We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding! An absolute must stay!!!”
Review of Riad Aguaviva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Aguaviva
Ranked #8 of 1,160 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

I never normally get round to writing reviews but this is one I really must write.

What an amazing Riad. All the rooms are fabulously decorated, comfortable and beautiful. Location wise Aguaviva is tucked away in the North of the Medina, just far enough away from the hustle and bustle to give you some calm after a hectic day. It's close to some amazing restaurants (Le Fondouk and Dar Donah are a couple) and just a 20 minute stroll from the main square. Perfect location.

But this is not the main reason for recommending staying here; that is the incredible staff!! From the minute you arrive you are welcomed into the heart of your new Morroccan family. Sara and Oti and the rest of the staff are just amazing. They will orientate you through the Medina and provide guidance and maps to ensure you don't lose your way. Sara genuinely loves her job and is truly passionate about the city! She walked with us for two hours through the alleyways and streets, through the souks to the square, all the time explaining landmarks to remember and showing us hidden secrets behind the closed doors of Marrakech. Absolutely nothing stands in the way of them ensuring your stay is as memorable as it can possibly be. They will find out from you what your interests are and help you plan each day of your trip if you want them to. Each day we were guided through new things to do and see and not once did we get lost or feel unsure of where we where.

Their recommendations for restaurants and things to see and do were spot on and we were able to walk everywhere confidently using just their maps and guidance.

We had dinner at the Riad on our last night and it was really magical. The table was set under the stars with Morroccan candles and strewn with rose petals and the food was amazing! It was one of the best meals we had during our stay. Simo definitely makes the best Tanjia in Marrakech!!

We will be back in Marrakech soon and I already know exactly where we will be staying!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Mindiemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (772)
There are newer reviews for Riad Aguaviva
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 772 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at Riad Aguaviva for three nights at the start of a recent tour of Morocco. It is a truly beautiful riad but what makes it really, really special is the staff. David, Sara, Oti and Simo were all wonderful (Manel was in Spain at the time of our trip). All seemed to know what we wanted before we did. Nothing was too much trouble. All communications before (and after - more of this later) were dealt with promptly and efficiently and in a really friendly way.

They arranged for our transport from the airport and the second the car parked up in the Medina, Simo was on hand to bring us the couple of minutes walk to the Riad. We had asked if it would be possible for some food when we arrived as we knew we were not going to feel like trying to find a restaurant at the time of night we arrived. The food was better than any we had elsewhere in Marrakech (and very reasonably priced). Breakfasts too were wonderful. Sara brought us down to the main square the following morning and ensured that we would always be able to find our way back (she was also great fun to be with and seemed to know everything about the city). David was an absolute font of information and recommended places to see (in Marrakech and elsewhere) that we wouldn't have found without him and for which we will always be grateful.

All that said however, the thing that is most indicative of my feelings about this place is my complete lack of worry when a potential disaster happened. We managed to leave our passports in the safe - how stupid is that! We only remembered them about four hours out of Marrakech and our driver phoned the riad immediately. I don't know who he spoke to but whoever it was checked that they were still there and promised to keep them secure until we could collect them after our tour. At no point did I feel worried that anything would happen. Once I knew they were there, I knew they were safe.

All I can say is that when we go back to Marrakech we will stay at Riad Aguaviva. I wouldn't dream of looking elsewhere. I really can't recommend it more highly than that.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayfairy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I would recommend this riad wholeheartedly to anyone visiting Marrakech for the first time. After a guided tour on the first evening, we were able to find our way around the city for the next few days with ease! Having got to know us personally on the first evening, Sara, David and Manel were exceptional in helping us plan our days, ensuring that we visit all of the necessary highlights and hidden off-the-track gems. They made sure we ate well, reserving us seats at beautiful restaurants, ensures we were truly relaxed after booking us into a stunning hammam and taught us the tricks of bartering for cheap souk deals and low taxi fares. In addition to all of this, the riad and our room were both beautifully decorated and exceedingly homely, much needed after a day of Marrakesh trekking. Thank you Sara, David and Manel for your wonderful hospitality, friendly faces and top rate advice. We hope to see you again!
Matt and Emily

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mtcki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013


If you are looking for a hotel you can reach by taxi right to the doorstep, this place is not for you (though I would recommend booking a transfer, at least when arriving and while you've not developed your orientation skills). The ever so enthusiastic staff are more than willing to supply you with a very useful map of their own and walk the medina with you so you successfully identify the landmarks you need to navigate the old town. They will offer you invaluable advice about sights, entertainment and shopping, but nevertheless you will have an adventurous feeling, as the riad is located on the north of the medina, and you'll have the chance to visit the authentic souqs and streets, whereas most tourists do not venture farther than Djmal el-Fnaa. Actually, one could just hop on a plane for Marrakech without knowing anything about the city, and leave it to the lads in Aguaviva to best organise your time there, regardless of how many nights you are spending. And if you are also travelling somewhere else in the country, I'd leave the artefact shopping until you've heard where they recommend you to go.
The riad is a familiar (though not necessarily family oriented) hotel with only 6 rooms, small but tastefully decorated. Breakfast is in air conditioned jaima tent in the terrace, and you can go for a dip in the pool in the centre of the patio after a long hot day.
Sara, Manel and Mohammed (we only got to know David by his fine paintings) are the most helpful and enthusiastic staff we've found anywhere else.
Muchas gracias, chicos.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I joined TripAdvisor just to write this review. You should not stay anywhere else in Marrakech. David, Manel and team take such fantastic care of you it's unbelievable - I'm not sure I would've enjoyed Marrakech as much had it not been for them. When you arrive, they will discuss your itinerary with you, and find out whether you'd like their help/recommendations. First, they will get you oriented in the medina which is a really big deal. They have spent years making their own map of the medina, where they mark off certain "landmarks" so you know whether you are going the right way or not -- this is a HUGE help as it is incredibly easy to get totally lost and not in a fun way. They will go out with you (if you want) each morning of your trip and walk you to a different part of the medina and show you their markers on the map and in real life. They will teach you a lot about the culture and tell you stories about the various shops and locations. And then they will leave you to find your way back. One of the best things about going on a walk with them is that they know their neighbors well, and when they take you out, you minimize the amount of people that will haggle you. They will also take you to see a real souk, that locals shop at, versus the very touristy one. They will find you the best restaurants for what you want - super fancy, mid range, local and cheap - the options are endless. And they are amazing hosts - they will sit and chat with you in the evenings and take fantastic care of you--it's like hanging out with friends. Breakfasts by the way, are super delicious. I've truly never had a better experience at any hotel or B&B ever before. All the rooms have their own a/c. David and Manel have Apple and Mac product chargers that you can borrow if you need them. And they will help you decide what you should and shouldn't do with your time in Marrakech - they will also tell you what you should tell taxis you are willing to pay. I have to say I was really dubious about getting transfers from the train station and over email, David was pretty clear that he thought it would be a mistake to forgo the offer. Turns out he was exactly right, I don't know how we would have found the place without him. These guys know what they're doing and they take excellent care of you.

Room Tip: Smara room worked out great for us! Very romantic and comfortable!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We were a group of 9 seasoned travellers who made our way to Morocco for a birthday bash. Marrakech can be a crazy and overwhelming place to land, but we loved every minute of it. A key feature of this was our stay at Riad Aguaviva.
Aside from being a truly beautiful building, the service we received was simply outstanding. The riad is around 15 mins meandering north of the main square, which means that you need to walk through authentic Marrakech before arriving at the tourist heart. We all agreed that this was a real plus as we saw (and smelt!) the city as it truly was.
Aguaviva is a gem of a place. Classily decorated with a glorious plunge pool and cool inviting interiors. The breakfasts were plentiful and different each morning, with sweet orange juice and delicious coffee flowing plentifully on the rooftop terrace.
As we were such a big party we stayed in pretty much every room and each was carefully appointed with lovely furniture and stylish objects.
To be fair though, despite the loveliness of the building, it was the magnificent service that really stayed with us. Manel, David and their team couldn't have been more attentive. Each day they suggested things for us to do and then went out of their way to ensure that we were having a good time. This sort of hospitality is very rare and we were made to feel very special guests because of their kindness. Sara was a real gem, an attentive hostess with great ideas and an infectious laugh, who made our stay all the better.
It's little wonder this place gets such a great write up on Tripadvisor. It deserves it. Now I have stayed I can see what the fuss is about and it's all warranted. This riad is one of a kind and if you want a luxurious but affordable stay in Marrakech anytime soon, then get booking. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drewmqSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

That´s it. What they do for us is priceless. In the first day one of the owners guided us in the labirintic streets of Marrakech, with maps and references so that we wouldn´t lose in the next days (nevertheless it is impossibile not to lose at least once, specially in the souks - everything is similar). Every morning a fantastic breakfast and a briefing about what we should visit, eat, see, smell, listen and feel was freely given. They know Marrakech from the inside and they taught us that. We went to places that we didn´t find in any turist site, we ate very well and cheap in amazing places, we entered in closed doors we would never had the courage to push, we experienced the differences between a souk for locals, for tourists and for wealthy people, thanks to them...Oh, that´s true the riad is beautiful and our room was movie like.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joao P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.3 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 502 in Marrakech
157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 502 in Marrakech
1,718 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 502 in Marrakech
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#3 of 1,160 in Marrakech
685 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#16 of 1,160 in Marrakech
560 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#5 of 1,160 in Marrakech
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Aguaviva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aguaviva

Address: Sidi Ghanem, Derb Derraz 3 | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 1,160 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £55 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Riad in a traditional and quiet neighbourhood in the Medina. A place to relax after an exhausting day in Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad Aguaviva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aguaviva Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing