We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY PLEASANT STAY”
Review of Riad Al Mansoura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Al Mansoura
Ranked #387 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Pozuelo de Alarcon, Spain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“VERY PLEASANT STAY”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

The location is kind of weird very close to Bahia Palace and in front of the Sinagogue , the street looks kind of scarry the fisrt time ;-) but in our experience is perfectlly safe , the hotel is very clean and well kept ( no noises from the outside), the rooms are comfortable , but the strong point is their service , the guy in charge ( Aziz) is quite nice it is very helpful and tries to make the best of your stay in Marrakech , the cook is very good ( the breakfast is great nad we had dinner there and was a good experience) and the other lady was very nice as well. The service is great and you do not even know they are there . I will go to this riad the next time I go to Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mithritate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    38
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
9
46
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sussex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

DO NOT GO! We were shown to a tiny little room (without even a window) we had been expecting a balcony! The sheet on the bed had a huge rip in it straight on to the mattress which was filthy. The towels were literaly worn out, with holes in them and rough. Our main gripe is that it was very unwelcoming, freezing cold, with no heating. We had paid for half board which obviously came as a shock to the girl to had given us a mint tea on arrival. She said that this would be fine though. However, no food ever materialised. No chef ever materialised. The place was in darkness and freezing cold. We left to find somewhere else to eat and had a nice meal out. When we returned we realised we were the only people staying there, not even the owner showed up. Bearing in mind this Riad was down a filthy dark and long alleyway we felt vulnerable and frightened, not knowing who else may have a key to our room.
We left the next evening, we couldnt officially check out, as again, there was not a sole there.
We have travelled to many differerent countries, including the far east and India and China but have never come across such a terrible, unwelcoming, scary place.
The last reviwer says they were a group of 4 during the time we were there. There were certainly no other guests whilst we were there - beware!
We agree with a previous reviewer that the place looks abandoned and is nothing like the photos. A warm welcoming Morrocan experience it is not.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallydor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

This place looks abandoned and already shows signs of deterioration that are not visible in the website photographs. The employees are almost never there. Overnight, guests are left by themselves because there's no one present in the establisment. You need to ask them to change the towels or sheets and they never clean the room. The breakfast is poor and it is always the same. Many times you need to ask them to switch on the hot water. In the common area the air conditioner and television do not work. At night the whole place looks like a fridge, even in the rooms. Altough is just 10 minutes walk from the center, it is located in a filthy alley. The staff is friendly but certainly I do not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventure65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

the location of the riad is central to all the attractions in marrakech within walking distance. The riad itself is a home away from home so cosy and above all the ambience of the place is in keeping with the warm embracing morrocan culture. All our needs were seen to and the hospitality was first class along with the quisine. If its your first time dont worry just get here and you will be looked after from food to shopping to sightseeing. My wife and I would definitely recommend this place

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mohammed33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston UK
Level Contributor
473 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in early March 2011. The Riad is down a long narrow alley and is very close to the Synagogue. The main square is about a 10-15 amble away and there are some good bars and restaurants nearby. The Tanjia food was particulary good.

The Riad Al Mansoura is best described as a typical traditional Moroccan Riad. If you expect this to be 4 star luxury then think again and stay elsewhere. if you want to experience real marrakech then I would recommend staying at this Riad. The staff are just so helpful. The manager Aziz has been previously described as a "gangster". How ridiculous! Aziz was always the perfect gent and very helpful at all times. His sidekick is Yahya. He makes your stay so pleasurable and is a credit to the Riad.

Breakfast is basic but it does the job. The coffee is so strong it certainly wakes you up.

On a seperate note, dont expect Marrakech to be cheap because its in North Africa, its anything but. On average you can pay between £3 and £6 for a small bottle of beer and about £15 for wine. Food is okay and again expect to pay at least £10 a head eating street food in the main square. Just remember not to look at anybody because there hand will be extended whilst expecting some money!!

Would I go to Marrakech again? Probably not as Im in the been there done that school!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajb1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

It was a huge relief to have organised an aiport transfer and Yahya and Aziz – who work at the riad – are really lovely and helpful. Riad Mansoura provides a very tranquil stay, and is about a 20 minute walk to the square, and I booked it after seeing so many great reviews. But only after I booked it did I read some tips on travelling with a toddler in Marrakech, one of which said that it wasn’t a good idea to stay in a riad. And I can see why – despite it being a very comfortable riad with very good service. I decided not to cancel though and thought we would be okay, as it would only be 3 nights.

There are a lot of tiles and stairs and if we were able to somehow block the stairs then the first floor (where our room was located) would have been an ideal area for our 20-month-old daughter to run around, as there’s a lovely sitting area where the sun pours in. She loved the visiting birds and occasional cat which slinked in. But inevitably she would try to go up the stairs which led to the rooftop, or down the stairs (a manoeuvre which she hasn’t yet mastered), so we were constantly having to follow her around and watch her every move, rather than being able to relax with a book while she played. The rooftop is really lovely, but again has a few concrete steps which weren’t ideal for our little one.

The room was lovely, but we were glad we had bought a few books for our daughter and a portable dvd player. The bathroom was a bit of a no-go area for her (often with a few rogue splashes on the floor from the open shower which she accidentally slipped on a couple of times), which meant she was mostly confined to the bedroom - much like she would in any hotel really, except in Western-style hotels the rooms are slightly bigger and carpeted. The cot we were provided with was too small and she could climb out easily and refused to sleep in it, so she slept in bed with us for the three nights, which wasn’t the most restful sleeps! Luckily it was a very big bed which we could all fit into, but it wasn’t ideal, and we were quite tired by the end of our trip.

Breakfast was lovely, but the Moroccan-style breads and crepes are quite tough for a toddler to eat, so while we loved them, she just stuck to the cakes and any snacks we'd brought along with us from home.

If you are in a couple or with friends then I would recommend this riad. If you’re a lone traveller then I think it’s a bit too far from the square for somebody to walk by themselves at night (and you really have to see the square at night! It’s like nothing else in the world!). But if you are travelling with toddlers I would recommend a more Western-style hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank youngmumanddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morroco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2011

The Riad Al Mansoura is a great place to stay at a good price with authentic delicious Morracon food. Aziz and his lovely staff made every effort to make my stay in Marakech an enjoyable experiance. A lovely Riad in a great location close to all the sites and action of Marraceck.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morrocco8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Dar Crystal
Dar Crystal
#100 of 500 in Marrakech
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Terra Bahia
Riad Terra Bahia
#186 of 500 in Marrakech
145 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Azenzer
Riad Azenzer
#302 of 500 in Marrakech
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dar Loula
Dar Loula
#330 of 500 in Marrakech
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Schanez
Riad Schanez
#846 of 1,139 in Marrakech
34 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dar Meryem
Dar Meryem
#645 of 1,139 in Marrakech
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Mansoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Mansoura

Property: Riad Al Mansoura
Address: Hay Essalam Derb Manchoura 11, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #387 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Al Mansoura 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Al Mansoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Mansoura Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing