We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Riad in the Middle of the Action”
Review of Riad Slawi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Slawi
Ranked #89 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2011

This riad is perfectly located within walking distance of all the main attractions in Marrakech. The riad itself has everything you need from a fridge in the room to a relaxing roof top terrace. There are only four rooms so it really feels like home and intimate, and the decor is truly authentic. Make sure to have dinner at the riad at least once as the home cooked Tagine is to die for. I would recommend this riad to anyone especially to those travelling as a couple. The last thing to highlight, is the owner, Adam, really went out of his way to make us feel comfortable and to help us out with whatever we needed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Boarding2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

The owner Adam could not be more friendly, he is originally from Canada so we had no communication problems. Adam suggested all the best places to go, including resturant/bars that serve alcohol (there is one just around the corner from the Riad in the Medina). The Riad itself has a relaxing roof top terrace where you can unwind.

If you want to see the real Morocco/Marrakech Medina (the bit within the walled city) you cant get a much more authentic location that this. Just a few minutes walk from the Souks (where you can buy all sorts of stuff - if shopping is your thing).

The breakfasts were excellent. Although I didnt eat Dinner at the Riad, the food was recommended by a couple who were staying.

The area of the Medina that this Riad is in doesnt really have a map that goes down to individual alleyway/street level. However Adam has drawn a helpful diagram so its relatively easy to find your way back from the big square "Place Jemaa El Fna". If you really cannot find your way then just ask a taxi for "Sidi Ben Slimane" they take you the end of the road, just keep on walking straight on through the Medina for <5 minutes and you get to the Riad.

If you have a car I am not sure where you are going to park it! but this would be a problem wherever you stay in any Medina (we had the same problem in Fes). I flew into Marrakech, Adam arranged a taxi and then a couple of days later another taxi to the car hire place (so parking wasnt a problem and taxis are cheap).

I recommend the Riad Slawi if you are looking for an authentic Marrakech experience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Riad Slawi is in the heart of the Medina in Marrakesh, and is a thoroughly renovated but authentic Moroccan Riad, with all necessary modern conveniences (wifi, room fridge, A/C, etc) as well as being a calm oasis just a short walk from the hustle of the Souk. It has a wonderful traditional central courtyard, and a shaded roof terrace in which to relax. Adam, the owner, could not have been more helpful and welcoming. Breakfast was freshly prepared, very filling, and very good. While staying there I met a mother & daughter on their their third stay at Riad Slawi. Following their example, when I return to the city, I will be sure to return to this Riad.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldcitizen999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This riad and its host (Mustapha, as Adam was on holiday) were a major factor in how much we enjoyed our visit to Morocco. From the moment we arrived at the riad, Mustapha was well spoken and polite. He gave us some guide books for Marrakech and Essaouria as well as a hand drawn map to the Djemaa El Fna and the Musee de Marrakech. On our first trip to the square he walked with us and showed us round with suggestions of where to eat as well as some basic survival tips for the medina.

We asked about a trip to the Ourika valley and he said he would call a guide who would pick us up at 8am and how much he would charge (a welcome break from haggling constantly!) On the day we were being shown the valley, he went to the bus station and bought us two return tickets to Essaouria (on our request) and indeed walked us to the correct bus stop the next morning. It is excellent having a local walking with you, especially if you are obviously not Moroccan!

He was a valuable source of information about pretty much anything you want to know about Marrakech and Morocco.

The riad itself was very peaceful with a nice rooftop terrace and courtyard. Our room was spacious with working A/C and a comfy bed. The shower seemed not to drain away until after your shower was finished, but it never got close to flooding and the rest of plumbing was fine, so it was never a problem. There was a fridge in the room which allowed you to store cold water.

Breakfast was always prompt and freshly cooked as well as delicious.

The only hitch we had with the riad was the arrival from the airport, which is hardly Riad Slawi's fault. I asked Adam for a taxi as I had seen reviews elsewhere saying the location was hard to find. I told Adam we were arriving on the 09:05 flight, but I can only presume that the driver had left by the time we had left departures (9:30) to get a higher fare.

In case you find yourself in a similar situation, I thought I'd describe how to get to the riad:
Get a taxi to Mosque Sidi Ben Slimane
With the school on your left and a mosque on your right, walk straight ahead until you enter an open area with an entrance to the Mosque Sidi Ben Slimane on the left.
Take the right hand exit in front of you and walk until there is a wall with 'AFIFI' written on it.
Turn left here and and continue walking round the mosque, through another open are with another door to the mosque on the left.
There is a road to the right diagonally, which you should take.
Keep walking straight past one archway and another road on the left. You should pass an angry looking water tap on your left.
The road turns right and then left under a dark archway
Keep walking through this and a yellow sign saying 'Riad Slawi' and directing you left is attached to a beam across the street.
RIad Slawi is the second door on the right.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieMatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed at Riad Slawi for four days in August and found it to be a wonderful place to relax. It’s a beautiful clean and well maintained Raid that has a nice roof terrace to relax on and a light airy courtyard to have breakfast in. Our riad host Mustafa was wonderful. He guided to the square and took time out to help us navigate the Medina area. The riad can be tricky to find as the taxi can only take you so far. Then it’s a short walk to the riad. For this reason I would recommend contacting them before you get to Marrakech so that someone can meet you and walk you to the Riad A wonderful place at a great price. Many thanks to Mustafa for being a wonderful and helpful host. Thanks for a great stay in Morocco.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

This place is amazing. The rooms are beautiful and clean. Breakfast is tasty and plentiful. Most importantly, Adam, the owner, is kind, extremely helpful and an all around good guy. He makes the place feel like home.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 69Dragonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed here twice in our recent trip to Morocco. We stayed in a very comfortable suite room on the first floor. The riad is very clean and beautifully presented. Adam, the owner is very helpful and can provide you with a taxi from the airport. We took him up on the offer the first time and it worked out really well and good value.The second time we had to sort out our own cab from the airport and they were trying to rip us off big time, so I'd take Adam's taxi next time. Adam can arrange dinner at the riad for you some nights - our tagine was very tasty. However, even though this riad is 15 minutes walk from the main sqaure, there are some really good and world reknowned restaurants close by and Adam can show you where they are. Breakfast was fabulous. On the downside, our room didn't lock but the riad seemed very secure and I wasn't worried about our belongings. The riad is always locked to the outdoors. There is a bell to get in, but one evening we had to keep ringing it for at least 20 minutes to gain access - which was a bit of a pain.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kateyclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#124 of 500 in Marrakech
555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Haraka
Riad Haraka
#123 of 500 in Marrakech
117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Saba
Riad Dar Saba
#262 of 500 in Marrakech
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Vert Marrakech
Riad Vert Marrakech
#45 of 500 in Marrakech
426 reviews
1 mi away
Riad Dar Thalge
Riad Dar Thalge
#160 of 500 in Marrakech
143 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#83 of 500 in Marrakech
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Slawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Slawi

Address: 92 Derb Ahmed el Borj | Sidi Ben Slimane, Kaa Sour, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#56 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £33 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Slawi 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Slawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Slawi Marrakech
Riad Slawi Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing