We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look no further!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Aguaviva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Aguaviva
Ranked #6 of 1,130 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Look no further!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

If you spend as much time researching places to stay as I do, look no further. The Riad Aguaviva is your place.

The riad itself is stunning. Fear not the dark underground path to the entrance, for when the front door opens, you find yourself peering into a small paradise: an indoor plunge pool with rose petals, palms, couches, pillows and the sounds of birds. It is nothing short of gorgeous. Rooms above look down to the pool. Above the rooms is a rooftop terrace which is a lovely place to sun, write, think, rest, enjoy.

It's hard to describe how much owners Migel and David, and their staff, go out of their way to make your visit perfect. On arrival, after a traditional mint tea, they take you on a tour of the Medina with a map that highlights key landmarks. By the end of the tour, you are the master of the Medina, capable of navigating your way to the Djemma El Fna (15-20 mins) alone, with confidence. Breakfast on the terrace is marvelous. A new local specialty is served each day. The staff provides a "map a day" do-it-yourself tour to see the key sites in the city. They will tailor this to your taste. Want to try a hammam? They'll reserve it. Interested in a new restaurant? They'll book it. Driving directions? Rental car? Recommendations on your route? They do it all.

I highly recommend this riad for your stay in Marrakesh. It will not disappoint.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaGiraffina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
112
389
24
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Riad Aguqviva is a real gem, an oasis of tranquility amidst the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. We stayed in beautifully decorated Sultana room. Lovely property is not only what makes Riad Aguaviva such a wonderful place to stay, it is the instant welcome, the feeling of being properly looked after, the effort that Manel, David, Oti, Sara, Simo Alba and Ibtissam & Sukaina put into making you feel completely at ease both inside the Riad and also in the city. With free guided trip around the Medina, David special map and great recommendations, the team really make your holiday something special. We also enjoined a lovely New Year Eve with Spanish community gathered in Riad. Thank you for grapes!!!!!
Each day began with fresh breakfast on the rooftop terrace with something different every morning, always cooked beautifully and complimented by fresh bread, orange juice a variety of spreads...lot of coffee, thank you Simo!!!
David would help us plan each day after breakfast, tailoring his suggestions to what we wanted to achieve during our stay and providing the necessary directions, tips and hand drawn map to guide us through the day. Simo was making reservations for dinners in lovely places.
The Riad is immaculate, beautiful and peaceful … the team as welcoming, helpful and warm as you could wish for throughout your stay … and its location in north Marrakesh gives you an insight into Moroccan working life. If you want somewhere personal and comfortable then this is the place to stay. Thank you Riad Aguaviva.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivanat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We find it very hard to believe that anyone would rate Aguaviva less than perfect. All the positive comments you read about this Riad are true. We had read these reviews and so expected a lot, but still were overwhelmed by the actual experience. The rooms and common areas are stunningly beautiful. We stayed in the Sultan room, which seems to come right out of the stories from the thousand and one nights. Breakfast was superb, the location great, but the thing that really makes this Riad stand out is its staff. These people will do anything to make your stay unforgettable. They manage to create a unique haven in the frantic city of Marrakech.

So, if you are lucky enough to be able to get a room in this Riad, don’s hesitate to book it. You won’t regret it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Movemania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

I was about to write my rave review when I read the review titled "Overpriced and overrated". That review is, in my view, not only unfair but in many respects inaccurate. For this reason I am inclined to agree with the owners (who commented on the review) that it is unlikely that the reviewer ever stayed at the accommodation.

We (my husband and my thirteen year old daughter) were also booked in the Mappas room. Although, on our arrival, we were offered the room next door for our daughter (as it had since become available and, I might add, at no extra cost), the Mappas room is in fact more than big enough to accommodate an extra adult sized bed. In fact an extra bed could also have been fitted (admittedly at a bit of a squeeze) in the room in which my daughter stayed.
The rooms of the riad are not only beautifully and individually decorated but every detail has been thought through - from the toothpaste sachets in the bathroom to proper highpowered hairdryers to decent bedside reading lamps. The common areas are gorgeous and showcase David's masterpiece paintings which are featured in many galleries and private homes. Whilst neither the bedrooms or the common areas can be described as "big", it must be remembered that this is a private home in the ancient medina of Marrakech where space is much sought after. It can hardly be expected that such accommodation is going to be large or spacious.

The location is superb - a short walk to the square but distant enough to be out of the frenzy of the center of the medina. For the first time during our two weeks in Morocco I did not wake to the calls of the Imaan. I am a particularly light sleeper and I was no no way disturbed during our four nights at Aguaviva.

What is particularly unfair about John P's review is the fact that he does not do the service at this riad any justice. My husband and I have traveled extensively and stayed in some superb and expensive accommodation in a variety of destinations and I can say, without qualification, that the service offered by the staff and the owners is the best we have ever experienced. From the moment that we arrived our every wish was taken care of. The trip of the medina with Sara (to ensure that we knew the way back) was more like a personalised guided tour. Every morning David painstakingly put together an individualised itinerary (and hand drawn map) taking into account our likes and dislikes. Thanks to the staff's recommendations we experienced Marrakech as only an insider would - we saw the interiors (which are always hidden from the outside) of many private riads, souks, restaurants and galleries which we would never have visited with a guide. In fact whereas we had arranged a guide in each place we had visited in Morocco, we felt no need to do so in Marrakech.

So - to sum up - if space is important I suggest that you do not stay in the medina in Marrakech but rather find an expensive hotel outside in the new area. But if its well located accommodation, a "beautifully appointed room", good value and unrivaled service that you are after then do not hesitate to stay at Riad Aguaviva.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riad A, Propietario at Riad Aguaviva, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
All Aguaviva team thanks you for supporting our work.
Our guests know that Riad Aguaviva is more than a riad to stay.

Thank you Louise, Angie and Russell
We hope to welcome you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I was curious, at first, what it took to be the #3 Riad (at the time of our visit) out of more than 1400 in the City of Marrakech. Truthfully, the ranking only scratched at the surface of how perfect our stay became.

We arrived in Marrakech and chose the transfer option directly to the Riad - our flight was about an hour late, but the driver waited patiently and greeted warmly - and had a nice trip right to the front of the Riad. After some ducking and winding, we found ourselves in one of the most beautiful properties we've ever stayed - truly an oasis in the midst of (what we learned) the Marrakech madness.

After checking into the Smara room (which is as beautiful, if not more so, than the pictures on the website describe), we were led on a thorough tour through the Medina with David, one of the Riad's owners. His tour was a game changer for our stay - as we winded in and out, noting points of interest to come back to later (no pressure to buy anything or even linger if not interested), David pointed out our location along hand drawn (literally drawn that AM for us) and tourist maps - so we could always find our way back and get the most out of our stay. We saw so much more than we had ever planned - even after hours and hours of research before we arrived. Such a great value.

Our interaction with this amazing Riad didn't end with checking out, though. After sharing our plans for the rest of our Moroccan adventure, the owners helped tailor the rest of our trip to get the most out of it too - helping us rent a great little car at a good price, pick out some restaurants at our next destination, see some sights along the way, and even a different Riad on our last night after returning to Marrakech (as they had no availability - it's a popular place!). It was more than we could have ever expected: to have a "home away from home" while travelling abroad. Just wow.

Some nitty gritty: breakfast is delicious, a good portion, and served on the tranquil rooftop terrace. The rooms are gorgeous - amazing clean, comfortable, and roomy enough to be very happy. The place is quiet, a welcome change from the medina. Jemaa El Fna is a 15 minute walk (at most) from the Riad, and we preferred it that way - the walk is awesome, filled with culture, nice people, and delicious food. It's also easy to get a taxi right down the street.

Listen to the owners. They have amazing recommendations, and will make your trip so much better.

Literally, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
232 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband, myself and our 2 teen boys stayed for 4 nights. Both rooms were very clean, spacious and comfortable. The owners and staff were so welcoming and kind. We were quite unsure of ourselves and they really made everything as easy as possible (arranged transportation to and from airport, showed us around, made dinner reservations, showed us where to get taxi etc). The breakfast was delicious and different every day. One night they made dinner for us-absolutely delicious-it was one of our favorite meals.

The place is filled with kindness and creative energy. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJBBMOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

My husband and I spent 7 lovely nights here. The owners and staff all did all they could to make our stay a very memorable experience. We were treated like part of the family rather than just more tourists. The room was very pleasant; we stayed in the Baraka room which had the advantage of having a very big bath - with room for two. Breakfasts were a highlight with something different every day. We also loved the recommendations for sightseeing and restaurants and these certainly helped to make our stay an enjoyable experience. We would not have found some of the restaurants recommended or the more local Marrakesh without their help.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshfordBan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#3 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#9 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Adore
Riad Adore
#13 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#4 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Aguaviva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aguaviva

Property: Riad Aguaviva
Address: Sidi Ghanem, Derb Derraz 3 | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 1,130 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Riad in a traditional and quiet neighbourhood in the Medina. A place to relax after an exhausting day in Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riad Aguaviva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aguaviva Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing