We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved our stay ..”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Aguaviva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Aguaviva
Ranked #6 of 1,130 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Earth
1 review
“Loved our stay ..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

When you reach Marrakech old city, and start walking down its narrow twisted streets, you never imagine that an oasis can be hidden behind the walls. This is what you find out when the door of Riad Aguaviva opens. It is a cozy, ellegantly yet simply furnished Riad.
The staff are welcoming, pleasant, attentive to details and warm. The Riad was clean and neat. The rooms are of good space; very clean. I loved our bathroom. So much attention was placed in details and that works for me.
Breakfast was enough and tasty, the Riad made jams, esp carrot jam, are delicious! I even got a gift from the chef (carrot jam) when we were leaving the Riad.
The thing that amazed us the most, was seeing the staff explaining Merrakech's old streets and the sites to see with such detaild and light nature. They must have covered that a 100 times at least, got asked the same questions, yet are dedicated towards showing their guests the best of what to do/ and see.
My only comment was that the room had one window which opened at the inner veranda, we had our privacy but had to make a choice about opening the window for natural air circulation or just using the AC. We did both at various times.
I would recommend this place and if ever I go back to Merrakech, would stay at this Riad.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, clean and have AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rihab B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
112
389
24
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Folgaria, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

The gushing reviews of this Marrakesh riad say it all - and we'd say that they're all true! Our family were treated as royal guests, and our children are still talking about their experience at Aguaviva. The highlight for us was Simo's dinner - part cooking lesson and part Moroccan rooftop feast. Our two boys trailed him to the local butcher, the one stop tangia spice shop (complete with rent-a-claypot), and later on to the hammam, where our dinner was roasted in the communal fire. By far our best meal in Morocco (but be careful- Simo doesn't like to admit that he can cook).
David gave us the insider's guide to the city and beyond during his famous "morning show", Oti stayed up late to worry about our late night returns (and mixed a fabulous mojito as well), Sara orchestrated every shopping and food detail in Arabic and Manel conducted the well practiced teamwork from the background. A huge thanks to the Aguaviva family for making our visit perfect! We'll return, inshallah, Alex, Sandy, Addison & Liam

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozitalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Having just returned from our wonderful trip to Marrakech I can safely say that it wouldn't have been half as wonderful without the help and kindness of the lovely people at Riad Aguaviva. From the second we arrived, Manel, David, Oti, Sarah and Simo could not have been more helpful. The Riad is a beautiful oasis in the heart of the Medina and is perfectly located so that we got to know the real Marrakech as well as the usual tourist locations. When visiting somewhere as vibrant and often chaotic as Marrakech it is so important to have expert help and guidance and every single suggestion we were given by the Aguaviva family was so well thought out and exactly matched the type of holiday we wanted to have. They enjoy getting to know you and tailoring their suggestions to what they think will help you enjoy Marrakech to the maximum. Sarah was brilliant when it came to helping us negotiate the labyrinth of the Medina and by the end of the week we felt like we really knew our way around the place. As far as the Riad itself is concerned, the rooms and the communal areas are impeccably decorated and the food at breakfast is excellent, giving a real taste of Moroccan cuisine.

We genuinely do not have a single negative comment about the Riad and the people. An adopted family in our new favourite city of Marrakech! We will be back - and that's a promise!!

Ben and Hannah x

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

Beautiful place, beautiful people! So hospitable and kind!
The decor is very tasteful (the paintings done by one of the owners superb!), plenty of hot water, good amenities (the rose water especially!), rooms are of good size (maybe a wee bit narrow? but long, so it's compensated!) and the beds very comfortable. Cleanliness is impeccable and attention to detail their trademark. Breakfast is to die for, as their pastries (they said the best pastries in Marrakech are on Princess street, but they are wrong! Theirs are the best!). If I were to be picky, a closet in the room would have been great. They had some hooks to hang your clothes on the wall and a cabinet with shelves, but my husband enjoys wearing neat shirts and it's better of they have a closet. Also, a luggage rack would have been good to have when one unpacks..
Now for the really good part: the staff. They are amazing. If you really want to know Marrakech like a moroccan, you have to stay here. They will give you all the tips to see and try everything. It might be located a bit off the beaten path, but that is a good thing. You really get to know the whole city and not just the tourist parts. They walk you the first day (almost like a free tour on day one) and give you a fool proof map to get back to the riad. I get lost in an elevator and not once did I miss my way back. That's how good it is. It's about a 15-20 min walk to Place Jemaa el Fna and a 5 min walk to a bus stop that leaves you at Place Jemaa el Fna, so no problem with location. If, and only if, you really walk a lot on your vacations and then you come back to the hotel for a quick shower and change to go back out to dinner, well, then maybe you need a place located closer to all the noise, but remember you wont get all the good restaurant tips they have!
We were in Marrakech for four days and we felt at home from day one. We were greeted with mint tea and pastries every afternoon and talked about what we did and recommended what we could do the next. Marrakech was much more enjoyable thanks to Agua Viva!
Thank you Oti, Sara and Simo (especially Simo for indulging my whims during breakfast!) and congratulations David and Manel on such a lovely riad. We will be back. We promise!

Room Tip: We had the maps room. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faraway46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Thank you so much to Cesc, Juan and Sarah. Sarah your English is excellent, you put our Spanish to shame. You are all amazing. The maps and information you provided were excellent. Cesc special thanks for taking us out on the first evening, it was really great. I am so pleased I could help with the literature and the furniture! The restaurants you recommended were excellent and quite local. Our room was very comfortable and clean. The breakfasts were just lovely, home made jams, fresh orange juice with the traditional food - superb. We shall definitely return.
Muchas gracias amigos!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

You'll never chance upon Riad Aguaviva, it's tucked away down a very low ceilinged alley with no signage, but you'll be really glad you sought it out. It's an oasis of calm in the madness of Marrakech, yet still only about 15 - 20 minutes from Jemaa el Fnaa.
Sara, Oti, Simo and Cesc simply cannot do enough for you - Sara took us out on our first afternoon and walked us through the Medina, through a myriad of labyrinthine souks, pointing out reference points and way points, and out to Jemaa el Fnaa; then she let us find our own way back. And it's a brilliant way to orient yourself! Because of this we packed as much into our first afternoon as I expected to in our whole time there.
Breakfast, up on the terrace, begins the day with a casual chat and an outline of a suggested route and things to do, Sara annotating the map with hints, tips and guidance. We were good students and didn't go 'off piste' much but the grounding we got made us feel confident enough to step out on our own path every now and then.
As I said, Sara and co cannot do enough for you - my wife was unwell and they looked after her, letting us stay in our room after checkout and even bringing her something simple to eat and drink while we waited for our cab.
It's a lovely atmosphere staffed by friendly, caring people. Go there and have a fabulous time - we did.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

It has been a few months now and I finally have taken the effort to review this unique Riad which is within the Medina but close enough to the Medina wall to get out of the old city too.
The hospitality of the entire team was amazing. Cesc & Oti giving providing us with a personal experience by e.g. advising on where to go, drawing us maps on how to get there as well as the wonderful breakfast result in a refreshing customer focused experience all the other staff as well (Thais, Simo, Ibtisan & Sukain). The kitchen producing those delicious breakfasts and the decoration within the Riad are giving it a real identity too, esp. the paintings made by owner David.
That all on walking distance from all the big attractions and at such a reasonable price - try to book this place when visiting Marrakech!
Micha & Rose

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodTravelManiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#3 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#9 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Adore
Riad Adore
#13 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#4 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Aguaviva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aguaviva

Property: Riad Aguaviva
Address: Sidi Ghanem, Derb Derraz 3 | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 1,130 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Riad in a traditional and quiet neighbourhood in the Medina. A place to relax after an exhausting day in Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riad Aguaviva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aguaviva Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing