the place justice. The beautiful furniture both in the rooms and the common areas, the roof terrace, the plunge pools, the dining room... I could go on forever. If you stay there, you must have dinner on the roof. I'm a vegetarian and the food that Fatima cooked for me was the best that I ate in Morocco. My husband who is not a vegetarian was also in heaven with her cooking. Stay here you will not regret it, you will only regret that you didn't.

Room Tip: Room 5 or 6 are gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights with my mum.
Nicolas is a very good host and he is so helpful, I have very specific dietary requirements he has accomdated everything I've requested. All e-mails were answered within hours and good service provided.
highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poochan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

All of you who are reading: Do not think twice if you choose Riad Camilia.
From the moment we booked this Riad everything was perfect. The whole team of people that is there for you, and you do not see them. Smiling without acting, cheerful, helpful, happy, hard-working and considerate. Each room is immaculate, roof terrace is a real paradise for the soul, Fatima kitchen is wonderful for the taste buds.
Worth EVERY MONEY! Do not hesitate.
Thank you Nicolas, Fatima, and every member of staff at every minute in this Riad.
The bed where you sleep, peace and quiet that you feel and the other guests were considerate, free laundry, tips given by Nicolas, an organization which he gladly offers in Marrakech for us, the music you hear in the background slightly while resting, waking up to the singing of sparrow, water ripples in the pool - beautiful. Peace, serenity and happiness - these are the feelings that you experience. One can not say that you feel at home, this is even better than your own home - I can not describe how wonderful to be there!
Thank you all once again!
Ivica & Ivana

Room Tip: All room are excellent - don' worry! We were in rooms 1 & 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pekica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I have never stayed in a more amazing place than the Riad Camilia. Staying here really made my stay in Marrakesh what it was. Fatima cooked amazing food. Nicolas is the best host in the world. The room was exquisite (I stayed in Room #5) It had the most amazing shower. To read more of my opinions, go to http://www.thiswaytoparadise.com/finding-paradise-riad-camilia-marakkesh/.

Room Tip: Room #5 had the biggest shower I've ever seen, and it 's own stairway to the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThisWayToParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I cannot praise Riad Camilia highly enough. Right from the moment we booked, Nicolas the manager could not have been more helpful. He e-mailed us to ask if we required dinner on arrival. (We were not arriving until late evening) He promptly answered any queries and arranged an airport transfer (which I would recommend, as finding you away about the medina at night is hard) On arrival Nicolas arranged for us to dine in the private dining room belonging to a room that was vacant. Breakfast was served every morning on the roof terrace by smiling staff and nothing was too much trouble. On the one morning that it was cloudy our breakfast was served on the terrace right outside our room. After eating in the Riad the first night we quickly decided that fatama's food was amazing and we ate there for the remainder of our stay. Nicolas is very knowledgable about Marrakech and made a number of great recomendations for places to drink coffee, mint tea, and alcohol which is slightly harder to find in the old town. Although the Riad only has 6 bed rooms it has loads of space for you to relax after a long day tramping about the sights. Sometimes it felt like we were the only ones there. This was our first visit to Marrackech I suspect it won't be our last and we definately will not be looking for somewhere else to stay, nowhere could live up to Riad Camilia

Room Tip: We only saw rooms 3 and 4 which are on the first floor, both are amazing however room four comes wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ceedee2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 500 in Marrakech
147 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 500 in Marrakech
1,688 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#3 of 500 in Marrakech
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 500 in Marrakech
1,237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#7 of 500 in Marrakech
809 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#10 of 500 in Marrakech
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Camilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Camilia

Property: Riad Camilia
Address: Derb El Ouali 9, Kaat Benahid | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Camilia 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a sumptuous and authentic ryad with intact oriental and moorish atmosphere. The owners have invested time and passion to decorate this little palace of the Marrakech medina with wonderful objects and paintings found in local flea markets and antique shops around the world. The patio (courtyard) is an area of calm and relaxation where you find a small pool. There are two bedrooms on the ground floor and one bedroom and a suite overlooking the courtyard from the first floor. The master suite is absolutely gorgeous and we strongly advise you to spend a few nights there with your loved one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Riad Camilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Camilia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing