We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't recommend Riad Menzah highly enough.”
Review of Riad Menzeh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Menzeh
Ranked #126 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

I'm just back from a week-long conference in Marrakech where two colleagues and I stayed at the Riad Menzah. We chose it as it had been recommended by a friend and we are so glad we did. While our fellow delegates were moaning about the dire service and inflated prices of the conference hotels in the Nouvelle Ville, Bernard, Jamal and the team were taking fantastic care of us.

The riad is down a quiet little lane, just outside the tourist area, so it is very peaceful and you get to see a slice of the real Marrakech. Don't be put off by the location being outside the tourist area. As a lone woman traveller, there were a few times when I walked to and from the riad by myself and I never felt the least bit concerned (not something I can say about many places I've travelled). The only thing that happens as you walk out of the tourist areas is the people assume you are lost and will try to give you directions back to the main square.

Inside, the riad is stylish and spotlessly clean with a cool, shady central courtyard where you eat breakfast and can also arrange to have dinner. I will warn you that Fathia's breakfasts may do some damage to your waistline. Her Moroccan pancakes are so delicious I couldn't stop eating them and ate way too many. You have also got to try her couscous for dinner, it is the best you will ever eat.

The riad builders knew a thing or two about hot climate architecture and rooms are cool and shady. I never needed to use the air conditioning even when it was 38 degrees outside (my hotel-based colleagues had to use it all the time). This was great as aircon makes me feel rotten and really irritates my eyes.

The highlight of the riad is Bernard and Jamal. Bernard is French and has lived in Marrakech for 9 years and Jamal is a local. The service, advice and insight they give you are priceless. Nothing is too much trouble and their recommendations and tips were always spot on. They organised taxis, trips and tickets for us that meant we avoided being herded around with the tour parties and had a much better time. On the first day when me and my colleague managed to get ourselves hopelessly lost (our fault as we didn't realise there are two Mohammad V schools in the Medina) we called Bernard and he and Jamal staged a Medina rescue. Fifteen minutes after our SOS call Jamal came riding through the crowds like a knight in shining armour on a two-stroke steed, got us in a taxi back to the riad and then managed to get back before us to meet the taxi at the other end!

I absolutely loved staying at the Riad Menzah and the team really made my trip. If you are going to Marrakech I can't recommend this place highly enough and, having compared notes with the dozens of others delegates at the conference, I don't think there is anywhere better.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Umbrellaplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed for a week in the Riad Menzeh on the recommendation of a friend and we were not disappointed. The welcome and hospitality from Bernard, Jamal and the two ladies who looked after us, exceeded our expectations. We were truly encouraged to treat the Riad as home, and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were comfortable and the whole atmosphere is calm and relaxed. A big thanks to all.
As has been noted by others, the first experience of Marrakech can be quite overwhelming but our hosts did everything to ease us in gently and within a few days local children were smiling and shouting "Hello Menzeh!" to us as we made our way down the narrow streets to the lovely carved front door. Spend some time reading (or just sitting) in the courtyard or on the roof terrace and all the bustle of the streets seems miles away.
On two evenings we were treated to the most wonderful home-made Moroccan food. You can't leave without trying the Riad's couscous and tagine. All-in-all a wonderful experience and one to be highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We were recommended Riad Menzeh by my daughter who visited in Feb 2011 and we were not disappointed! Bernard and Jamal made us feel extremely welcome from the start and the mint tea was delicious! The rooms we stayed in, as we came back for one more night before flying home, were very comfortable and very well equipped even down to gorgeous smelling shower gels! The care attention that Bernard and Jamal gave to all the guests was top notch and the guided tour to the main square and the booking of taxis for transit and the day trip to the Atlas Mountains and even down to the table booking of the meal at Le Foundouk was way beyond what you come to expect from any stay in the best hotels. I cannot recommend this oasis in the madness of Marrakech too much. Go and enjoy the peace and everything that the hosts can give you, you will not be disappointed I can guarantee that!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank andyp63StAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This is our second visit to Riad Menzah and Bernard and his staff made us feel like it was home from home. Accommodation, food, hospitality were faultless - without doubt we will be back again.
Bernard helped us arrange a three night trip across the Atlas mountains into the Sahara which was magical, his advice and help was invaluable. Riad Menzeh made an excellent base from which to make our excursion.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard-RiadMenzeh, Propriétaire at Riad Menzeh, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Dear friends.

Thank you so much for your kindness for your visit for your humour for your good advices on TV series etc.
Special big hug to Tricia from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

My husband and I have just returned home after a wonderful stay at Riad Menzeh. This was our first visit to Marrakech and it was truly an assault on the senses! However from the point of the first e-mail Bernard and Jamal made everything so easy. From the pick-up at the airport, meeting the taxi to guide us to the riad from the drop-off point and a cheery "welcome home" as we arrived we knew we had found a gem! Jamal was a charming and kind host, with never-ending green tea (or beer if you prefer!), sight-seeing advice, and generally making you feel as though you are the most favourite guest who ever stayed at the riad.

The rooms were cosy and spotlessly clean. Breakfasts were delicious with a selection of bread, pancakes, jam and cake! We had dinner at the riad when we arrived and that was also delicious and plentiful. I recommend taking some time out to relax on the roof terrace while admiring the view of the mountains and listening to the city go about its business.

The location is great - just 10 minutes to the main square but you feel as though you are away from the tourist area a little. It's easy to find the way to the square, especially since Jamal showed us the way on the first day, pointing out landmarks.

I really can't say enough good things about the riad and the team. We felt very much at home and are considering a return to Marrakech just so we can spend more time at Riad Menzeh! With so many wonderful places in the world to see, it's rare indeed for me to return to a place!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brighton_chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I was just watching a cookery show about Morocco and it brought back memories of my stay at this riad. This was an oasis; it's not flashy, it's refined, clean and homely. The mint tea and breakfasts were lovely; to say I still remember what I had when I stayed here 2 and a half years ago says something! (ignore the date the website asked me to select). The hosts were really accommodating. I was traveling on my own at the time, first time in Morocco, and I felt the hosts looked after me to just the right degree. They also arranged for me to be picked up from the airport by the most attractive and polite man. Clearly this place left an impression on me. Thank you Riad Menzeh. Leah K.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chichibaobao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

This was a wonderful amazing experience. My husband surprised me with a trip to Marrakech and I had no idea what to expect about this city or place. Upon arrival, Bernard the host greeted us with a warm smile and hand shake. He welcomed us home. We walked down a small dirt alley and in a couple of turns we arrived at the door. I was wondering what is behind this door and to much of my amazement a beautiful oasis. The Cozy Inn was directed to welcome you as it was your home. We stayed in the suite with an excellent view of the courtyard. I felt like I was in the movie Romeo and Juliet. The bed was decorated with rose petals. Plus they provided fresh roses with candles lit. This was added bonus because they knew it was our 16th year anniversary. The bathroom was clean, spacious and romantic.

Bernard gladly showed us around the Market and while walking he greeted many of the locals. He educated us about the city and the people. We stayed 5 days and each day was full of adventure. Bernard made sure to full fill our request (stay busy) which he did (smile). We went Quad Riding, Camel ride with complimentary tea, a 4 hour hike in the mountain with lunch, Balloon ride w/ breakfast plus a tour of traditional Berber home, traditional Hamam shower and oil massage after our hike plus spectacular dinner (done at the Riad Menzeh which was very convenient and relaxing this was an added bonus not to have to leave after a long day). Shopping through market and then we finished off our trip with a Cooking Course.

Throughout our stay Bernard made us feel like family. We came as strangers and left as friends. Thanks, Bernard and your staff for a lovely unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MommyT2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1 mi away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#87 of 499 in Marrakech
400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#81 of 499 in Marrakech
350 reviews
0 mi away
Riad Dar Thalge
Riad Dar Thalge
#171 of 499 in Marrakech
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#53 of 499 in Marrakech
967 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Almas
Hotel Almas
#137 of 499 in Marrakech
541 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#153 of 499 in Marrakech
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Menzeh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Menzeh

Address: 34 derb El Arsa | Sidi Ayoub, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £41 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Menzeh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Menzeh is located in a small and peaceful street in the heart of Marrakech old city. 10 Minutes walk from the well known Marrakech main square of Jemaa el Fna, Riad Menzeh is the perfect place to enjoy this amazing city. Bernard and his staff will be happy to help you discover Marrakech the Red City of mysteries, sounds, smells and flavors. Activate your senses in this unique part of the world. Above all, we'€™d like to share with you our passion for this stunning and colorful city and its people, incredibly nice and friendly. Indulge yourself in a traditional spa massage over a steam bath and warm pore cleansing with scented black soap and ghassul (clay) in our private Hammam. To have an idea about what to do in Marrakech please feel free to have a look here : tripfrommarrakech com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riad Menzeh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing