We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Al Mansoura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Al Mansoura
Ranked #386 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

the location of the riad is central to all the attractions in marrakech within walking distance. The riad itself is a home away from home so cosy and above all the ambience of the place is in keeping with the warm embracing morrocan culture. All our needs were seen to and the hospitality was first class along with the quisine. If its your first time dont worry just get here and you will be looked after from food to shopping to sightseeing. My wife and I would definitely recommend this place

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mohammed33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    38
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
9
46
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston UK
Level Contributor
460 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in early March 2011. The Riad is down a long narrow alley and is very close to the Synagogue. The main square is about a 10-15 amble away and there are some good bars and restaurants nearby. The Tanjia food was particulary good.

The Riad Al Mansoura is best described as a typical traditional Moroccan Riad. If you expect this to be 4 star luxury then think again and stay elsewhere. if you want to experience real marrakech then I would recommend staying at this Riad. The staff are just so helpful. The manager Aziz has been previously described as a "gangster". How ridiculous! Aziz was always the perfect gent and very helpful at all times. His sidekick is Yahya. He makes your stay so pleasurable and is a credit to the Riad.

Breakfast is basic but it does the job. The coffee is so strong it certainly wakes you up.

On a seperate note, dont expect Marrakech to be cheap because its in North Africa, its anything but. On average you can pay between £3 and £6 for a small bottle of beer and about £15 for wine. Food is okay and again expect to pay at least £10 a head eating street food in the main square. Just remember not to look at anybody because there hand will be extended whilst expecting some money!!

Would I go to Marrakech again? Probably not as Im in the been there done that school!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajb1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

It was a huge relief to have organised an aiport transfer and Yahya and Aziz – who work at the riad – are really lovely and helpful. Riad Mansoura provides a very tranquil stay, and is about a 20 minute walk to the square, and I booked it after seeing so many great reviews. But only after I booked it did I read some tips on travelling with a toddler in Marrakech, one of which said that it wasn’t a good idea to stay in a riad. And I can see why – despite it being a very comfortable riad with very good service. I decided not to cancel though and thought we would be okay, as it would only be 3 nights.

There are a lot of tiles and stairs and if we were able to somehow block the stairs then the first floor (where our room was located) would have been an ideal area for our 20-month-old daughter to run around, as there’s a lovely sitting area where the sun pours in. She loved the visiting birds and occasional cat which slinked in. But inevitably she would try to go up the stairs which led to the rooftop, or down the stairs (a manoeuvre which she hasn’t yet mastered), so we were constantly having to follow her around and watch her every move, rather than being able to relax with a book while she played. The rooftop is really lovely, but again has a few concrete steps which weren’t ideal for our little one.

The room was lovely, but we were glad we had bought a few books for our daughter and a portable dvd player. The bathroom was a bit of a no-go area for her (often with a few rogue splashes on the floor from the open shower which she accidentally slipped on a couple of times), which meant she was mostly confined to the bedroom - much like she would in any hotel really, except in Western-style hotels the rooms are slightly bigger and carpeted. The cot we were provided with was too small and she could climb out easily and refused to sleep in it, so she slept in bed with us for the three nights, which wasn’t the most restful sleeps! Luckily it was a very big bed which we could all fit into, but it wasn’t ideal, and we were quite tired by the end of our trip.

Breakfast was lovely, but the Moroccan-style breads and crepes are quite tough for a toddler to eat, so while we loved them, she just stuck to the cakes and any snacks we'd brought along with us from home.

If you are in a couple or with friends then I would recommend this riad. If you’re a lone traveller then I think it’s a bit too far from the square for somebody to walk by themselves at night (and you really have to see the square at night! It’s like nothing else in the world!). But if you are travelling with toddlers I would recommend a more Western-style hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank youngmumanddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morroco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

The Riad Al Mansoura is a great place to stay at a good price with authentic delicious Morracon food. Aziz and his lovely staff made every effort to make my stay in Marakech an enjoyable experiance. A lovely Riad in a great location close to all the sites and action of Marraceck.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morrocco8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2010

This Riad was great, nice staff, beautifuly renovated in traditional Moroccan style.
Jusy a shame that, when checking out, the hotel manager tried to ripp us off by claiming that we needed to pay in euros, against an exchange rate which was highly in our disavantage. Even threatend to sent some friends of his to pay us 'a visit'... Was just an sad end of a pleasant stay...

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brecht_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2010

When we arrived we were led down a very narrow alleyway to a small wooden door. The manager and his assistant were not there but we were welcomed with mint tea and shown to our room. Later we were asked if we were happy with the room and I said it was a bit small and later we were told we could chose what room to move to.
Aziz the manager was exrtremely helpful and told us where we should visit and even took us in his car to see the sites in the new town and walked us round them. He cooked us a great meal when we ate in.
Yahya his assistant was great fun and also very caring. On our last night we with the other guests sat on the riad roof and Yahya sang and played the guitar. A very magical moment.
Aziz and yahya really gave us a wonderful holiday we will always remember and I would defintitley recommend both the city and this riad to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MotherLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

We stayed at the Riad Al Mansoura for 3 nights for my friends' 30th birthday and we have to say that it was the most pleasant stay we could have asked for in Marrakech! The service is second to none...very friendly staff (especially Yahya, Jalil, Mona and Aziz!!!). The riad is very clean and beautifully decorated, very well looked after and in a brilliant part of town, just 5-10 minutes from the Jemma el Fna square. Yahya is a brilliant guitar player!!!! Thank you very much for making us feel so welcome, we would love to return. Sam and Lisa xx

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjrowlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Dar Crystal
Dar Crystal
#109 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad les Oliviers
Riad les Oliviers
#269 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar 73
Dar 73
#110 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Nora
Riad Nora
#200 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Bahja
Riad Bahja
#227 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Amine
Hotel Amine
#462 of 508 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Mansoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Mansoura

Property: Riad Al Mansoura
Address: Hay Essalam Derb Manchoura 11, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #386 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Al Mansoura 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riad Al Mansoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Mansoura Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing