We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem down the hidden alleyways”
Review of Riad Menzeh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Menzeh
Ranked #91 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014

As so many previous guests have said, Bernard makes you feel like a long time friend who has come to visit. From his insistence on personally showing you how to find your way to the main square and other local attractions for the first time, to his 'fatherly advice' on what to do when you get lost (because you WILL get lost), what to see, who to trust and who to avoid, where to eat (unless you are enjoying the excellent cuisine at Riad Menzeh) etc, etc, he is a star. And his staff (more like his family really) are cut from the same cloth.
The Riad itself is beautiful, comfortable, clean and relaxing. Our room was spacious with a large bathroom and very comfortable bed. Breakfast was a wonderfully relaxed and non-calorie conscious affair which could be taken from 8.30 "until when you want…..you are on holiday….take it at 6 in the evening if you want!" My wife and I never quite managed 6 but we were often still being offered more coffee and pancakes at 11.00am. I also sampled the Hammam on the roof of Riad Menzeh which was also excellent.
To be honest, 3 days was probably enough to explore the old town of Marrakech, which although (in the main) delightful, is relatively small, but there is still a vast area outside the city to be explored on another visit. The streets of the old town are extremely narrow (some are no more than small alleyways) and can be very busy, but although we were approached on numerous occasions by both children and adults offering to "show us to the market, or the main square, or the tanneries etc" we never felt threatened. But as Bernard always said as we went out of the Riad front door…"just as in any other holiday destination, always be aware."

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E6DMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
There are newer reviews for Riad Menzeh
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 540 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed six very comfortable nights here. Bernard and his staff are very welcoming and helpful.
Bernard treats his guests like personal friends. He goes way out of his way to ensure guest's every need is satisfied.
Our room was warm (being February it was very cold at times) clean and comfortable. Although being a superior double, it was not large. Our bathroom was biggish and worked well.
The Riad Menzeh is attractively furnished in a traditional Moroccan style. It is a centuries old typical inwards facing building with a central quad where you dine. There are roof terraces for sun bathing etc.
The walk to The Square is around 10 minutes away, or 15 minutes at busy times. It is easy to find. Bernard insisted on taking us the first time pointing out landmarks on route. It should be appreciated that this riad is situated right in the heart of the Medina, not remotely in a tourist area. The dirty uneven streets are packed with local people on foot, bike and the dreaded moped.
We enjoyed the breakfasts of fruit, juice, pancakes, dates, bread and preserves. Mint tea and bottled water were offered continuously. Hospitality is first class.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iancrowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We spent a long weekend in Marrakech at Riad Menzeh and cannot recommend it enough. From the moment we arrived we felt welcome and found the serene atmosphere of the riad to not only be a welcome break from the hustle and bustle of the city, but also a truly relaxing experience in and of itself. It is possibly best descried as staying in a hotel that is run by a close group of your friends.

Location wise Riad Mezneh is close to the central square in Marrakech (well within the old town) but just far enough to be off the main tourist track. This means that the area you are in does retain a slightly more local feel.

The food in the actual riad is also excellent, so much so that it was the best food we tried during our stay. Moreover, it is well priced and plentiful. This was made all the more impressive by the breakfasts, which were different on each day and made to order.

All of the above were, however, not even half as impressive as the friendliness of Bernard, Jamal and Yassin. They were welcoming from the first day, helpful in every sense of the word and knowledgeable. They took us out for spice shopping in the neighborhood, readily prepared any meals or tea, showed us how to prepare certain dishes and provided plenty of tips. Our biggest problem with the riad was the difficulty in getting ourselves to explore the rest of the city, when we knew we had such a welcoming and relaxing locale to retire to.

Our stay at Menzeh defined our trip to Marrakech and we will definitely be coming back to visit. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I had come here with my Wife and received some of the best treatments possible. From the checking in to the checking out, our stay here is surely going to be a memory we won’t forget soon. The staffs were so kind and welcoming. We were offered welcome drinks and showed us to our room. It was Valentine’s Day and the staff gifted us with a bunch of red roses along with a bottle of champagne. Good gesture I must say. They guided us all nearby Tourist destinations and how we could reach each of them. The location of the Hotel is in close vicinity from most attractions and hence commuting is a cake walk.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRRice213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

this is a fantastic Riad & Bernard is a great host....the roof-terrasse is great and the rooms are spacious enough and tastefully designed...unfortunately we could only stay one night but it will be our first choice during the next Marrakesh-Trip
highly recommended!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Harald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The rooms are beautifully decorated in traditional style. The riad is just outside the medina and a 15 minute walk to the main square. You'll wake to freshly baked delights and go to sleep with the lovely aroma of home cooked Moroccan foods. The staff are helpful, accommodating and have no issues with dealing with allergies (I'm coeliac and they were great!) I particularly enjoyed my evening in the kitchen where the cook showed me how to make a traditional tagine!! Would thoroughly recommend a stay here...

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Great position!
Great 'petit dejeuner'!
Great Bernard!
Great Jamal!
Great mint tea!
And...always smiling!!
What about the hammam?! Fabolous!!!
Five stars!
We stay there for three days and every day was perfect. Clean room, nice person, mint tea at every hour, breakfast always different and rich. Staying at the terrace at the dusk was simply magic! It was better than homer! We tried the hammam inside. Gommage, hot water and massage. Cool!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LauraRenato A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#53 of 502 in Marrakech
945 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#92 of 502 in Marrakech
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#89 of 502 in Marrakech
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#128 of 502 in Marrakech
339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#16 of 502 in Marrakech
883 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Haraka
Riad Haraka
#103 of 502 in Marrakech
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Menzeh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Menzeh

Address: 34 derb El Arsa | Sidi Ayoub, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £34 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Menzeh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Menzeh is located in a small and peaceful street in the heart of Marrakech old city. 10 Minutes walk from the well known Marrakech main square of Jemaa el Fna, Riad Menzeh is the perfect place to enjoy this amazing city. Bernard and his staff will be happy to help you discover Marrakech the Red City of mysteries, sounds, smells and flavors. Activate your senses in this unique part of the world. Above all, we'€™d like to share with you our passion for this stunning and colorful city and its people, incredibly nice and friendly. Indulge yourself in a traditional spa massage over a steam bath and warm pore cleansing with scented black soap and ghassul (clay) in our private Hammam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Riad Menzeh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing