We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want a friendly, homely place to stay in Marrakech look no further”
Review of Riad Menzeh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Menzeh
Ranked #151 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2010

Having just returned from Morocco and a short city break my wife and I just wanted to convey our thanks to Bernard and the team at Riad Menzeh by writing this review.

Having never travelled to Marrakech before and having poured over the guide books Riad Menzeh actually came as a recommendation who had stayed previously and said by staying here our holiday would be enhanced and they weren't wrong.

On arrival we had pre-booked our transfers through Bernard who had already answered a flood of questions I had sent him via email. On arrival in the City we were met by Bernard himself who welcomed us into the Riad and immediatly put our nerves at rest as the hustle and bustle of the lanes were in full flow.
Led into the Riads sanctury Bernard showed us around, sat us down and gave us maps and all the information we would need to enjoy the next few days. After a pot of delicious mint tea and a look around our room we were then taken to the main square and shown where a good place to eat would be for a first night and which bank we could trust to change money and use the ATMs. We walked in with another couple who were on their last night but were happy to give us tips on where best to spend our few days.

Over the next few days we felt so at home in the Riad with Bernard and his staff always there if you wanted something from a pot of mint tea to an appointment in the on sight Hammam (which if you go... dont be shy but is worth every penny).
The rooms are clean and fresh, the breakfasts plentiful and even with the onset of a night storm the Riad team even prepared supper for 6 guests one night as we didn't want to venture out.

On our last day Bernard arranged for one of the staff team (her name I remember but can't spell) to Henna tattoo my wifes hand and leg which she loved. Bernard was also happy to give us tips of where to travel in his home country of France for an enjoyable break.

In all Riad Menzah and the staff team increased the satisfaction levels of our stay no end. Marrakech is a wonderful and sensory battering city which has to be seen to be believed. Riad Menzah's friendliness and quiteness offers you the excellent escapism you need amongst this hectic city.

Go Riad Menzeh! We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zuzahandbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2010

Gave Bernard a Call about 5 hours before my flight and he had a room left.
What can i say but beyond amazing service.
Bernard and his staff were beyond.I will recommend this Riad to anyone who wants to hear.
And the meals were amazing too....

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kues23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

Excellent choice to stay in Marrakech! Great location, right in the narrow Medina streets, walking distance from Djmal El Fna square but in a very quiet narrow street. Great sleep, zero noise (and it was Ramandan). Very confortable rooms and bathrooms. Bernard, the owner, lives in the house and makes you feel home. Also nice breakfast, free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreParente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

This is a great place to stay while in Marrakech. It's iust a 15 minute walk from the souks and main square. It's beautifully decorated and the service is excellent. Jamal was on duty during our two day stay and he took great care of us, waking up early to prepare breakfast so we can make our early morning train. Each night when we came back he would greet us at the door, asking how the day was and if we needed anything. Excellent experience and really makes your stay in Marrakech that much better. Very recommendable.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hansi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2010

We stayed 3 nights in Marrakech at Riad Menzeh. The riad is beautiful with very comfortable rooms. It is very well located in relationship to the Djemaa el Fna and provides a great getaway within the bustling medina. What really sets this riad apart is the outstanding level of service provided by Bernard and his staff. Bernard is a fantastic host! He and his staff made us feel incredibly welcome and comfortable throughout our entire stay. They gave great advice on everything from transportation to Essaouira to buying spices. We highly recommend this riad.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarrinaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

I can only say that the ratings so far for this Riad are there for a good reason. Bernard really does go out of his way to make your stay in his Riad, in Marrakesh and in Morrocco a real pleasure. Yes you probably will find flasher, and much more expensive Riads in this amazing city, but the personal touch, at Riad Menzeh and the reasonable price makes all the difference. We are a family of four with 2 children aged 5 & 8 and our room was perfect. Large bathroom, comfortable beds, well decorated and plenty of small areas to be alone or share some time with other guests around the Riad. The staff are fantastic and Bernard is a star. He sorted our car rental, he sorted our stay in another Riad for our return as he was full, he even sorted out an extra night for us as we cut our road trip short, he made recommendations, he came to meet us after a trip from the desert as we got completely lost. The Riad is a short walk form the square so it allows you to lose yourself on the way and explore. I would definately recommend staying here to anyone. Don,t if you are looking for 5 star grovelling service as in flash hotels, do if your looking for 6 star friendliness, honesty, familiarity in a comfortable easy going environment. Thanks for looking after us Bernard and your team.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrTravMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010

This riad is a gem in the midst of the Marrakesh medina. It's just a 5 minute walk from the main Djemma Elfna square of the medina. After a day in Marrakesh, the serenity and tranquility of this beautifully decorated riad does wonders for the soul. Bernard, the French owner is so helpful and friendly. For under $100 a night, this is a 5-star experience. The staff at the Riad will go out of their way to make you comfortable. Make sure you don't miss the delicious breakfast, either! Even though Marrakesh wasn't my favourite medina, this riad was definitely the best place I stayed in Morocco. Thanks to Bernard and his wonderful team!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaishaKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#74 of 500 in Marrakech
357 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Almas
Hotel Almas
#157 of 500 in Marrakech
556 reviews
1 mi away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#69 of 500 in Marrakech
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Bounouar
Riad Dar Bounouar
#96 of 500 in Marrakech
172 reviews
0.5 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#53 of 500 in Marrakech
998 reviews
0.6 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#84 of 500 in Marrakech
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Menzeh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Menzeh

Address: 34 derb El Arsa | Sidi Ayoub, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £38 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Menzeh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Menzeh is located in a small and peaceful street in the heart of Marrakech old city. 10 Minutes walk from the well known Marrakech main square of Jemaa el Fna, Riad Menzeh is the perfect place to enjoy this amazing city. Bernard and his staff will be happy to help you discover Marrakech the Red City of mysteries, sounds, smells and flavors. Activate your senses in this unique part of the world. Above all, we'€™d like to share with you our passion for this stunning and colorful city and its people, incredibly nice and friendly. Indulge yourself in a traditional spa massage over a steam bath and warm pore cleansing with scented black soap and ghassul (clay) in our private Hammam. To have an idea about what to do in Marrakech please feel free to have a look here : tripfrommarrakech com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Menzeh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing