We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice Traditional Riad”
Review of Riad Moullaoud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Moullaoud
Ranked #196 of 1,167 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Very friendly staff and most had good levels of English speaking, only a couple had limited English but this was not a problem, plenty of staff on hand to help and assist for anything, really nice riad with traditional features, lots of seating areas inside and outside on the roof terrace, 2 different outdoor pools and plenty on sun beds as well. Food in the hotel was good, bar service was good as well offer beer and wine and soft drinks. Breakfast was good and enjoyed this everyday. Standard room was slightly on the small side, we changed halfway through our stay to superior room and this was bigger and nicer. overall excellent stay and will be happy to re book at this Riad, The Riad was about a 15min walk to the squad through the souks which wasn't too bad, they provide you with a map and information. The first time we walked to the square we got lost but it was fine after that once you get your bearings.

Room Tip: the standard room we had was small, when we changed to the superior room this was much bigger and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masterp77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013

The only saving grace was the rooftop terrace. The location was poor, the staff was not helpful, limited English speakers, and the room was horrible. I can touch the wall of the room from one side to the other and there was not enough room to open the suitcase. There was no light from the windows so it felt like a dungeon. We can hear the kitchen all through the night. The shower did not drain and no privacy for the toilet. Do not let the pictures mislead you. We did ask to change rooms but was told the hotel was fully booked, although we know the room next to us was empty. I am sure that not all rooms are this poor but you can experience what we did. This is not a typical Moroccan experience as we have different experiences elsewhere. You run the risk staying at this riad. The location is hidden, which is mysterious but there are so many better riad that give you an authentic feel and local life styles.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KnRnH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Great little hideaway in Marrakech. Nice breakfast and a good view from the roof top. Easy to find but hard to get to by car due to the small streets but once you are there, you don't need to drive so only bad going in and going out. Rooms are not quite child friendly but the staff is. Great value.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Utes1914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Our stay in Marrakech was completely made by the Riad Moullaoud. What a paradise, hidden in the alleys of the souks! As soon as we passed their front door, we were stunned by the beautiful decor and the chilled atmosphere inside. Having heard a lot about their roof terrace we raced straight up and were overwhelmed by the view! Snow-capped Atlas Mountains in the distance, and overlooking the wonderful, seemingly peaceful city of Marrakech. The staff are absolutely wonderful, always greeting you with a smile. Breakfast on the terrace was a real treat too! Riad Moullaoud and Marrakech were so enchanting we couldn't wrench ourselves away, and had to book a third night! I have already recommended Riad Moullaoud to some friends travelling the Marrakech in May! Would be difficult to find from central Marrakech without the help of a local boy, who will be expecting to be paid. Though once we were shown, we had no difficulty finding it again. Beautiful. Thank you.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'Dune' suite on the bottom floor. Absolutely fine, but be warned, the bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJJames_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

The front door does not give away any of the wonders that lay behind it. Behind these doors lie an oasis with endless nooks and crannies! Our room was at the top floor (rooftop) and we did not run out of corners to hang out at. Service and the jacuzzi are on 24hrs. Some places say this but try ringing up at 2am and there is no one in sight. We went for a dip early hours and staff showed up from nowhere to help us turn the jacuzzi on and get some drinks served as well. There is a good selection of wine, the Moroccan mint tea is the best I have tasted with fresh mint leaves, the homemade snacks are superb.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaimorales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Just back from Marrakesh and stayed in the Riad Moullaoud. We had to move rooms 3 times due to no hot water. It was a really lovely place with lots of areas to explore and the roof top garden was spectacular with a great view to the Atlas snow covered mountains. I agree with previous comments if you dont like the toiltet being in the same room a hotel would be better and i felt myself i would have prefered the comfort of a hotel in the more modern area of Marrakesh. I found once you stepped outside the Riad you were pestered none stop all the way to the Square and back by young boys. They expect you to give them money for showing you the Square which you could fine yourself. But the Riad was a real haven and the staff were always polite and very helpful at all times. If you want a real experience of Marrakesh then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Askf or a room not near the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryfairy97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Our arrival at the Riad was like entering another world. I couldn't rate this place more, in terms of authenticity, traditional decor and value.
Rooms were clean and comfortable, staff were a delight (charming and helpful) and location was ideal.
We were originally allocated to a small size bedroom, beautifully decorated but too compact for our needs, however we managed to swiftly upgrade to a larger size and had a very comfortable stay.
Aside from the hustle of the souks, we found the Riad our haven and a peaceful retreat - dinner was excellent and service spot on.
Would definitely recommend talking to other holiday makers about tips on where to eat/excursions etc for an honest account. A day trip up to the Atlas mountains is definitely recommended, but be prepared for a lot of climbing!
This Riad really made our stay. For the city itself; don't forget your Lonely Planet guide and certainly go equipped with an open mind!

Room Tip: When booking, be specific about your needs and requirements
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank PumpkinY_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.4 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#172 of 501 in Marrakech
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Ammonites
Riad Les Ammonites
#229 of 501 in Marrakech
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 501 in Marrakech
1,279 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech
Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech
#316 of 1,167 in Marrakech
273 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Ambre et Epices
Riad Ambre et Epices
#48 of 1,167 in Marrakech
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Moullaoud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Moullaoud

Address: 33 derb Guessaba El kebir | EL Moukkef, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 1,167 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £61 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Moullaoud 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Riad is located in central Marrakesh, in the Medina and a 10-minute walk to Jamaa El Fna Square. It has 3 swimming pools, a hammam and a panoramic roof terrace. Each of the Riad De Charme's guest rooms has a private bathroom and free Wi-Fi internet access. The Moullaoud's restaurant serves traditional, regional cuisine which can be enjoyed on the hotel terrace and patio. Guests of the Riad De Charme can enjoy massage treatment and relax in the Hammam or on the sunbathing terrace. Golf is available nearby. Riad De Charme Moullaoud is just a 2-minute walk from old markets, souks and guests can visit the nearby Ben Youssef Medersa, and Jemaa El Fna square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Moullaoud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Moullaoud Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing