We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Riad - Definitely stay here if you go to Marrakech”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Slawi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Slawi
Ranked #84 of 495 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Riad - Definitely stay here if you go to Marrakech”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2010

This Riad is gorgeous. Homely, comfortable, and beautiful. We were greeted with gorgeous mint tea and biscuits, our room was beautiful, quiet as a mouse in the bedroom, the little touches of Moroccan ornaments in the decor made it all the more touching. Such great value, and lovely croissants and bread for breakfast in the morning. I'd have to agree with other reviews that it can be slightly difficult to find, but for me this was part of the charm of Marrakech. The whole old city is a mingle of winding tiny lanes, and you get lost in an instant. Initially our taxi driver dropped us off as close as he could, talked to the Riad and we were met there, and escorted back to the Riad. They also arranged a local to guide us back through to the medina that evening, which was lovely. Definitely stay here in Marrakech, it's such a warming lovely experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    39
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
47
226
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

We stayed at this Riad as we saw all the positive comments on Tripadvisor and i must say we were not disappointed. Adam, the host, was fantastic, very helpful with tips of what to see, booking of taxis, how to get around etc. we stayed for 3 days and there was variety in breakfast servings, with awesome jams! The only negative i would say is its location, slightly away from the main area in the Medina (10 minutes walk), and surrounded by locals staying all around the Riad. While this is great in giving an authentic feel of the Medina, some people may feel intimidated by constant harassment by street kids asking for money to "help" provide you with guidance to your hotel, etc. After one experience, we decided to head back to the Riad before sunset each day as the streets get very dark at nightfall.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neoh69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

We really appreciated the kindness and friendliness of Adam and his father Mustapha, who arranged our desert trip and taxis to and from the airport. Nothing was too much trouble, including showing us the way to the souks on our first day, early breakfasts on a couple of mornings, tea and coffee on request, etc. We thought the room was delightful, and appreciated the peace and tranquility of the riad after the noise and bustle of the souks. We also enjoyed our two dinners at the riad, delicious home cooking and generous portions to a background of soothing classical music. Both Adam and his father were the perfect hosts.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra_John_BCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2010

Excellent riad providing first class accommodation,breakfast and evening meal. Adam, his father and the staff could not be more helpfull and considerate to your needs and wishes.Location is good,c;lose to Souks but difficult to find down narrow alleyways until you have done the return trip on foot two or three times!
Small Taxi from airport should be no more than 100 dirhams as opposed to the 200 charged by the grand Mercedes taxis.
Day tip to Atlas mountains organised by Adam was good. Road ends at site of waterfalls where you are encouraged to hire a guide to lead you through the cafes and onto the track to either of the seven falls. They can charge crazy rates . Guides are not needed, just follow everyone else!
Alcohol difficult to find in and around main square area but would recommend Cafe Arabe in Souk for a nice beer ,wine ,cocktail or meal on the roof terrace.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bassbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2010

The riad is really like being among friends from the first instant, when we were welcome very warmly. The rooms are very clean and wonderfully decorated. The riad is beautifull and the staff are nice and multilingual (French, English, Arab...) and the food is incrdibly good and abundant. The lady who was cooking for us is a fantastic local chef! You should only try to remember the way to and from Jma'l Fnaa, because the riad is in the laberynth of streets of the medina. You don't have to be afraid of this area in the night, beacause event it's quite dark it's very safety and there's no reasons to be afraid (the respect of the locals to the tourists is much more higher than in Europe!!). Just remember the intinerary to the centre and you will have an incredible experience!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikivoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geneva
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

The accommodations gave us a peek into how the locals live and a nearby taxi stand allowed easy access to other sites. As two females traveling alone, we appreciated Adams offer to meet us at the taxi queue but never felt threatened in any way in the area. All this and lovely clean rooms to boot. What more could one want?

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alegeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2010

We got lost on the way to the Riad, eventually giving in to calling to avoid any more hassle from the school kids who took us the wrong way! Adam came to our rescue, which was very much needed as this Riad is VERY well hidden away! This place has recently been renovated and decorated to a very high standard. The roof terrace and other communal areas as well as the rooms are spotless and very well equipped. Breakfast is fine. We did not eat there in the evening so can't comment on the food. It would have been nice to have been offered the chance to buy wine to drink on the terrace after a day out. The owner manager, Adam was very helpful and his hard work really makes this place such a great guest house.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dixie0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#85 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#110 of 495 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#74 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#58 of 495 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dar Crystal
Dar Crystal
#109 of 495 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#76 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Slawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Slawi

Property: Riad Slawi
Address: 92 Derb Ahmed el Borj | Sidi Ben Slimane, Kaa Sour, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#56 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#77 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Slawi 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Slawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Slawi Marrakech
Riad Slawi Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing