We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality in a tranquil Riad”
Review of Riad Menzeh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Menzeh
Ranked #84 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hospitality in a tranquil Riad”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Bernard is truly one of the warmest and informative hotel owners we have come across. Without his recommendation, we wouldn't have spent the most wonderful time in the desert near M'Hamid. He didn't need to accompany us to go to the local sights and great restaurants, but he did. And what an artistic and tranquil Riad - just like an oasis in the hectic Medina.
Most of all, we absolutely admired his character and we felt we made a friend in Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellen_and_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    45
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
89
254
37
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
berkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Dear Bernard & Jamal

I am so sorry this is a late review as we stayed with you in January, I don't think you will ever forget both Mark and I (its Paula here!). To anyone looking for a little piece of heaven, calming, relaxing, warm and cosy with wonderful food and a wine cellar that I drunk dry but was re-stocked by Bernard at an instant, please don't look any further than Riad Menzeh. Its located 10 mins from the main square and Bernard will insist on walking you there with a map marking out key landmarks ensuring you don't get lost on your way back. Its very easy after your first 2 trips.

Marrakech was not for me and sadly I didn't enjoy it. BUT if I could move Riad Menzeh to another country I would be back year after year. I can not begin to tell you how well I was looked after. Bernard and Jamal went out of there way to try and make my stay as comfortable as possible. Bernard walked us into the town and on my one and only trip out to a restaurant in the evening Bernard insisted he walked us there and asked the restaurant to call him when we was ready to leave so he could come and walk me home again!!.

Majda cooked for us every night and the food was amazing. Always 3 courses which were delicious washed down with wonderful wine. Riad Menzeh feels like you have just walked into a friends cosy house to stay as that is what Bernard has created. I cannot sing its praises enough and I can assure anyone looking to stay in Marrakech you will not be disappointed.

Bernard, thank you so much for your amazing hospitality it was beyond anything I have ever experienced.

Jamal for having to put up with me, always ensuring I had hot coffee in the morning along with a lovely breakfast and wine in the afternoon!.

Majda, some of the best food ever! All of your own recipies and everything made from scratch it was truly wonderful.

Best wishes to you all Paula and Mark xxx

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank delphiBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
v-town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This was a very comfortable place to stay. But there are a lot of comfortable pleaces to stay in Marakech. What made this Riad special were the friendly staff working here. Especially Bernard who kept me company for a couple of hours at the st*p*d car rental place. Who showed us the best shoarma and gave me advice of which barber realy knows how to shave a beard.
I can go on and on but i will not.... If you are looking for a very good place to stay in hectic Marrakech you will love it here!

groetjes Igor & Iris

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank igorovitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 February 2012

What a little gem! My friend & I were feeling a little lost in an unfamiliar setting. Then through a wooden door in a tiny street lay before us the warmest welcome imaginable. A glass of wine, a warm fire and the feeling of being "at home" in a foreign land. Thank you Bernard and Jamal. Cathy & Jan

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
452 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

good location, 15 minute walk from the main square. Bernard/Jamaal are excellent hosts and go the extra mile to ensure you are made to feel welcome. Nothings to much trouble and their advice is very useful

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggmck186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I spent one week at Riad Menzeh with my 16 year old daughter. It is worth staying there even just to meet Bernard, the perfect host! I have never had such a warm welcome in any of my travels.
The riad is gorgeous, serene and so comfortable. You are treated to mint tea and cakes at any hour of the day you wish. The staff is very friendly and ready to help at any time.

Bernard sent a taxi to meet us at the airport, and then met our taxi a few steps away from the riad. He arranged the activities we requested, always without any pushiness. We had a fascinating cooking lesson, which included the food shopping, with Majda and a visit to a lovely hammam. We had several delicious meals at the riad, which enabled us to chat with some very interesting and animated fellow travelers from all over the world. On Christmas, Bernard arranged a turkey and apple tagine, accompanied by some excellent wine. It is also possible to order an exquisite vegetable tagine.

Marrakesh itself is an amazing and potentially overwhelming place. Staying at Riad Menzeh makes it possible to enjoy the ruckus of the streets and souks of the medina and yet be able to relax, hold onto your sanity and thoroughly enjoy the experience!

I fell ill during our stay, and Bernard was impeccable--he had a doctor come early in the morning, had the staff purchase the prescribed medIcine, handed me my pills at the appropriate times and cheered up me and my daughter. I cannot thank Bernard enough for his cheerful and professional help. My daughter spent the time drinking mint tea and using her ipad--because of course the riad has wifi (and a wonderful selection of music).

I would never think of staying anywhere but Riad Menzeh in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I stayed here with my parents and Bernard was so kind, helpful and generous. He went out of his way to make our stay special, from arranging pick-up at the train station, tea on arrival and chat about what to see. My mother had a recent hip-replacement operation and Bernard ensured the open log-fire was topped up and my parent's room was toasty. The rooms themselves are absolutely beautiful, fitted out in the most tasteful Morrocan design to a very high spec. Lots of space, and with gorgeous sparkling clean mosaic bathrooms, very hot water and a lovely heated towel-rail! The courtyard central area has a very relaxing atmosphere for reading surrounded by palm trees, or if you like to watch TV, the cosy cubby area with sofas and open fire is perfect. The terrace upstairs is perfect for sitting around on sun loungers and looking out over the bustling city towards the snowy peaks of the Atlas, and being served a delicious freshly cooked breakfast with freshly squeezed juice was the icing on the cake!!

I'd recommend taking Bernard up on his offer of a meal on arrival - his wonderful cook will prepare a feast of delicious local cuisine and caters for vegetarians very well (not the usual bland fare to be found in veggy food elsewhere in Marrakesh). Along with a bottle of lovely Morroccan Saharan rose wine, this meal was definitely the best we had in the few days we were in Marrakesh - and very reasonable too at only 25 Euros.

All in all, a superb experience and all thanks to Bernard's lovely personal touches. Thank you so much!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#73 of 500 in Marrakech
331 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#76 of 500 in Marrakech
669 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Vert Marrakech
Riad Vert Marrakech
#51 of 500 in Marrakech
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#70 of 500 in Marrakech
537 reviews
0.5 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#58 of 500 in Marrakech
931 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#54 of 500 in Marrakech
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Menzeh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Menzeh

Property: Riad Menzeh
Address: 34 derb El Arsa | Sidi Ayoub, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Menzeh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Menzeh is located in a small and peaceful street in the heart of Marrakech old city. 10 Minutes walk from the well known Marrakech main square of Jemaa el Fna, Riad Menzeh is the perfect place to enjoy this amazing city. Bernard and his staff will be happy to help you discover Marrakech the Red City of mysteries, sounds, smells and flavors. Activate your senses in this unique part of the world. Above all, we'€™d like to share with you our passion for this stunning and colorful city and its people, incredibly nice and friendly. Indulge yourself in a traditional spa massage over a steam bath and warm pore cleansing with scented black soap and ghassul (clay) in our private Hammam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Riad Menzeh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing