We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great Location!”
Review of Hotel Chems

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Chems
Ranked #346 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We just got back from Morocco we spent 3 nights at Hotel Chems and loved it! We were a group of 5 ladies. We got an excellent price on the rooms.

The staff were lovely to us though our French was very rusty, we got by with a mix of French and English, we were treated really well by all of the staff.

The rooms were great, bathroom was clean, balcony had a nice view of the gardens. There is a heated pool.

Breakfast was delicious, a good variety. We had dinner only one night, which is Moroccan cuisine and had a there was a great evening of entertainment in the hotel (even though we ran away when they brought out the snakes LOL :-) )

The location is perfect, a 10 minute walk to the main square and all the souks so we didn't use taxis.

I would recommend this hotel highly especially for the location.

Room Tip: Garden or Pool facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

This hotel could be great, the location is the only thing in its favour. Checked into a family room which wasn't cheap - had to ask for duvet covers as the beds hadn't been made, asked for the floor/rugs to be cleaned as they clearly hadn't been and two of the 3 room lights didn't work - consequently offered a room change which we took - had to ask for the rug to be hoovered in the new room too. The hoover had more dust on it than in it. Staff friendly enough but no interest in guest satisfaction. Waited 15 mins in the bar for a glass of wine, came close to pouring myself a drink. Call to prayer wakes you at 5am.
Asked reception for help booking an early morning airport transfer/cab and was clearly totally ripped off as it was only a 10 minute journey - we were charged the equivalent of 25 euros for it. Horrible being ripped off like that.
Wouldn't recommend or stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WilkinFiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stopped here for a quick visit of Marrakech before heading to the desert and upon return. The hotel is dated, room is basic but quite spacious with a small balcony. The front desk staff is average with limited English but conceige is helpful. Unstable wifi in room. Breakfast is good with fresh juice, lots of bread and pastries. Room facing the swimming pool is more quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JWAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The rooms were great with own balcon and view of either the pool or the mosque. As others have mentioned, they were not to quick at refilling the breakfast buffet, although I experienced the slow service was a general moroccan problem.
The pool area is great with a fine snack menu for lunch. The staff were very friendly but lacking English skills which could be a bit of problem, if asking too many questions. But again, most of the moroccan people do not speak English. The
Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikkelG89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The hotel was average in terms of the rooms. The breakfast buffet was okay, but they kept running out of things.

The cheese refilling man was the only person at the hotel who could have cared less what guests wanted. The women at the front desk were impatient and didn't have great English skills. The concierge, who also didn't speak particularly good English, arranged for a driver for us (for which we paid dearly) to drive us to the desert.

We were VERY clear that, as my partner is a photographer, we needed a driver who would go at our pace, stop when we asked him to, and let us enjoy the ride and take photos. I relayed this information three times. Unfortunately, it became apparent very early in the ride that the driver was in a rush, and had been told that this was a "transfer" and wanted to drop us off at midday the next day, even though we had requested him until 7:00 pm.

The whole ride was extremely stressful because we felt pressured in terms of time, and the driver wanted to extort another $120.00 from us if we wanted him all day on the second day, even though we had already paid over $400.00. It was frustrating and the only wrinkle in an otherwise wonderful trip to Morocco.

Room Tip: Find a room in a different hotel where the staff cares whether you live or die.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PKLucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We were looking for a hotel close to the main Souk and Square, but with free parking as parking in the middle of Marrakech is pretty dreadful, so this hotel is perfect for this.

Billed as a 4 star, I actually is not but more like a 2 / 3 star. Having said this, its clean and reasonably priced, the beds are comfortable and it was perfect for a few nights.

Breakfast was extra, but not a problem, typically French. The staff were all French and did not speak hardly any English, but thats fine if you are happy to either muddle through or can of course speak French.

2 key advantages; it is 500mt from Djemma el Fna and is a simple walk, but there are loads of horse carriages if you don't want to walk. Secondly, free parking, which is a blessing. Also, the hotel is just inside the walls of the old city.

Disadvantages are totally French speaking and staff a bit "offish", but thats not problem, and the 5:30am wake up call to prayer...the Mosque speakers seem to be in the room with you!!
Also we had tap dancers in the room above....God only knows what they were up to, so ask for a top floor room!

Nice swimming pool (heated) and nice gardens.

Overall, highly recommended for a few nights - low cost, easy access to Marrakesh sights.

We did not eat in the restaurant as we dined in the Square - a must if you go to - delicious food at really brilliant prices - we had a ball here.

Room Tip: Go for a top floor room - the ceilings seem to be very thin and noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChappleG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Even though the star rating for this hotel says its four star, I would say it is probably more like a high end 3 however there are a number of things which makes this hotel worth considering:


1. Hotel location - As other reviewers have mentioned, the hotel is located about 10minutes walk from the square/Medina area. The walk to the square is through the beautiful courtyard of the Koutoubiah Mosque with its great architecture and orange trees - a delightful and relaxing walk to the centre.

2. Breakfast - Breakfast wasn't bad, we looked forward to the freshly made crepes. If you're staying for a long time then it can be slightly repetitive. I have to say the best thing about breakfast was the great service we received from the staff particularly Mustafah who was fantastic. Mustafah always provided a personal service that you wouldn't get even in a five star hotel and he was great with the kids too.

3. Morning call - As muslims we liked being woken up by the call to prayer. The call to prayer is an important reminder for muslims to pray and therefore it was a good thing for us.

4. Pool area - Great pool area overlooking the minaret tower of the mosque. It was relaxing to sit by the pool-side and also had a table tennis area to play a few games.

5. Family room - Family room was a good size for us and was comfortable. Could have done with some more lighting but nevertheless was adequate but not to 4 star standards.

Areas for improvement:

1. Need to provide the basics - We stayed in the family room and found the room lacking in basic equipment's such as tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer or an iron.

2. Charged for the use of the safe in the room - I'd expected the safe located in the room to be free however was surprised to see they charged for us to use it. Considering the amount we have paid for the room, I would expect all the facilities in the room to be free.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel for location and service but don't expect anything plush.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ablito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1 mi away
LABRANDA Les Idrissides Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel Almas
Hotel Almas
#158 of 499 in Marrakech
549 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Suites Marrakech
Novotel Suites Marrakech
#267 of 499 in Marrakech
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Palm Menara Hotel Marrakech
Palm Menara Hotel Marrakech
#328 of 499 in Marrakech
18 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Renaissance
Hotel La Renaissance
#353 of 499 in Marrakech
378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#59 of 499 in Marrakech
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chems? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chems

Address: Avenue Houmane Fettaouaki Syba, Marrakech 40050, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#192 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £44 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chems 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The restaurant features large pillars and serves a continental breakfast every morning. On sunny days, guests can dine on the poolside terrace or order a snack from the pool bar.Wi-Fi is free in public areas and the hotel also offers private parking on site. Marrakesh-Menara Airport is just 5 km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Chems reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chems Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing