We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delightful riad, owner and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Slawi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Slawi
Ranked #90 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A delightful riad, owner and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

I selected this riad based on the trip advisor reviews - and our budget - and was not disappointed. Adam is a very friendly and personable owner/manager and goes out of his way to offer any assistance or advise you may need. Our room, Kaws, on the 1st floor, was lovely. Morrocan in style with an incredibly comfy bed & pillows (which I find rare even in the best hotels!), seating area and en-suite. The breakfasts were simple with yogurt, bread and freshly cooked pancakes or pastries etc, squeezed orange juice and tea (including Liptons!) and coffee. The 2 ladies who cooked, served breakfast and cleaned were delightful and also helpful. The courtyard eating area was very pleasant and the rooftop terrace just great to relax on at the end of the day. Our only slight misgiving was the location as it is quite a hike to get to/from the main square and just a little intimidating to walk these final residential streets at night. But, saying that, we chose Riad Slawi as it is away from the noise of the central medina and, when we were more accustomed with the route (you WILL get lost in the medina where ever you stay!) we had no problems what so ever.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a 1st floor room as more private :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tipishca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    39
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
47
226
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed here a couple of years ago, and the place is just as fantastic as I remembered. It's an oasis of calm and relaxation away from the crazy hustle and bustle of the souks and medina.

Run by Adam and Moustafa (apologies if I've spelt that wrong!), its a beautifully appointed riad. Breakfasts are served in the courtyard, and dinner is available (and indeed included the best tagine we had in Morocco by some considerable margin).

Breakfast was lovely - different home-cooked pastries each day, with fresh OJ, coffee or tea, yogurt and jam, butter and cheese etc.

The rooms are simple and traditionally decorated, and also well equipped with fridge and safe. The cleaning is to an exceptionally high standard. There is also a roof-top terrace where you can relax in the sun or under the shaded area.

Adam was again helpful in booking restaurants and offering to source onward travel for us.

Can be a little tricky to find - the taxi on arrival cannot drive to the front door, and you will be offered a porter - I suggest you use it! You will need to haggle the price with the porter - if you pay more than 20Dh you're being generous... It's only a 2 minute walk.

Adam or Moustafa offered to show us to the square on our first journey - the route through the souks is confusing and winding, although very interesting. The route via the main road is far simpler and quicker, although with far less to see! Overall, don't let directions worry you - you'll always be able to ask for directions to the main square, and if all else fails a mini taxi to the road will only be a few dirhams!

If you're debating where to stay in Marrakech, just go ahead and book this place - I've stayed in several properties in Marrakech, and none come close to the quality/value provided by Riad Slawi.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Riad Slawi is a cozy home with 4 rooms tastefully design in classic Moroccan fashion. It has a well-lit courtyard where traditional, homemade breakfast was served. The best part of the house though is their sitting lounges (just outside the bedrooms) where I would read and write during my down time. But the real gem of the Riad is Adam. He graciously offered to purchase our tickets to Tangiers, even booked us a hotel near the train station (because we had an early train schedule). He allowed us to leave our bags with him and arranged to have us picked up at the bus station when we returned from an overnight stay in Essaouira. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed in the Kaws room (twin room) for 3 nights in Feb 2013

Firstly, take up the offer for them to arrange a taxi to meet you at the airport and for someone to take you directly to the riad’s door (about 3 mins walk from where the cars can reach). You’ll be overwhelmed at first thinking you’ll never be able to find it again, I promise you will!

Mustapha (Adam’s father) was managing the riad this week (they take it in turns as it can be very tiring). Mustapha speaks fluent English as well as French etc.. and was an amazing host, nothing was too much trouble and helped us with so much such as:

• Walking us to the taxi rank on our first night to ensure we were confident with our route (he also supplied us with a map to the riad as well as an overall city map of the main tourist attractions).

• Phoned to book a cookery workshop for us and then walked us to the destination (about 15/20 mins walk away).

• Walked us to the Jardin Majorelle (Yves Saint Laurent garden)

• Cycled to the train station and bought us the last 2 tickets on the SupraTours coach to Essaouira whist we enjoyed our last few hours in Marrakech.

His knowledge and kind nature was such a fantastic bonus and made our experience so much more enjoyable! Mustapha if you’re reading this, thank you for the bottom of my heart! 

The riad itself is a very peaceful escape away from the madness of Marrakesh and is beautifully decorated throughout. Our room was light & bright, had a safe in the wall and a fridge which was stocked with water & soft drinks. The bathroom has a soap/shampoo dispenser, towels were provided and the shower had a good supply of hot water. Our room was cleaned daily.

Breakfast was freshly squeezed orange juice, tea/coffee, yoghurt and pastries with syrup – I loved it!

We took the advice of other reviewers and had dinner here on the first night (arranged beforehand, they need notice) – one of the best meals we had in Morocco! The ladies who work here sure know how to cook! Salads, Lemon chicken tagine, and a pudding :-)

I’m so pleased we stayed here, I would have no hesitation in recommending this place and should I ever find myself in Marrakesh again I will be knocking on this riad’s door!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shereen82UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Myself, my husband and our 8 yr old son enjoyed the splendid hospitality of Riad Slawi. We were hosted mainly by the Assistant Manager, Mustafa, and thanks to he and members of his family and his referred tour agents we had a fantastic time in Marrakech. The rooms were beautiful and well kept. The Riad is located close to the markets but sufficiently away that it was nice and quiet during the night. On our first night Mustafa walked with us to the markets to ensure we knew where we were going. On our last night we enjoyed an incredible home cooked meal in the Riad that surpassed any of the fabulous food we enjoyed at various restaurants in the area. The staff are extremely professional and happy to help in any way possible. You can feel the genuine desire they have to make your experience positive and welcoming. We can't recommend this enough.

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms on the second level - both were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyQuon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I recently spent 4 nights at the Riad Slwai, the service was outstanding, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were comfortable, regularly cleaned. The shower had an abundance of hot water, soaps and shower gel.
On our last evening we eat at the Riad, the food was exceptional and definitely the best food we had all week, and the decoration of the table was superb, many thanks to the women who cooked the couscous and made it such a memorable stay.
Thanks to all the staff for making ain't such a good stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

We fully endorse what has been said by others, Riad Slawi is superb in every way and is to be recommended on all counts not least for the friendly and helpful service .

The highlight for us was the evening meals, which are very carefully prepared tasty and interesting. If you do say here make sure that at least one night you eat here, you will not be disappointed.

Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Usk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#89 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#119 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#71 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#57 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dar Crystal
Dar Crystal
#110 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#75 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Slawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Slawi

Property: Riad Slawi
Address: 92 Derb Ahmed el Borj | Sidi Ben Slimane, Kaa Sour, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#56 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#77 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Slawi 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Slawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Slawi Marrakech
Riad Slawi Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing