We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem at the outskirts of the Medina”
Review of Riad Aguaviva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Aguaviva
Ranked #8 of 1,167 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2013

It has been a few months now and I finally have taken the effort to review this unique Riad which is within the Medina but close enough to the Medina wall to get out of the old city too.
The hospitality of the entire team was amazing. Cesc & Oti giving providing us with a personal experience by e.g. advising on where to go, drawing us maps on how to get there as well as the wonderful breakfast result in a refreshing customer focused experience all the other staff as well (Thais, Simo, Ibtisan & Sukain). The kitchen producing those delicious breakfasts and the decoration within the Riad are giving it a real identity too, esp. the paintings made by owner David.
That all on walking distance from all the big attractions and at such a reasonable price - try to book this place when visiting Marrakech!
Micha & Rose

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodTravelManiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (778)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 778 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2013

We spent 5 days in Marrakech and I am sure we will remember this holiday also for the warm welcome and the fantastic people we met at the Riad Aguaviva.
We enjoyed a lot the breakfast with home cooked specialities. A very special thank to Sara for her suggestions and the first tour in the old Medina.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Not far from the hustle and bustle of Baba Kashish on the northern tip of the old medina is a special oasis called the Riad Aguaviva. As one navigates the mazes of the old alleyways and attends to the over stimulation of noise, sounds, and smells, in the most unassuming 'hole in the wall' is the entry to Riad Aguaviva. We booked the entire Riad for a week and each day that we returned from adventures, our collective sense of immediate calm and relief was immediate as we stepped through the threshold of the Riad. The staff at the Riad was enthusiastic, passionate, and caring from the beginning of our stay to our early departure to the airport on our last day. Orientation to the medina, hospitality, food choice, story telling, and comforting weary travelers were undertaken with good cheer, humor, love, and care. The Riad Aguaviva has earned its reputation for being an outstanding home away from home.

Room Tip: Each room at the Riad has its own character. The online web site are accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LevGonick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed at the Riad for 1 week. It is a jewel hidden in the maze of alleyways of the old Medina. The staff bent over backwards to make sure we were comfortable, felt at home and were able to negotiate the wonderful craziness and enjoy the historic sites of Marrakesh. laundry was done, money was changed, trips arranged and local treats and refreshments were provided after long days in the markets. Cesc, Sarah, Aina and Simon Muhamed were gracious, warm, knowledgable, genuine,helpful and wonderful. We also learned about Catalan history and saw David's beautiful artwork on the walls of the Riad. We have travelled around the world and have never stayed in such a genuinely warm, welcoming and helpful environment. Thank you Cesc, David and Manel! Ted and Liza

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ted R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at Riad Aguaviva for our honeymoon. The service was exceptional and the staff were incredibly helpful and knowledgeable about Marrakech. The Riad itself is lovely too - we enjoyed home-cooked breakfasts each day by the pool, which helped prepare us for the craziness of the city. We were given a personal tour to the main square, Djemaa El Fna, so that we could learn to navigate the alleyways without getting lost. Their local knowledge is amazing and they will really go to any length to ensure your stay is enjoyable. They helped us with restaurant reservations and helped organise a day-trip for us to the Ourika Valley. I really can't recommend Riad Aguaviva enough!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth_N82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Words cannot express our gratitude for the wonderfully attentive and superb service we have received here. Many thanks to David and Manel and all their wonderful staff for the personal tours, recommendations and attention to detail. If you want a wonderful oasis of calm within an otherwise manic Marrakech, this is definitely the place to stay. Beautifully prepared breakfasts, mint teas and plenty of good company/hospitality. I cannot recommend highly enough. If you are considering, then do book!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank lorriek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Wow, what an amazing weekend. It was made all the more special with our fantastic hosts. Dinner on our first night was traditional Morrocan style, and every dish tasted great. Each morning we had breakfast on the sunny terrace, and what tasty treats they were.
The rooms were all beautifully decorated. There was a group of 6 of us, so got to see the other rooms too, each had it's own individual style.
If you are looking for a weekend getaway, with plenty of shopping the Moroccan way, I would throughily recommend the Riad Aguaviva

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 07Ness_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#10 of 501 in Marrakech
1,031 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#7 of 1,167 in Marrakech
670 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#4 of 1,167 in Marrakech
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#15 of 1,167 in Marrakech
581 reviews
0.9 mi away
Andalla Riad & Spa
Andalla Riad & Spa
#3 of 1,167 in Marrakech
161 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Badi
Riad Badi
#9 of 1,167 in Marrakech
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Aguaviva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aguaviva

Address: Sidi Ghanem, Derb Derraz 3 | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 1,167 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £60 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Riad in a traditional and quiet neighbourhood in the Medina. A place to relax after an exhausting day in Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Aguaviva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aguaviva Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing