We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay in Riad Slawi”
Review of Riad Slawi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Slawi
Ranked #95 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay in Riad Slawi”
Reviewed 9 May 2009

I have spent 6 nights in Riad Slawi in april 2009. The owner Adam and his father have lived in Canada so they speak excellent French and English. They’re also very friendly and helpful. If you wanna book a tour, find a nice restaurant or just got totally lost in Marrakech (and this will happen!) , Adam is there to help you or pick you up wherever you are.

There are only four rooms in this riad and they are spacious and nicely decorated. Breakfast is excellent and there is also a terrace on the roof.

The only inconvenient thing about this riad is that it is a little out of the way. It is about 15 minutes walking to the big square (if you don’t get lost). There is only one restaurant in the neightbourhood, the Dar Zellig, which offers set menus starting from 40 euros. For any other cheaper restaurant you will have to walk about 10 to 15 minutes. If you find that inconvenient Riad Slawi is probably not the place for you. But I had a very pleasant time there and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    39
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
48
227
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suisse
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2009

Though it was our first stay in Marrakech we felt completely at home thanks to the Landlord Adam, the moroccan-canadian manager. Not only makes he sure that you feel comfortable in his hotel, he also arranges everything you might need. This was quite a challenge during our one week stay as taxis and busses were on strike. Adam and his brother got up at six in the morning, Adam to serve us his delicious breakfast, Samir to drive us to the bus station.
After the hussle and bussle of the souks and main square we could relax in the peaceful Riad, beautifully decorated with great attention to details.
I will definitely recommend this Riad to anyone looking for a memorable stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaimelemaroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarragona
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2009

The owner will sent a taxi to pick you up, which is the easiest way to find the Riad, since it is lost in a corner of the medina, but worth the stay if you are looking for something authentic.
He will also show you around and advice you where to eat, etc..
Everything , including the service and the rooms are excellent, especially the varied breakfasts.
Adam, whose English and French are perfect, makes you feel completely at home.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FerranTarragona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2009

Riad Slawi is located just inside the Marrakech Medina, it's at a short (15 mins.) walk from the Jemna El-Fna square.
The Riad itself is super-clean and super-quiet, it might be difficult to find your way (esp. on day one) but host Adam (who speaks French and English fluently) will do his utmost (will do his utmost) to make your stay as comfortable as possible. He will guide you all the way to the Jemna El-Fna square and will book you anything you desire (from cameltrip through hamam to taxi).
Breakfast is top: each day different and the coffee is d*mn good.
I'd really recommend this riad to anyone looking for a memorable stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justsometravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2009

Riad Slawi was without any doubt the highlight of our two days in Marrakech. It was our introduction to Moroccan culture in comfortable, intimate and elegant surroundings. We stayed in the Menzeh room, which like the rest of the riad, blended traditional and trendy design. Riad Slawi is all crisp white lines with little touches of colour here and there. The place is more boutique hotel than B&B. Breakfast was very generous, consisting of fresh pastries, breads, freshly squeezed OJ, yoghurt, coffee or tea, etc. The attention to detail really caught my eye. That applied to the service as well. Adam, the riad manager, was a truly engaging host. His geniality and availability is Riad's Slawi's unique selling point. We received a personal service of the likes us Westerners could only dream of back home - certainly at these affordable prices. We arrived late in the evening on our first night. Adam was there to meet us in the street and walk us back to the hotel. After complimentary mint tea and local cake, he took us to the main square for dinner at one of the boisterous food stalls. His local knowledge and contacts meant we were really able to get under the skin of this fascinating city. On our second night, we opted for home-style cooking at the riad. My lamb tagine was to die for. It was like dining in a Moroccan family's home. I dare say, you can't get more authentic than that! We were looking for a unique experience and we got it at Riad Slawi. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sossylm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2009

Riad Slawi was by far one of the best places we have stayed in and for a really affordable price too. Marrakech is an amazing city, rich in culture and abundant in energy. Riad Slawi is situated near the main square (you will get lost a few times walking but you will get the hang of it) and the rooms are great. Spacious, clean and very charming with unique moroccan style decor. The best part about staying in Riad Slawi is Adam, the trilingual (French, Arabic, English and a bit of Spanish) manager of the hotel. Not only does he go out of his way to make sure that you are comfortable in his hotel, he also arranges everything for you, i.e airport transport, meals, tours. Adam even brewed us herbal tea and medication when we were down with food poisoning (avoid countryside tagine's in the Ourika valley unless you have an iron stomach). Adam made our stay in Riad Slawi feel less like a hotel and more like a home: comfortable, unpretentious and extremely warm and inviting. A definite recommendation for a great experience in Marrakech. We look forward to revisiting Morocco and Riad Slawi in the future!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hengzg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2009

Thanks to Adam, his father and mother for this wonderful Riad. Adam is devoted and as a customer, I really feel it was a privilege and a chance to sleep there. Since the Riad is IN the medina, it is obviously difficult to find the place alone the first time when we arrived. Hopefully, Adam was waiting for us at the entrance of the medina. Several times, he walked with us in the medina to explain us the culture and different facts about Moroccan culture. Adam was born in Canada and live now in Morocco, so he has a gound understanding of western an Morocco's culture. He speak fluent French, English and Arab (and maybe other languages?). An interesting fact... As many travelers visiting Morocco for the first time, I was ill (yep... a one day Turista!). I had to stay at the Riad and Adam was there to make sure I was ok. He prepared me fruits and a special tea, gave me some hot bedclothes, etc. I thanks him so much for what he did. I recommend this Riad to everyone who wants a family atmosphere and an affordable room.

Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank WalkerTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#84 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#131 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#74 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#59 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dar Crystal
Dar Crystal
#94 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#73 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Slawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Slawi

Property: Riad Slawi
Address: 92 Derb Ahmed el Borj | Sidi Ben Slimane, Kaa Sour, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#56 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#77 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Slawi 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Riad Slawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Slawi Marrakech
Riad Slawi Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing