We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but low care, all depends on which room you choose, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad des Eaux et Spa
Ranked #158 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2013

ROOMS: really different even if the price is more or less the same. Pay attention, there are two "standard" that are so small that you can't even open your luggages, and have the wc really close to the bed with just a tent to separate it. The superiors are beautiful and spacious and deserve a stay.
LELEV OF SERVICE: very low in terms of accuracy. We spent there 4 days and there was always a lot of noise, with attendants and directors shouting all the time to talk each others from different floors and at the phone. When we arrived our room was not available becuase they gave it to another client by mistake, and we had to move to another riad for the first night. Unacceptable.
POSITION: great, just 50 m from the big square. The riad is inside the souk. Note that is much easier to access from the square rather than from the opposite side of the street, which is much more distant (but taxis leave you there, maybe because that way you have to pay local people to help you with the luggages).
SPA: we had a 30 minutes massage but I would not recommend it. The dedicated room was really cold and we found much higher quality in other hamman & spa in the city.

Room Tip: Is a must to choose: Room Minerale, Room Moucharabieh or the Suite Des Eaux. Avoid Room Zen Double o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GG_ItalyVicenza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2013

Upon arrival we were welcomed with mint tea & pastries and a demand for more money!
We had paid for our holiday in full at the time of booking and had a receipt which confirmed this. They insisted that we had to pay another 25 dirhams per person per night as a local "tax", previous reviewers have commented on this. On reading the notice in the room it appears to be the commission which the hotel pays to the booking agents. At the end of our stay they did not ask for the money as we had made our position clear. The description of the riad showed satellite tv, only the cables were present in the room. There were 3 hair driers to service all the rooms which took a number of requests to obtain. The staff were friendly but if you are expecting modern hotel standards this is not for you. There were no facilities to make a hot drink and the safe was small and easily portable & not even secured to the wardrobe shelf. The bed was the hardest and most uncomfortable we have encountered anywhere and the slope made it evident that the mattress had not been turned for some time. Washbasins were cracked and the plumbing basic, the taps were more like valves and the spouts were bent copper pipe The room was dark and the rugs faded. The positive is the location within a couple of hundred metres of the main square however this means a long trundle down alleys with the cases avoiding mopeds.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Dec 2012 we had the junior suite for four nights. The room was lovely looking with two sofas, sunken bath/shower, mini fridge and tv with satellite. There were also built in wardrobes and plenty of cupboard space.

Location was fantastic, three mins walk to the main square and all its attractions and despite being in the middle of the city it was remarkably peaceful and relaxing.

We didn't eat at the hotel; apart from breakfast which was the standard Moroccan fare of hard boiled eggs, fruit juice, yoghurt and an assortment of bread based products and preserves.

Reception area and courtyard were very pretty and the spa area looked nice and smelled wonderful. Hammam and various treatments were available but hubby and I are not too keen so didn't try them.

The roof terrace was furnished with a couple of loungers, plenty of low chairs and tables and a high table we used to play cards in the morning sun.

Wifi didn't work in the room but if you put your wifi device on the open widow sill it worked fine or better still sat on the rooftop terrace.

The pool is on the ground floor, behind the courtyard and is very small, more of a plunge pool than for swimming. We didn't fancy a dip as there were only upholstered chairs in the courtyard to sit and dry off on. So we guessed you had to walk, dripping wet back to your room. No fun with a winding uneven stone staircase but the pool did look very attractive.

Likes:

Location
Sunken shower
Large bright and airy room
Roof terrace

Dislikes:

Incredibly hard bed that was dome shaped
Only one plug for TV or Satellite neither work without the other but I don't think the satellite works anyway

Room Tip: Standard rooms looked very small with the bed pushed against the wall and little walking around room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilsongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Great and friendly Raid, two minutes away from the main square. Brilliant location. An oasis of calm. Very attentive and friendly service. Food amazing. Each mornign we were served fresh orange juice, bolied egg, youghurt, crepes and Moroccan bread with butter and jam. On our last night we ate a meal the Raid we had ordered a tangine but they brought out a 3 course meal of fresh salad an melon and grapes for afterwards. The riad also has a massage parlour and I had a really good massage! The staff do speak some English , was really useful that I spoke French too! Definitely recommend a stay.

Room Tip: Have a massage and a meal at the Riad! Excellent service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClaireSpain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Lets start with the location - if you want earthy, local experience then this has it all - inaccessible by car, a chap with a wheelbarrow took our luggage down the side streets, the last being too narrow to get down other than on foot. A 5 minute walk from the main square - great in the day, if you dodge the mopeds, but a bit scary at night and I could have done without being offered hash for the umpteenth time outside the riad. The welcome couldn't be faulted and we had a lovely cup of tea before being given the "tour". It's rustic. The 'pool' we were shown was marginally bigger than 3 domestic baths shoved together. The place was clean and tidy enough. The roof terrace was compact shall we say but it looked all very lovely. Our room was just not for us - I think we had looked at the better room pics on this site and assumed that they would all be as nice - the WC and bath (the interior of which was mud brown in colour) were separated from the bed by a curtain; sorry just not my idea of a nice experience. The previous guest had taken the one key with them so our room was insecure, there was a safe so at least our small valuables could be locked away. The following day some workmen were replacing the lock when we returned to our room after a walk.
Breakfast was very nice, and the staff helpful - their spoken English not great but then why should it be, our poor French was worse, but between the two we all got by. We decided that it really wasn't the place or the location for us.; fortunately the free wifi was just that so we organised another hotel with more European amenities & standards for the remainder of our stay. We left mid morning but there was no one of any standing to speak to as we left, as we didn't want to give the impression that there was anything wrong per se. But we couldn't communicate that and so departed, leaving a bemused member of staff behind.
In summary if you want it raw and traditional, then I'm sure you'll like it; but if you want something polished, then no, I'd give it a miss. And as for 4 or 5 stars, I'm sorry I couldn't conceive of any scale where more than 2 or 3 would be an honest reflection.

Room Tip: Contact the riad direct and describe which one you want from their photos
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank modwolf63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Stayed here for 7nights. Booked superior room through hotels4u, when reading room facilities it says tv, water garden, comfortable furnishings and modern amenities it had none of the above. The room had no cupboards, no bath but instead an old shower. I fell of the chair twice, bed was as hard as rocks. Breakfast was same everyday, we had 2 ask reception to clean our room after it had not been cleaned for three days. Had to ask reception for toilet paper everytime we ran out. Hotel is in heart of jama el fna so shops and restaurants near by but locals are very rude and didn't not make us feel welcome. When we questioned hotel why they clearly state that room includes tv,all they could say was sorry. Would not recommend anyone to stay in a riad unless you know what to expect or you'll be very disapointed. Hotel only has 5rooms and is more like a 2star then a 4star.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m_shazad84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kader F, Responsable relations clients at Riad des Eaux et Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Dear ASMELLA KOSAR & Bashir Mohamed Chazad.
Before we get started, we really appologize for the delay of our responding, even though we don't respond to all comments individually, we regularly read analyze and act on our customer feedback, what we all hope to improve the quality of our service .
My biggest gripe is that you shall call a responsable to face all those challenges, you choose keep quite.
I remember your first day, your wife criticized all because she was in bad mood because she didn't know or outward journey with Marrakech.
concerning your room you must leave your key, when you didn't call upon chambermaid the receptionniste ask you whether you want to make your room. you accept but you follow the house keeping one by one like saying "this lady is a thief and according to our law we should stone her to death" after you never leave your key . you never allowed the woman to make your room that why you require toilet paper.
for chairs no body complaints and this room is the most wished by all our guests, these parts are bought of Africa. so please i don't agree with you , the bath is traditionnal moroccan hammam style you can't understand.
Breadfast is not the same every day .
so please, we accept based arguments , no lies.
our riad is not 2 stars i can say better than five stars but its certainly more than 2 stars.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Friendly staff and manager.
Good breakfast.
Clean room.
Two streets from main square but peace and tranquility once inside.
No hard sell of trips.
Good price.
What's not to like ?????

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joncox30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Hamdane & SPA
Riad Hamdane & SPA
#190 of 501 in Marrakech
299 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad 11 Zitoune
Riad 11 Zitoune
#481 of 501 in Marrakech
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Mirage
Riad Mirage
#168 of 501 in Marrakech
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Tresor
Hotel du Tresor
#214 of 501 in Marrakech
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#125 of 501 in Marrakech
122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#219 of 501 in Marrakech
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad des Eaux et Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad des Eaux et Spa

Address: 24 Derb Lakhadar Riad Zitoun Lakdim | Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#89 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#111 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#183 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £56 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad des Eaux et Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The RIAD DES EAUX ET SPA has an excellent location, being at walking distance from the Very famous Jam el F'na and the city's major attractions. Yet, inside the Riad you will find a quiet and pleasent atmosphere! Each of our rooms has a private bathroom with shower, and some even have a bath tube. Our goal is to satisfy all of our custumors' needs by providing toileteries, hair dryers, locks, TV and minifridge. All these conforts are Found in all of our rooms. Our confortable beds will make you feel at home. We give to our costumers all our profetionality and abilities, with dedication and a maximum of attention. In addition to that, our Riad also features what we see as an angle of Paradise: our Spa. Inside our traditonal hammam, you will experience a truly magical moment. Try the black soap eucaliptus gommage, the gassoul masc and end by a Relaxing massage done with the nutritious argan oil. Our breakfasts are prepared every morning with fresh and healthy products, and are abundant and savourly. If requested, it is even possible to degustate some of our cuisine for dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Riad des Eaux et Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Des Eaux Et Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing