We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Riad ever”
Review of Riad Lorsya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Lorsya
Ranked #264 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2009

I have stayed in many hotels around the world but this place like no other. Unfortunately, my wife, our 11 year old son and I could only stay here for a night as it was fully booked. For the following three nights, we stayed at another Riad - Dar Milouda- which is just a few doors away. First off: the Riad Lorsya is beautiful, it is tastefully decorated in traditional Moroccan style. But it's the staff that make this Riad stand out above the rest. Elias Zahidi (the manager), Abdul, Lemiah and Fatimah all go out of their way to make you feel like Royal Family. They continued to help us the whole time we were in Marrakesh even though we not staying at their Riad. They attended to every need of us, from booking tours to buying souvenirs at Moroccan prices. i have never enjoyed such hospitality anywhere in a hotel. The breakfast is also worth mentioning. It is home cooked food at its best. I have nothing but praises for this Riad.

Ravi Sockalingam
Copenhagen, Denmark

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaviOticon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2009

We've just came back from Marrakech a few days ago and the memories about the city, marrocan people and Riad Lorsya keep on coming back again and again....

This riad is just so such a lovely and friendly place... The location is perfect, as although it is right in the centre of the medina, it's surprisingly quiet. Besides, the riad atmosphere, the friendly and helpful staff, the wonderful food, the efficient service from recommending you which places to visit next to helping you to hire a car at the best rate make the stay extremely pleasant and enjoyable. The four of us just loved the place....

Worth mentioning that, in our turn, riad Lorsya was refered to us by some friends that spent some days in June 2009 and were also really pleased about the place.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choco_charly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2009

Firstly, stay at this riyad. Simply put.

From the first to the last, the team at Riyad Lorsya made us feel at home and at ease. Nothing was too much trouble (they even drove us to the car rental place) and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there.

Perfectly situated, 5 mins from the Place Jmaa El Fnad, it was lost in a tiny but charming alleyway, but we quickly had the route mapped out in our heads - no problem!

The room was lovely, quiet, spacious, private.

We ate in the first night (free of charge, it's included in your stay), and it was the best meal that we had in Marrakesh. Amazing, but true.

Anyway, long story short, stay at this riyad -- it will complete your visit.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank professorhojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2009

This was a last minute trip I convinced my friend to take before Christmas to celebrate our birthday’s. We arrived in the evening, picked up from the airport as requested and driven into the Medina. Once dropped off in the Medina we were picked up by a local on his push bike. We walked for a few minutes down dimly lit labyrinth of alleyways which all looked the same and initially did worry two young girls but we eventually came to the door of the riad and once the door was opened we were transported into the most beautiful furnished dreamy place you could imagine.

Abdou and Ilias and the team were perfect hosts. Making us feel very at home and accommodating our every need. Abdou provided an excellent meal on our first evening and tea and coffee whenever we requested it. The accommodation is exactly as the pictures and suits your every need whilst there. Please bear in mind there is no door for the en suite, so lucky we were good friends, you can also hear pretty much everything else that goes on in the riad but that made it feel all the more homely.

The Riad Lorsya is slap bang in the middle of the Medina and a couple of minutes walk through the Souks to the Jemaa Al Fna (main square). Don’t be alarmed by the endless corridors/alleyways that all look the same and seem quite intimidating at first. We bumped into Abdou on two occasions when lost and on the second time he escorted us to the nearest restaurant that served alcohol we were looking for. You soon get used to it and it adds to the fun of exploring. We both felt perfectly safe throughout.

I will definitely go again and stay at the Riad Lorsya, it was perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellaBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2009

I took my wide to Marrakech as a surprise (well up to the night before) birthday present. I chose Riad Lorsya because I wanted a place that had authentic charm and character and wasn't over styled. It did not disappoint.

Riad Lorsya is slap bang in the middle of the Medina and a couple of minutes stroll through the Souks to the Jemaa Al Fna (main square).
Riad Lorsya is based round a small courtyard. On the ground floor are the indoor kitchen and dining room. There is also a further dining and seating area that is open plan to the courtyard. To the side of the court yard is a small pool. 2 x rooms and 2 x suits on the first floor. All accommodation is furnished in the same authentic (to my eyes) Moroccan style. Wes stayed in on of the suits and thought the level of accommodation was excellent.
Go up the stairs again and you come out onto extensive roof terraces with sun bathing, seating and dining areas.

Alyas, the manager and Abdul, his assistant were incredibly helpful and friendly. Ilyas recommended places of interest, gave recommendations and made reservations for excursions, restaurants and hammans.
Abdul prepared our fitst evenings meal, our breakfasts, snacks and numerous requests for mint tea. He even escorted us to waiting taxi's and restaurants so that we did not get lost in the myriad of alleyways and narrow streets that make up the Medina.

All in all Riad Lorsya made the trip

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NathanSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2009

We spent two nights at this riad and were overwhelmed by the beauty and service offered here. It is a gorgeous, small riad which is both comfortable and intimate as well as being luxurious. a PERFECT location right near the main square. The hotel is run by extremely kind and helpful staff, all very personable and genuinely concerned with ensuring the highest quality of your stay. It gives off all the senses of a traditional Moroccan home and makes your experience insightful and authentic. We can't thank this riad enough for our delightful visit.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beth_harrisxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2009

The Riad is really nice, exactly as it looks in the photo's. We had a big room over two floors which was terribly grand but a little bit dark, which is to be expected in a building with no external windows. That's the nature of a Riad.

I did have a nap on the afternoon we arrived because I had an awful cold and it can be a little noisy with the staff chatting in the kitchen below but, again, this is all part of the experience.

Their wifi is available for free on the ground floor and is pretty quick.

We were made to feel very welcome and will definitely go again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pilotlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Tahili & Spa
Riad Tahili & Spa
#160 of 502 in Marrakech
186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Fleur d'Orient
Riad Fleur d'Orient
#113 of 502 in Marrakech
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad L'Emir
Riad L'Emir
#83 of 502 in Marrakech
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad 58 Blu
Riad 58 Blu
#36 of 502 in Marrakech
741 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#84 of 502 in Marrakech
340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#174 of 502 in Marrakech
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Lorsya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lorsya

Address: 61, Derb El Hammam, Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#143 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#164 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £42 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Lorsya 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Lorsya is situated 5 minutes walk from the Jamaa El Fna square, in the heart of the antiques market souk. It has been renovated with care in the pure Morrocan tradition and retains all the charm of the old Marrakech riads. Our professional team invites you to discover the serenity, the comfortable lifestyle and the quality services offered to you in this wonderful riad. A free dinner is offered for any booking of 7 nights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Lorsya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Lorsya Marrakech
Riad Lorsya Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing