We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bernard is outstanding and his Riad is more like a home”
Review of Riad Menzeh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Menzeh
Ranked #88 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Bernard is outstanding and his Riad is more like a home”
Reviewed 20 January 2010

I can only say that the ratings so far for this Riad are there for a good reason. Bernard really does go out of his way to make your stay in his Riad, in Marrakesh and in Morrocco a real pleasure. Yes you probably will find flasher, and much more expensive Riads in this amazing city, but the personal touch, at Riad Menzeh and the reasonable price makes all the difference. We are a family of four with 2 children aged 5 & 8 and our room was perfect. Large bathroom, comfortable beds, well decorated and plenty of small areas to be alone or share some time with other guests around the Riad. The staff are fantastic and Bernard is a star. He sorted our car rental, he sorted our stay in another Riad for our return as he was full, he even sorted out an extra night for us as we cut our road trip short, he made recommendations, he came to meet us after a trip from the desert as we got completely lost. The Riad is a short walk form the square so it allows you to lose yourself on the way and explore. I would definately recommend staying here to anyone. Don,t if you are looking for 5 star grovelling service as in flash hotels, do if your looking for 6 star friendliness, honesty, familiarity in a comfortable easy going environment. Thanks for looking after us Bernard and your team.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrTravMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    46
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
89
255
37
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

This riad is a gem in the midst of the Marrakesh medina. It's just a 5 minute walk from the main Djemma Elfna square of the medina. After a day in Marrakesh, the serenity and tranquility of this beautifully decorated riad does wonders for the soul. Bernard, the French owner is so helpful and friendly. For under $100 a night, this is a 5-star experience. The staff at the Riad will go out of their way to make you comfortable. Make sure you don't miss the delicious breakfast, either! Even though Marrakesh wasn't my favourite medina, this riad was definitely the best place I stayed in Morocco. Thanks to Bernard and his wonderful team!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaishaKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

Staying in Riad Menzeh is about the service and ambience. Bernard is a fantastic host and you feel as though you are staying in the home of a friend, albeit one whose main concern is your comfort. Nothing is too much trouble, the riad can arrange for you to eat in, book you in for a private hammam and massage in the riad, plan excursions, and make reservations at other restaurants. (Try Mama Ti Lee, Bernard recommended it to us and it was perfect).

The riad is located in an untouristy part of the the medina but is still only a ten minute walk to the main square. The rooms are traditional looking and whilst not huge are spacious enough. There is a roof terrace with loungers and a comfortable lounge area off the courtyard. Breakfast included fresh orange juice, coffee, bread and morroccan pancakes. Dinners were delicious tagines and can be tailored to whatever you want (we wanted more vegetables and some rice on the last night, which was arranged).

All in all a perfect and relaxing place to stay, with great character and atmosphere. Thanks Bernard, Jamal and Mazhda for making our trip special.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaineyNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire, england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2009

4 great days enjoying winter sunshine, the sights of Marrakech and the sanctuary of Riad Menzeh. Bernard is a true gentleman who enhanced our recent stay with his attention to detail and generosity of spirit. Great breakfasts and a peaceful haven from the bustle of the medina. Highly recommended,

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank collierm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2009

I will keep it short.
Our stay in the riad was excellent. We felt very welcome safe and secure in the riad.
You can not compare this with an hotel it is more.....like staying at home with a good friend.
If there will ever be an oscar award for Host of the Year.
La La La.....and the winner is Bernard and his crew.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amsterdam65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2009

Bernard and his attentive team made my stay at Riad Menzeh unforgettable. Bernard was an impeccable host as he and his team answered all queries and requests, however big or small.

The riad itself (about a 10 minute walk from the main place) is exquisite and the attention to detail breathtaking. It has a terrasse and its own hammam for the guests. It is also possible to eat lunch and dinner at the site. And to book additional activities through the team.

I've returned home completely relaxed thanks to these special people.

Merci beaucoup Bernard et al, et å la prochaine!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkknm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2009

The service and hospitality by Bernard and his staff is top-notch. They really go the extra mile for you, doing little things to make your stay pleasant.

The accommodations are very nice: clean, spacious, common room w TV and computer and internet. Breakfast was nice. The Riad is located 10-15 min walk from Djammma El Fna.

Overall highly recommended for value and service.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redquasar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#72 of 499 in Marrakech
669 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#75 of 499 in Marrakech
331 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Vert Marrakech
Riad Vert Marrakech
#51 of 499 in Marrakech
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#56 of 499 in Marrakech
932 reviews
0.6 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#67 of 499 in Marrakech
537 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#53 of 499 in Marrakech
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Menzeh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Menzeh

Property: Riad Menzeh
Address: 34 derb El Arsa | Sidi Ayoub, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Menzeh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Menzeh is located in a small and peaceful street in the heart of Marrakech old city. 10 Minutes walk from the well known Marrakech main square of Jemaa el Fna, Riad Menzeh is the perfect place to enjoy this amazing city. Bernard and his staff will be happy to help you discover Marrakech the Red City of mysteries, sounds, smells and flavors. Activate your senses in this unique part of the world. Above all, we'€™d like to share with you our passion for this stunning and colorful city and its people, incredibly nice and friendly. Indulge yourself in a traditional spa massage over a steam bath and warm pore cleansing with scented black soap and ghassul (clay) in our private Hammam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Riad Menzeh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing