We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Riad Diarna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riad Diarna
Ranked #614 of 1,168 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We have spent a week (during August) in this cosy and wonderful Riad!
Great location, it is just 5 mins walking to Jmaa el Fna. Personnel is truly welcoming!
You can book all your excursions in the Riad, we have been in Zagora Desert, Ouzoud Cascades and Essaouira, all of them were worthing the visit.
Definetely Excellent!

Giulia and Leandro

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giulia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in total. The riad is small and private and conveniently located near to the Medina. Simone, the owner, had arranged everything for us to perfection. We were collected by private taxi from the airport, we had a great tour with Mehdi. Meyriam, the housekeeper cooked for us and looked after us beautifully. Relaxing and welcoming I would recommend this riad to anyone visiting Marrakech for the first time. Thank you Simone and Meyriam.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Excellent value for your money. The feeling of being somewhere totally different is great. The welcome was warm, the location is surprising. This country is beautiful. Madame Simone speaks French and English, she has the French nationality. She proved to be very helpful. She knows everything and everyone in the city. Without her you are lost. She proves to be the anchor of your vacation. Do you want an outlandish holiday? Go to the riad (=house) Diarna!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Located in heart of the Medina, very near the main square and other attractions, Riad Diarna is such a delightful place to stay. The bedrooms are comfortable and full of nice little touches that make you feel relaxed and welcome. The food and mint tea served in the Riad are delicious.
Unfortunately, I became ill as soon as I arrived in Marrakech. As you may know, it is not really easy if these things happen to you when you are away from home in an unfamiliar place. But Simone, the Riad’s owner, did everything she could to help me and looked after me as if I were a member of her family. I felt really touched by her kindness and I did recover well within a couple of days.
Simone also organised our airport transfers, excursions around Marrakech and even booked the Hammans we wanted visit, everything we needed really.
I have already booked my trip back to Marrakech in order to recover the missed days from my holidays due to my illness, so I have booked a room for myself at Riad Diarna again at the end of March.
Thank you, Simone.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

I came to Riad Diarna with 7 friends on a celebratory birthday trip to Morocco. I am so glad we chose to stay at this Riad in Marrakech. It is situated close to the Jmaa el Fna and so is easy to find in the warren of streets in the medina.

Simone, our host, was charming, most helpful and I felt so warmly welcomed. We had a special birthday meal at the Riad - Couscous Royale - excellent food, great company, a lovely evening.

Simone organised my friends' transport from the airport efficiently, the guide Medhi and helped us in every way. The Riad is very comfortable - a real home from home. Lovely rooms with personal touches which reflect Simone's personality, roses in our rooms and such a special ambiance. I look forward to staying there again on my next visit.

Highly recommended !

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BabaCirencester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MONAMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Diarna, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2011

Thank you so much - your postcard "ROSE" is staying in your room "ROSE & LILAS" !!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We arrived for one night before going up to the Atlas mountains and returned for two moe. Simone makes everything so easy. The taxi was where she said it would be, it was paid for and all we had to do was enjoy the ride.
The riad is beautiful. Rooms open from a courtyard where birds fly and sing. all the rooms are beautiful with rose petal scattered across the beds and thoughtful touches such as fans and water. We had a Couscous Royale on or first night as we had arrived late and for the other two nights, Simone provided suggestions of restaurants and when we had made our choice she made the booking and walked us there. She seems to know nearly everyone in the medina and nothing is too much trouble forthis perfect

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salmckeown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MONAMarrakech, Owner at Riad Diarna, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2011

To give pleasure is also my pleasure....Thanks to you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2009

The hotel that we wanted was not available the owner suggested we stay with her friend simone at riad Diarna. I emailed simone and she had space available for my husband, myself and 11 year old. Only four days prior to arrival I took the booking sight unseen. I was just happy to have a reservation. Hopefully it would be clean and we would feel safe. To make a long story short. All doubts were vanished upon entering the Riad. Riad Diarna was a delight. It was clean, we felt safe, comfortable and very welcomed. Located in the Medina on steps away from the main square. It was a wonderful oasis of serenity for my family after spending the day sightseeing, shopping etc. We felt as if we were visiting a family friend. Chatting late at night in the salon over mint and soft lounge music. We hope to return someday in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missyFlorida_Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#80 of 501 in Marrakech
2,092 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 501 in Marrakech
1,300 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
0.8 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#261 of 501 in Marrakech
189 reviews
5.8 mi away
Iberostar Club Palmeraie Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Diarna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Diarna

Address: No 163, Derb Djdid | Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #614 of 1,168 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £44 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Typical Riad of 4 bedrooms all commodities (11 pax maximun)Patio, salo, & flowered terrace with sunbeds and berber tent. Breakfast serbed in patio or terraceMint tea freeAirport transfert possible ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing