We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”
Review of Riad Alwachma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Alwachma
Ranked #65 of 1,165 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Loved this Riad - we stayed here for only one night (due to availibilty, our own fault for not booking ahead of time) on our first night in Marrakech. We were welcomed with mint tea and yummy cookies by Driss - great service. The owners are a charming young french couple. It was an ideal location with nice amenities. I wish we could have stayed longer..... we took the recommendation of the owners to stay at another Riad close by for the remaining two nights of our trip because they were fully booked. (This one not so nice....) I would definately stay at Alwachma again :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyecala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

Lovely room, lovely place, lovely food, lovely people. We had a superb dinner in front of a real fire - hard to beat anywhere. Attention to detail excellent - the owners are hands-on and it shows. If it's in your price range, stay here. Note that it isn't deep 'inside' the souks like many riads but a few minutes walk - which means you can get there by car. We were on the 'street' or alley side, above the entrance, so there was a bit of noise (mainly when people knocked to come in!) but absolutely no complaints - we really, really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plenipotentiary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Everything here was perfect. The service was friendly and they were very attentive. The room was lovely, the atmosphere relaxing.

We had possibly the best tagine we had in Morocco for dinner here at the Riad, if you can, make it a point to dine in house and order the Lamb and apricot tagine!

Great location, very close to all the action.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Beautiful riad with friendly staff. When we arrived we had a talk about the city sights and were given maps to orientate ourselves over tea.

We stayed in Hania room, which we found was of a good size. Beds a little firm but comfortable. The bathroom good though pressure of the water from the shower could've been improved. The rooms were always very clean and toiletries and hairdryer supplied.

Breakfast enjoyed on the roof terrace was a highlight also. We had an evening meal which we would recommend - 15 euros for 3 courses (salads/briouats, tagines, dessert), which was fresh, delicious, one of the better tagines we had during our stay and enjoyed next to a fireplace.

We only had some problems with the wifi signal in the rooms, but it was not much of a problem as the signal was very strong in the lounge area. The call to prayer from the mosque next door also woke us up occasionally in the morning.

The riad is located approx 8 -10 min walk to jemaa el fna and is quite an easy walk as long as you get used to the traffic! We also found a taxi from the riad to airport is approx 100 dirham.

Overall the staff were very friendly and keen to help, rooms clean and comfortable and the riad was of excellent value.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckmc188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Hands dows, this is the best B&B, Riad, hotel, hostel, hostal, place, house, home... OF ALL!!

Our Moroc trip was so nice being in this place.

Thank you Amid, Dris (sorry If I spell wrong, you guys ROCK!!!) Anne, Jérôme, Clean/service ladies.... We could feel the place like home in a beautifull city, your smile everytime, answers to our questions, help with advise, etc were amazing!!!

Internet is always running, I must work from there, skype conferences always good connection.

Breakfast just lovely... Night dinner at Riad is a MUST!!! when you travel you think will find anyhting outside, but Moroc is not an easy city, its a lotery, as you cna find great places, others are not that great, please Try dinner (12 euros or 15 euros will worth) and you'll try the best traditional food around (we tried several other restaurants...)

Only thing we didnt tried was the hammam, but not time to do all!!

Will stay here again, definetly, even on first floor you can think in the beginning noises and smells from kitches will disturb, even with night noises... its a paradise!!!

Thank you, thank you thank you....

Great installations, and... more important, easy to get there!! please, as advise... take the shuttle with them, we didnt at our arrival, taxi cost same and they will leave you infront of a mosque at your faith!!! anyway its easy to get without knowing the place.

First place in my life that I dont have anything to say but good things (and I've stay in a lot of places before) believe me, they know how to run a place like this.

At our arrival 10 am they asked to wait 30 mins... 20 mins later our room was ready!! (early check in)
Even Dris forgot to book our Camel trip... but fixed this in a few minutes... Man!!! just good comments!!

Thank you Amir for that Culinary class and explanation about muslim religion!!

You really deserve that Tripadvisor certificate!! keep going!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrés A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

When you pass the door of Riad Alwachma you feel like in another planet! The smell of orange trees is surrounding you and the sound of the fountain is heaven to your ears.

Anne-Helene, Jerome and Driss will make your stay even more enjoyable with their knowledge and tips about Marrackech and around!

The food was just fantastic, the kefta to die for and the tajine cook to perfection. The authentic cuisine served is better than some famous city’s restaurant and in the evening when the riad get transformed with all the lights it's just beautiful and really romantic !I also had my breakfast at the terrace every morning, soooo relaxing!

I also experienced the hammam and massage service offered at the riad and it was sublime. The hammam’s lady take so good care of you that you don’t want it to end, I experienced the authentic hammam within the peace of the place, I went for a one hour massage after that…. AMAZING!

I strongly recommend the place: top location, top quality service, top staff and overall top experience in Marrakech.

I will be back next year for sure !!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YaelleM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We all enjoyed our stay at the Riad Alwachma.Nothing was to much trouble We even had breakfast served at 5.30 am on the morning we left on an early flight,all the staff were friendly,polite and helpful.The onsite Hammam and massage was a great experience and good value for money.The location was good and only a short walk from the Jemaa el fna square we always felt safe and the children loved the experience and were treated with respect and kindness.The menu and the food were great.It is a lovely very clean and quiet Riad with great size rooms that we do hesitate to recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad El Youssoufi
Riad El Youssoufi
#63 of 1,165 in Marrakech
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#7 of 1,165 in Marrakech
653 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#14 of 1,165 in Marrakech
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Nour
Riad Al Nour
#78 of 1,165 in Marrakech
206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Princesse du Desert
Riad Princesse du Desert
#39 of 1,165 in Marrakech
499 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Carina
Riad Carina
#50 of 1,165 in Marrakech
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Alwachma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alwachma

Address: 21 derb Sebh | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 1,165 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £47 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Alwachma 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the ground floor of the riad built around a large patio with columns a Moroccan living room, steam room, a lounge and two bedrooms. Upstairs, they offer six rooms / suites. All rooms in the riad are coated with tadelakt and zelliges, they also have heating and air conditioning, satellite TV and wi-fi. Finally, to eat or just enjoy in peace the views of the Koutoubia and the High Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Alwachma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Alwachma Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing