We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What Excellent Staff”
Review of Riad Lorsya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Lorsya
Ranked #259 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What Excellent Staff”
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Riad Lorsya really is a gem. Right in the heart of the Mouassine district of Marrakech it is central whilst at the same time being far away enough from the main square to be quiet and relaxing, a must after a busy day in this vibrant city.

Mustafa, Ilyas, Lamya, Amina and Abdo did all they could to ensure we had a comfortable stay. We were travelling with our 15 month old daughter and they spoiled her rotten. They were a great help in providing food for her and we felt as if we were at home.

Our only minor quibbles was as mentioned by others the level of lighting in the rooms. In addition the plumbing in Semsara suite where we stayed was a little tempremental and more maintenance would be helpful.

But this didn't really detract from our stay. Would stay back here in an instant and am planning to on our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharky1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    51
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
50
301
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2010

My wife found this wonderful palace on tripadvisor after a lots of online search.
riad lorsya is a perfect small 5 stars hotel, for your stay in marrakech medina at 5 minutes walk from the main place and attractions.
the riad arrange for us the transfers from and to the airport with a very nice drivers, and a day trip to the Atlas mountains wish was also perfect, nothing was too much trouble, the staff could not be more helpful, and welcoming, with cafe mint tea and water for free during your stay.
the rooms are very well decorated, clean and big enough.
The breakfast and diners are the best meals we had in marrakech, served on courtyeard
or on the roof top.
in general this place was the best in marrakech.
i will really recommend this lovely hotel to every one.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khanhendoukhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Riyadhi Lorsya Marrakesh - a lovely Riyadh that was originally a private residence and has been renovated to a good standard and decorated to give a total immersion of Morrocan style and colours. The staff of Mustafa and manager Zyhidi are both very helpful and spoke excellent English. A great location to the Souks and central in the Medina. An afternoon drink on the rooftop watching the sunset is very surreal. The dinner in the Riyadh is better than anything you will find in Jemaa al Fna or find in restaurants. It is highly recommended, especially the tagine chicken. On that note I would state that visitors do not eat anything in Jemaa al Fna as it is over cooked, overpriced and full of hustlers. What was once probably a full on bazaar full of eclectic and exotic food is now, no more than over cooked tasteless kebabs that can be found in any tourist area in the world - Such a shame.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotelreport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Riad Lorsya is the perfect palace for a short visit to Marrakech, we stayed there three nights, the riad is well decorated, the staff are very nice, the location is close to the main square, in the heart of Marrakech.
I will recommend this hotel to all friends

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
290 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

This was our first trip to Marrakech and therefore our first Riad so we dont have anything to compare it with. having said that the service from Zahidi, Mustapha and Abdul was excellent, friendly, welcoming and helpful.

The riad booked a Hamman for us at '1000 nights' which was excellent, a restaurant for us with a view of the square, and we got what seemed like one of the best tables for the view and recommended a good stall to head for when we wnated to eat in the square.

The location is great, though as a first time visitor we were a little unsure about our approach through lots of narrow alleyways which we thought we would never find our way out of. We followed our luggage being pushed through the crowded souks to the Riad door, all seemed a bit daunting at first. We were made very welcome with mint tea and given the low down on how to get about. We did get lost more than once, but thats part of the fun, but always found our way back ok, and never felt threatened or unsafe at any time walking throught he alleys back to the Riad, even late at night. Its a 5 minute walk to the square, if you walk non stop, almost impossible when the souks are open, more like 15, or if you stop to buy...ages!!!

The rooms were very clean, tastefully but basically furnished, not sure how this compares to other Riads. Some lights did not work and the noise from the kitchen area did intrude into the room a bit (We stayed in Sheherazade). Light was very low so reading in the room was a problem.

The roof terrace was a great place to chill, we soaked up some early moring rays there before heading out to the Souks. It was also a pleasant place to sit in the evening with plenty of lights to read from here.

Simple breakfast, but tasty and filling, just right before heading off out. Excellent traditional meal provided on our first night too.

We thourougly enjoyed our trip to Marrakech and this was helped by the location of the Riad and the helpfulness of the staff. We would recommend this for a first time stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis_England_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

We stayed at the Riad Lorsya for 6 nights during October 2010. The Riad is a classic; a little gem right in the heart of the medina, close to all the souks and sights of old Marrakech. The rooms are fine; clean and tidy, furnished traditionally - no TV, though you will not miss it!. Access to the web is available all day however. The rooftop terrace is a great escape from it all and a delight. Breakfast was simple but filling with yoghurt, pancakes, fruit, bread and jams; the coffee and mint tea refreshing and available at all times. Perhaps the best thing about the Riad Lorsya are the staff: wonderful customer care, help and advice - many thanks to Ilyas, Abdel and especially Mustapha - always there to greet us when we returned after a long day away from the Riad (make sure you pass those exams!!).

Marrakech is a city of contrasts - traditional as well as some modern neighbourhoods; wealth and poverty; some very warm and friendly people, some not so. It is a tolerant city; be prepared to haggle for any purchases - try to settle on a third of the initial price quoted. We enjoyed eating at Cafe Lebanon (local wine and beers are served here); the Red House Hotel (entertained by local musicians) and for a more 'toursity' experience the Marrakchi restaurant overlooking the Jamaa (belly dancing, wine etc). Overall a great place to stay: though 3 to 4 nights would be fine.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scarlettsaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We had a wonderful time in Marrekesh, and we found the Riad Lorsya a perfect place to stay. The location is only a 10 minute walk to the main square, and the rooms are lovely and very comfortable. The entire staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Thank you Zahidi, Abdul, Mustafa, and the ladies for our wonderful stay. We will be coming back.
ciao, Fabrizio and Suzanne

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WTINyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Abaka
Riad Abaka
#275 of 500 in Marrakech
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#205 of 500 in Marrakech
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dollar Des Sables
Riad Dollar Des Sables
#217 of 500 in Marrakech
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#117 of 500 in Marrakech
115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Basma
Riad Basma
#252 of 500 in Marrakech
113 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#276 of 500 in Marrakech
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Lorsya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lorsya

Property: Riad Lorsya
Address: 61, Derb El Hammam, Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#142 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#162 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Lorsya 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Lorsya is situated 5 minutes walk from the Jamaa El Fna square, in the heart of the antiques market souk. It has been renovated with care in the pure Morrocan tradition and retains all the charm of the old Marrakech riads. Our professional team invites you to discover the serenity, the comfortable lifestyle and the quality services offered to you in this wonderful riad. A free dinner is offered for any booking of 7 nights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Lorsya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Lorsya Marrakech
Riad Lorsya Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing