We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended - One-in-a-Million Owner”
Review of Riad Slawi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Slawi
Ranked #75 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Without having stayed at another Riad in Marrakech, I would not hesitate to stay at Riad Slawi every single time, even though there may be more expensive or exclusive Riad's around. The sole reason is because of Adam, the owner. Adam is polite, helpful over and above his duty and just a genuine good bloke. Sounds like a man-crush. Probably is.

The Riad itself is authentic, well renovated, clean and comfortable which is what we (and probably most other travellers) want to experience. But, to emphasise, the main reason that this Riad will better your experience of Marrakech is due to Adam and his willingness to help out.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dooi82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed at Riad Slawi back in March and we couldn't recommend it highly enough. Adam, the owner, is brilliant. Adam is simply one of the most accommodating and nice people I've encountered in a hotel. He went out of his way to help my wife and I, even walking us through the maze of Marrakech to get to a restaurant (tricky to do when your wife is pregnant).
The Riad itself it stunning, it really isn't that hard to find after a couple of visits and the ladies who work there are lovely, and great cooks! Best tagine of the trip was at Slawi!
Breakfast is great! Lots of it and authentic too! Sets you up for the day and makes a change from the usual cooked breakfast.
Riad Slawi is such a beautiful place, everything is so ornate and grand. The doors alone are stunning!
The streets are quiet at night and it's very peaceful for a good nights sleep.
Can't recommend this place highly enough. Adams service alone is worth the visit!
Happily return to Riad Slawi!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at Riad Slawi for five days during our 21 days Moroccan trip. The Riad is in a excellent location, just a few minute walk to the souks and less than 15 minutes to Jemma el Fna square.
Adam, the owner who grew up and educated in Canada was extremely friendly and helpful; he walked us to the square and show us the proper rout with particular landmark to remember which helped us tremendously to find our way back in a maze like medina, I asked him the location to purchase bus ticket to Essaouira and he went out bought it for me without collecting the fare first. Adam is just a super nice and accommodating, down to the earth guy. The breakfast was exceptional good. We had dinner here on our last night of stay. It was unforgettable! The dining area decorated so romantic and beautiful with candlelights and rose petals on the table, we feel like we were in honeymoon again. The Moroccan salad (eggplant caviar, peppers etc.), beef with prune Tagine were outstanding with quality ingredients, the BEST meal we had in Morocco. We regretted that we did not try it at our first night of staying.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taiyang33480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My husband and I stayed in Riad Slawi for three days, about a week ago. The first thing to understand is that the Medina of Marrakech is a unique experience that should be appreciated for what it is. It's kind of intense and exciting and wonderful in a way you're not going to find at a sterile resort. The second thing to understand is that staying at Riad Slawi means experiencing lovely local hospitality that you also won't get at a sterile resort. Adam has gone to great lengths to restore, decorate and run the riad in a way that gives visitors a view into traditional architecture (the doors are amazing), decor, and food. He is attentive, making sure he understands what his guests might like to see, what they should pay for a taxi (get ready to haggle!), where to eat, etc. He provided a hand-drawn map that made sure any taxi driver could get us back to the riad (we did get deeply lost twice, but that's normal in the Medina). And the food was spectacularly good. We requested dinner on our first night and were treated to a wonderful series of dishes. The daily breakfasts were such a treat that I'm still sharing pictures and talking about them. I would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyOV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed in Riad Slawi recently on a two night stop-over in Marrakech. Although slightly off the beaten track and navigating the way home could be hairy enough, at first, we had a fantastic time whilst there. Adam the host was totally customer oriented, meeting all of our needs and going out of his way to ensure we had a great stay. He organised bus tickets, taxis and allowed us to linger a little longer on day of departure too. Nothing was a hassle. The rooms are delightful, exactly as shown in photos and the sun terrace is the perfect place to chill at the end of a busy days walking.
I would definitely recommend this to family & friends and hope to go back again sometime.
Carol H

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I selected this riad based on the trip advisor reviews - and our budget - and was not disappointed. Adam is a very friendly and personable owner/manager and goes out of his way to offer any assistance or advise you may need. Our room, Kaws, on the 1st floor, was lovely. Morrocan in style with an incredibly comfy bed & pillows (which I find rare even in the best hotels!), seating area and en-suite. The breakfasts were simple with yogurt, bread and freshly cooked pancakes or pastries etc, squeezed orange juice and tea (including Liptons!) and coffee. The 2 ladies who cooked, served breakfast and cleaned were delightful and also helpful. The courtyard eating area was very pleasant and the rooftop terrace just great to relax on at the end of the day. Our only slight misgiving was the location as it is quite a hike to get to/from the main square and just a little intimidating to walk these final residential streets at night. But, saying that, we chose Riad Slawi as it is away from the noise of the central medina and, when we were more accustomed with the route (you WILL get lost in the medina where ever you stay!) we had no problems what so ever.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a 1st floor room as more private :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tipishca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed here a couple of years ago, and the place is just as fantastic as I remembered. It's an oasis of calm and relaxation away from the crazy hustle and bustle of the souks and medina.

Run by Adam and Moustafa (apologies if I've spelt that wrong!), its a beautifully appointed riad. Breakfasts are served in the courtyard, and dinner is available (and indeed included the best tagine we had in Morocco by some considerable margin).

Breakfast was lovely - different home-cooked pastries each day, with fresh OJ, coffee or tea, yogurt and jam, butter and cheese etc.

The rooms are simple and traditionally decorated, and also well equipped with fridge and safe. The cleaning is to an exceptionally high standard. There is also a roof-top terrace where you can relax in the sun or under the shaded area.

Adam was again helpful in booking restaurants and offering to source onward travel for us.

Can be a little tricky to find - the taxi on arrival cannot drive to the front door, and you will be offered a porter - I suggest you use it! You will need to haggle the price with the porter - if you pay more than 20Dh you're being generous... It's only a 2 minute walk.

Adam or Moustafa offered to show us to the square on our first journey - the route through the souks is confusing and winding, although very interesting. The route via the main road is far simpler and quicker, although with far less to see! Overall, don't let directions worry you - you'll always be able to ask for directions to the main square, and if all else fails a mini taxi to the road will only be a few dirhams!

If you're debating where to stay in Marrakech, just go ahead and book this place - I've stayed in several properties in Marrakech, and none come close to the quality/value provided by Riad Slawi.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Haraka
Riad Haraka
#104 of 500 in Marrakech
127 reviews
1 mi away
Riad Dar Thalge
Riad Dar Thalge
#171 of 500 in Marrakech
143 reviews
1 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#151 of 500 in Marrakech
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#53 of 500 in Marrakech
997 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#82 of 500 in Marrakech
356 reviews
1 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#18 of 500 in Marrakech
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Slawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Slawi

Address: 92 Derb Ahmed el Borj | Sidi Ben Slimane, Kaa Sour, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#56 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £33 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Slawi 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Slawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Slawi Marrakech
Riad Slawi Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing