We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Marrakech and Aguaviva”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Aguaviva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Aguaviva
Ranked #6 of 1,130 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved Marrakech and Aguaviva”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

My wife and I just had 4 nights in Riad Aguaviva. The hotel has a wonderful atmosphere and all the rooms are beautiful and uniquely decorated, which sets this Riad apart from a normal hotel.
The staff: Cesc, Thais, Oti and Simo were extremely kind and helpful. Every morning we were given a program for the day with information about what to see. I’m sure that we saw many “secret” spots that we wouldn’t have seen otherwise. We were really feeling at home and part of the small “family” in the Riad.
The first day we thought the Riad was located a little far from the big market place, but we quickly realized that, if we stayed closer to the marked we wouldn’t see the less touristic and charming area around Barb el Khemis, where the Riad is located.
We really want to come back to Riad Aguaviva and we give it our highest recommendations.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrLar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
112
389
24
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Biarritz, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

My friends and I loved this place. It is a wonderful place. The rooms are beautiful and the atmosphere is perfect. Got so many good tips from the owners who were the perfect hosts. The furnishings are very authentic; I can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seb_Surf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

We had 4 nights at the riad, 3 of them with our daughter who arrived from Madrid. David and Manel were incredibly accommodating and although we had arranged for her to stay in our room, they gave her another lovely room to sleep in for 2 nights when it wasn't being used by other guests.
Also my husband got sick while we were there and our hosts were very helpful and made sure he was given what he needed and that my daughter and I had a suitable programme for the day that took into consideration the fact that we might want to check on him sometimes.
We had a good plan put forward for a 4 day car trip and then when we couldn't login to our bank account because our bank was merging with another, they were very understanding and let us pay our bill later.
Really, you can't get better hosts and I fully recommend the lovely riad.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julietsalisburymills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

Riad Aguaviva was a beautiful oasis of warmth, personality and luxury made even more appealing by it's unique and entertaining owners David and Manel. We loved every minute of our stay here and it was the perfect place to get back to after exploring the mayhem and magic of Marrakech. Their delightful guide and colleague Thais has an amazing feel for the buzzing medina and it was a joy to zip around it with her and look at David's secret map of Marrakech to see all the best "suggestions"!
If you want peace, beauty and luxurious comfort with a sprinkle of stardust this is definitely the place for you.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are wonderful here as they are themed...Just take pot luck and enjoy the creation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

There's a reason why Riad Aguaviva is number one on trip advisor - I simply couldn't imagine how you could better it. I've just spent 2 weeks travelling in Morocco with friends and family, and this was without question the highlight of our trip. The riad itself is incredibly beautiful, with well-appointed rooms, good location and wonderful breakfast; but the magic of the place is really about David, Manel and their wonderful team. What they've created is truly from the heart, and they can provide a magical, mysterious trip to Marrakech which simply wouldn't be possible via most hotels / riads. If you want luxury, magic, friendship, mystery and something that the guide books won't show you - go here! I realise I've used the word 'magical' several times - but that's it! Go, go, go! You'll have a wonderous, magical time and fall in love with the place and the people, as we did.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmeaton62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
246 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Spent 5 days, booked the entire Riad in Aug/Sept 2012. David and Manel are gentlemen, and are incredible hosts. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this magnificent Riad -- so gorgeous that I would list it almost as a tourist attraction in Marrakech. The rooms are wonderfully decorated and the charm is true to Marrakech. Our stay was magnificent. Unfortunately, several of our group were ill from gastroenteritis from before, and David and Manel even went out of their way to get oral rehydration salts, testament to the extent of their welcoming nature. The entire staff was kind, caring and attentive. 5/5, well deserving of its #1 ranking to date.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SugarSammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

We have just returned from a trip to Morocco and there is no doubt David, Manel, Thais and Simo made our time in Marrakech exceptional. David said the true Marrakech is hidden behind doors and indeed aguavivia is no exception. From the minute we arrived we felt comfortable and welcomed for even a short time into the life these native Barcelonians have built in this beautiful city. Thank you David for taking the time to understand the things we like when we travel..your suggestions were perfect and without Thais we would still be lost in the little warrens of the medina. Riad...gorgeous and comfortable, breakfast...unexpectedly delicious and abundant, hosts....warm, gracious and a lot of fun. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: While this riad is at the north end of the medina and not in the thick of things we did not find the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#3 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#9 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Adore
Riad Adore
#13 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#4 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Aguaviva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aguaviva

Property: Riad Aguaviva
Address: Sidi Ghanem, Derb Derraz 3 | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 1,130 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Riad in a traditional and quiet neighbourhood in the Medina. A place to relax after an exhausting day in Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riad Aguaviva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aguaviva Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing