We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definately Some Issues Read all the reviews before you book”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad des Eaux et Spa
Ranked #157 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgewater MA
Level Contributor
146 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Definately Some Issues Read all the reviews before you book”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

I read the reviews and I booked it on Expedia. I had them call and ensure that the hotel staff spoke English and since I was traveling solo I wanted to be able to rely on them to book shows or local tourist attractions. For the negatives, The staff couldn't have been any nicer but they do not speak English fluently. There was no way I could have them book attractions for me. I booked the smallest room which was fine but the broken toilet which leaked and was not pleasant smelling was a problem. They apparently don't take credit cards but are more than willing to take cash in any currency. The positives breakfast is included and great, the massage was wonderful, the staff were super, the room aside from the constantly leaking toilet was kept clean, the location amazing, the rate was reasonable. I think the location is worth it if you decide to upgrade your room and don't rely on the staff to provide information on local attratctions.

Room Tip: upgrade your room. do not book unless you speak french
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katlat29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    39
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
28
89
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

This has been a difficult review to write as the Riad des Eaux was a great place to stay but we had some serious customer service let downs that have deflated the rating I would otherwise have given. Let me explain.
On arrival we were picked up by car as arranged by the Riad and arrived OK. So far so good. After waiting for 20 minutes for the manager to arrive we were told we were to be taken to a bigger room. A guy arrived picked up our bag and told us to follow him. Before we knew it we were being marched through the souk and after a few minutes arrived at another Riad. I asked for an explanation as to what was happening and were told that they were full and we were to stay here instead. At first my complaints were brushed off as "not my problem, I didn't take your booking" After some heated negotiation it was agreed we would stay one night and then return to the Riad des Eaux the next day for the rest of our 5 night stay. Not the best start to our trip.

The remainder of our trip proved good. The riad is very conveniently located. It was clean, tidy and the rooms were well appointed. We enjoyed a hamam in the spa and the breakfast was good but pretty basic.

On the last day I was presented with the bill and told that the credit card machine was broken so I would have to pay by cash. In addition I queried the extra 250 DH that had been added to the total but wasn't on the bill. This was for the airport transfer. Well after a week in Marrakech I was well aware that this was at least double what I could negotiate a Taxi for probably 5 times as much as a local would pay. The staff member became quite rude and said that he has confirmed the price to me by e-mail and he would prove it. He brought up my previous e-mails but of course the price had never been mentioned. After pointing out the trouble and aggravation of having to move rooms and the credit card machine being "broken" He finally agreed to reduce the transfer fee to 150DH. The whole experience left a bitter taste and was such a shame as the place itself was nice.

My advice if staying here.
Be aware that the credit card machine will probably be "broken" so keep some cash in reserve.
Don't book an airport transfer unless you can agree a price in advance. Haggle hard for a Petit Taxi from the airport instead.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

This riad is run by helpful, friendly and professional staff who made our 3-day stay very comfortable, telling us to treat is as we would our home. We had booked one of the smallest rooms but it was very nice and well-kept. Breakfast was excellent and we were able to eat on the roof terrace which is surprisingly peaceful considering the proximity to the main square bustle. The whole riad is a peaceful escape from the fast pace of the city.
The location was excellent - but warning, hard to find so arrange with the riad for a pick-up or pay a local to show you the way. However, you don't have to go through the souks to get to it like another riad we stayed in, so finding it again is very easy. It's less than 5 minutes from the main square and a few minutes in the other direction to the palaces and other attractions. We were greeted with a mint tea and left to relax whilst the room was prepared.
Would definitely stay here again on another visit to Marrakech. Did not take advantage of the spa but it looked well equipped and there were always staff around to show it to you.

Room Tip: The Zen room - small but well-kept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BreezyHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

We stayed for 4 nights from the 9th of may 2011. We opted to be picked up from the airport by a taxi sent by road we were then met by a member of staff who walked us down the little winding streets to the road des eaux. We were greeted with refreshing mint tea and then given a full guided tour of riad showing all five beautiful rooms. We stayed in the roof top suite and couldn't fault it. The only negative was the tv was out of use but that wasn't an issue for us. We both had hammans and full body massages which were exceptional value for money, as were the fabulous coffees we had on the roof top terrace. We enjoyed fresh tasty yet simple breakfast every day . The peace and quite of the riad contrasted with the hustle and bustle of the square which is literally a street away. I can't wait to return thankyou all

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelsbelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

I staied in Riad Des Eaux (Suite Des Eaux) in April 2011.

PROS:
The staff are very helpfull and friendly.
The room was very clean.
Location is good, very central (3min walk from Place Jmaa el Fna), in the first time it could be a little bit tricky to find the Riad, but once you find it, you wouldn t be lost. You can ask to a local where the Riad is (but in the end you have to give him a coin).
Breakfast is simple, but good, is served anytime you like.
The Room (Suite Des Eaux) is very spacy and could be there 4 persons. They have a little fridge in the room and Air conditioning. Plenty of windows.
They have a little SPA area.
Roof Top Terrace.

CONS:
Awake every day at 5am with the Pray Calls from Medina (Megaphones) that lasts 10min, because i staied in the Top Roof Suite, but i think in the other rooms didn t hear that.
They have free Wifi (but i couldn t use it inside the room, i have to get out the room to access web - common areas).
Satellite TV didn t work (but ok, in Marrakech you have plenty of things to do).
The Bath area is inside the Room (Suite Des Eaux), next to the bed, so if you go with friends it could be a little bit awkward to take bath. but If you go in a couple it s OK and could be romantic. The toilet area is separated (with door).

The room that like most was the Room Minérale, really amazing, it s smaller than the Suite, but have separate spaces for Bathroom/Room.
The Moucharabieh Room is also great with separate bathroom BUT without door for that. Rooms Zen are the smallest one, but they are nice and have a curtain to separate the bath/room.

I RECOMMEND this RIad.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Broka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

My friend and I stayed in the riad des eaux et spa in February 2011. The hosts were incredibly helpful and accommodating, always making sure we had what we needed - thank you! We were concerned communication could be an issue as we don't speak French, but there were no real problems. Breakfast was delicious, the free wifi was very useful and the massage in the spa was relaxing and fairly reasonably priced. I did not have the hammam but heard good reports of it from other guests.
The riad is beautiful with a lovely courtyard. Despite its central location (a 2 minute walk from the Djemaa El Fna) it is very quiet inside.
The only slight downside is the room we stayed in was on the small side and had a bit of a damp smell, and the shower/toilet area was separated from the bedroom with just a curtain - unlikely to be a problem for couples or family but potentially awkward for friends travelling together.
Overall it is a lovely riad and great value for money, but what made it really special was the kindness of the hosts. I highly recommend this riad to everyone!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lblace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

This hotel is very central and perfect for those who plan to spend most of their time in the Medina. It is 2min walk from the main square and 5 min walk from the Palais Bahia. Once you walk in the Riad you forget all about the chaos outside and enjoy the peace and quite.

The hotel is very clean and the owner made sure everything was perfect for our stay. He couldn't have been more helpful.

There is free wi-fi with very good connection in the common areas. In our room we could connect if we stood close to window - not a problem

Breakfast is served anytime you like and while it is very basic it was very good

The Riad has 4 rooms and we booked one of the 2 small ones for 150euros for 3 nights. It was definitely good value. The room is on the small side and there is only a curtain between the bathroom/toilet and bedroom. This was not an issue for us but might be uncomfortable if you are sharing the room with a friend.

There are also 2 other rooms that are more expensive but lovely with a seperate toilet room and a seperate shower room and much more space. I think they also have 4 poster beds.

We had a hamman at the Riad and we were very pleased. The girl couldn't have been nicer.

Definitely would recommend this lovely Riad and its helpful staff and owner.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twanny1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#113 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Hamdane et SPA
Riad Hamdane et SPA
#287 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#112 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#69 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#205 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Palais des Princesses
Riad Palais des Princesses
#167 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad des Eaux et Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad des Eaux et Spa

Property: Riad des Eaux et Spa
Address: 24 Derb Lakhadar Riad Zitoun Lakdim | Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#87 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#105 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#185 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad des Eaux et Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The RIAD DES EAUX ET SPA has an excellent location, being at walking distance from the Very famous Jam el F'na and the city's major attractions. Yet, inside the Riad you will find a quiet and pleasent atmosphere! Each of our rooms has a private bathroom with shower, and some even have a bath tube. Our goal is to satisfy all of our custumors' needs by providing toileteries, hair dryers, locks, TV and minifridge. All these conforts are Found in all of our rooms. Our confortable beds will make you feel at home. We give to our costumers all our profetionality and abilities, with dedication and a maximum of attention. In addition to that, our Riad also features what we see as an angle of Paradise: our Spa. Inside our traditonal hammam, you will experience a truly magical moment. Try the black soap eucaliptus gommage, the gassoul masc and end by a Relaxing massage done with the nutritious argan oil. Our breakfasts are prepared every morning with fresh and healthy products, and are abundant and savourly. If requested, it is even possible to degustate some of our cuisine for dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad des Eaux et Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Des Eaux Et Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing