We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”
Review of Riad Alwachma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Alwachma
Ranked #49 of 1,139 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Marrakech was our first stop in Morocco and Riad Alwachma was a very pleasant stay away from the rush of the city. Ahmen (sp, sorry!) was super helpful and hilarious. We loved his happy attitude. He got us settled in and ready to check out the city. We did get massages there which were really nice after a long travel day. We also had dinner at the riad one night and it was really delicious. One night we were rather late coming back and hungry and Ahmen ordered us delivery as we were kind of tired to go back out and get food. Way to go above and beyond! Also definitely take your breakfasts on the roof - it's lovely up there! The wifi is not the strongest, but I feel like it's on par with the rest of the country. The location of the riad is easy to major sites and also not difficult to find in general. One thing of note: I booked on booking.com and even though you book the nonrefundable, apparently the riad will not charge you until the end of the stay in case you don't show. I was rather confused when I had to pay for the room as I thought it had been pre-paid when I had booked months earlier. Anyhow, I highly recommend this riad as the service, people, and location are all on point.

Room Tip: We were just 2 girls so we got a room on the bottom floor right off the main entry called Chebba. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    71
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
65
225
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Finding this little hotel was a gift. Sitting on the rooftop in the evening it is hard to imagine the hustle and bustle just outside the front door. All you can see is treetops and rooftops, and all you can hear is a distant hum from the city, then the call to prayer.

From gracious welcome to heartfelt goodbye, the staff at Riad Alwachma are wonderful and good natured. The bathroom was clean and struck just the right balance between Moroccan theme and European hygiene.

A delightful place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdussabur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jongieux, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

A great Riad within easy walking of all the sights. We stayed for two nights and wished our stay had been longer! The staff are all extremely helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Comfy bed, a wonderful roof-top terrace for breakfast and excellent food. I had the best tajine of my stay in Morocco here (tajine bérbère). I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Firstly, an apology for this late review. We stayed at Riad Alwachma a couple of months ago, and have just been very busy since getting back.

Secondly, let me say that although this Riad is beautiful, and it is, it is the people who make the difference. Jerome, Helene, Driss and Ameen are just the nicest, most helpful and hard working people you could wish to meet. These great people are what makes this Riad work so well, and we sincerely hope to get back to Marrakech to see them all again one day. Thank you for making our stay so special

The Riad itself is rustically charming, comfortable, clean, and an oasis of calm after a hectic day in the souks, around the square, or visiting the Atlas mountains. Its location, which is a short walk from Jamaa el Fna square, puts it in a perfect position for sightseeing.

Alwachma has a serene and peaceful roof terrace, where we spent our time having breakfast, sometimes lunch or just relaxing. The rooms are very clean, with a great shower and one of the most comfortable beds I had ever slept in.

This is a fantastic place to stay, which we have recommended to many of our friends and family.

John & Dee x

Room Tip: Can be a little hectic on the ground floor, and we would probably choose one of the upper floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnpc2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Me and my sister stayed here for one night great where it is as its just on the out skirts but in walking distance to every where. We had dinner here and its was really good the staff and the owner are really lovely people and so helpful. the organised a guild for us to walk around the town which was great other wise you would get lost and he took us to all the great places to see, so its well worth having one other wise you might miss lots.
The owner (French man) booked a hire car for us when we left and the hire car man was brilliant drove us out of Marrakech to the road that we needed to be on and then met us a week later to take us back to the Airport, how great was that and no extra cost for his time. but we did pay him.
Great holiday, great experience, great weather.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We enjoyed every minute of our stay at the Riad Alwachma. The staff are extremely welcoming and knowledgeable, and the Riad itself is a little oasis of calm amidst the bustling city of Marrakech. The roof terrace is fantastic, and eating breakfast there was the perfect way to start the day. The room we had was clean and spacious, and we were even to have a high quality dinner on our last night after checkout. The Riad is very well-priced and very central, meaning that it is the ideal base from which to explore Marrakech and other further field excursions. On a practical note, the Riad arranged our Airport transfers for us, which enabled us to enjoy a stress-free end to a stress-free holiday. You won't find better hotel staff than here - if we return to Marrakech we shall, without doubt, be staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This was the first place we stayed in during our trip and the thing that stood out, here and in all the other places, were the fantastic staff - they were always pleasant, helpful and cheerful. At Alwachma the manager even went to the trouble to get the car hire company we had booked with to come to drop the car off at the Riad - saved us getting up early and making our way across town.
Good location - a great walk through lively neighbourhoods to get to all the places of interest.
We enjoyed our stay and found the room comfortable and the breakfasts most enjoyable - it was served on the roof which was quite delightful.

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar as they are around the central area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N_IrelandMarmalade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Mur Akush
Riad Mur Akush
#30 of 500 in Marrakech
564 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#41 of 500 in Marrakech
1,067 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#5 of 1,139 in Marrakech
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Adriana
Riad Adriana
#38 of 1,139 in Marrakech
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Altair
Riad Altair
#40 of 1,139 in Marrakech
547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Gallery 49
Riad Gallery 49
#37 of 1,139 in Marrakech
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Alwachma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alwachma

Property: Riad Alwachma
Address: 21 derb Sebh | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 1,139 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Alwachma 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the ground floor of the riad built around a large patio with columns a Moroccan living room, steam room, a lounge and two bedrooms. Upstairs, they offer six rooms / suites. All rooms in the riad are coated with tadelakt and zelliges, they also have heating and air conditioning, satellite TV and wi-fi. Finally, to eat or just enjoy in peace the views of the Koutoubia and the High Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Alwachma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Alwachma Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing