We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Camilia
Nearby Hotels
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$444
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$411
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$333
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (439)
Filter reviews
439 results
Traveller rating
427
10
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
427
10
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshis teamroof terracethe perfect hostinterior designeratlas mountainsnooks and cranniesan oasissights and soundssitting roomdecorated beautifullyhammam and massagecall to prayerbustling medinamint teathe general managerthe entire staffthe main square
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 439 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at Riad Camilia for three nights and had a fabulous time. We chose the Riad because we felt it seemed central, with lots of different guest areas and little pools as well as a beautiful interior and great reviews. We were not disappointed on any count. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms, room 3, which was perfectly formed with beautiful furnishings and it's own little balcony overlooking the courtyard. We had ordered a taxi through the riad which was a little more expensive than getting a local driver but if it's your first time definitely worth it; the driver knew where he was going and as cars can only get to within a couple of hundred yards of the riad, Nicolas, the manager, came to meet us together with someone to transport our luggage. We had a lovely meal on the rooftop on our first night and whilst we were keen to explore could have quite happily eaten in on other nights, the food was just as good if not better. Staff were all lovely and Nicolas constantly made sure we were happy and having a good time, with lots of advice and local tips. As so many others have said, it is such a lovely place to come back to after a hard day's haggling!

Room Tip: From what we saw
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirstiH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We booked Riad Camilia for our honeymoon on the back of top Trip Advisor reports and we were not disappointed. Nicholas and the other staff are so helpful and friendly. As there are so few rooms you really get top class customer service and plenty of privacy in one of the many nooks and crannies around the Riad. We emailed Nicholas in advance of our arrival as we were arriving late and he organised a beautiful traditional meal for us in our own private dining room. If this wasn't enough Nicholas also upgraded us to a suite for free. We really could not have asked for more for a honeymoon stay. 5 star treatment all the way. Thanks to Nicholas and all the staff for making it such a magical time.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rob_Q84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is the seventh of eleven riad reviews in Morocco, following the two Fes reviews, and preceding our stay in Ouarzazate. Stayed on 28th to 30th April, 2014.

Our string of consecutive number one Trip Advisor rated B&B and inns was broken at our sixth, the Riad Fes. Camilia is rated fifth to seventh in Marrakech; it fluctuated between the time I started this review and the finish, but then competition is top notch here (the Trip Advisor list for B&Bs and inns is 1036 long), and yet it ranks amongst the very top. The truth be known - at this level, each of the top riads will have some outstanding qualities to deserve its exalted status.

From abroad, one can only chose the accommodation by the description, the reviews and the photos, and then the place may not even be available. We were very lucky to secure our ground floor suite at the Camilia; in terms of decor alone, it earns my vote as the most tastefully decorated inn in Morocco (note that I said inn, not hotel). The Camilia offers a plethora of exquisite lounges to sit in, each enticing in its own way, a feature all too rare for small riads: a living room here, a den there, and a breakfast nook with a five meter skylight ceiling highlighted by a three-layered colored glass chandelier; the roof terrace has a trellis structure that is unique and beautiful. Each of the lounges plays a different stream of exotic ambient music, European and Moroccan in origin, unknown to my ears but totally in tune with the environment. You are spoilt for choices trying to decide where to drink your next coffee, or read you book, or view your photos; one small note of limitation is that the wi-fi connection is spotty, as there are many blind spots which the Camilia should be mindful of rectifying, a small task to be sure for this otherwise fine establishment.

The absent owner is French, and the furnishings and antiques that adorn these quarters reveal impeccable tastes and a penchant for collecting. Our suite on the ground floor faces the courtyard with a wading pool on the left, trees on both sides, and wrought iron tables accommodating comfortable seating and reading. Inside our suite there are two terracotta figures that looked so authentically Xian-esque that we wonder if they were smuggled abroad. On the foot of our very comfortable beds is a chaise sofa with two ornamental armrests in the shape of ancient Egyptian rams’ heads. The bathroom is magnificent, with a walk in shower for two (double rain shower heads), the shower wall is accented by translucent glass circles that let in light from the outside, and when I later sat down at the dining room, I saw on one wall the same glass circles and came to realize to my great surprise that this wall backs onto our shower - totally ingenious! I note also that inside the bathroom there is a recessed space with a multi-coloured Chinese medicinal vase that is faux antique but exquisitely tasteful.

Nicolas, our manager, is a young Frenchman of great enthusiasm and vigor, and he is generous with his advice. The breakfast is first rate, and the cooks provide eggs on order. On our first night, we had dinner at the roof terrace; the food is first rate, as expected everywhere in Morocco.

On Nicolas’ recommendation, we dropped La Mamounia, and visited the Royal Mansour instead. His advice was spot on, as the property is probably one of the most beautiful hotels we have ever visited. It is opulent to the point of being intimidating, and yet it ranks lower than 100 in the Trip Advisor list. In our late evening exploratory stroll, the security was courteous but firm and I had to leave my backpack at the gatekeeper’s office. Everywhere we walked we were the only occupants except for the occasional staff or security. But at the end of visiting this palatial lodge, and in a city blessed with extravagant hotels such the Royal Mansour, La Mamounia, Four Seasons and Aman Resorts, we felt blessed with our choice of staying at the quaint Camilia, which oozes charm and unique character. Five stars and totally well-earned.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pandarooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We spent 4 nights here with another couple after 3 nights in Fez. Riad Camilia provided a wonderful relaxing environment to which we could retreat after the bedlam and heat of Marrakech became too much. After staying in a wonderful riad in Fez we were not disappointed. We had the large suite on the second floor as nothing else was available when we booked. It was huge! Beautifully decorated with its own balcony and access to the roof. Nicolas and his staff were fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble. The roof garden was lovely for breakfast and a drink at the end of the day. We had dinner there the first night and the staff made it very romantic with candles etc. The food was OK but not as good as we had in Fez but that may be due to regional differences in cuisine. Breakfast was fine but not as big a range as in Fez.
Overall we would totally recommend this riad. From the outside it is very unassuming and approached through a dark alley. When you enter, you are blown away by the contrast. It is also well located for exploring the medina which can be done easily without a guide, unlike Fez.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kiwi-Traveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night before doing a 15 day "Riads and Kasbah's" Explore tour of Morrocco and again for 3 nights at the end. What a fantastic find. After staying there at the beginning of our trip, I couldn't wait to get back. It was the highlight of our journey. Initially we were going to stay at the hotel where our tour ended but it was too pricey so we used Trip Advisor to find something less expensive and found Riad Camillia. Riad Camillia was far superior to the more expensive hotel. Nicolas is extremely helpful and all the staff have smiles that can light up any room. We stayed in room 6 for both visits and loved this room. The photos of the Riad do not do the place justice. The beautiful furniture both in the rooms and the common areas, the roof terrace, the plunge pools, the dining room... I could go on forever. If you stay there, you must have dinner on the roof. I'm a vegetarian and the food that Fatima cooked for me was the best that I ate in Morocco. My husband who is not a vegetarian was also in heaven with her cooking. Stay here you will not regret it, you will only regret that you didn't.

Room Tip: Room 5 or 6 are gorgeous.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews