We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience”
Review of La Sultana

La Sultana
Ranked #60 of 862 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$53 - US$132
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The restaurant of La Sultana offers a traditional Moroccan cuisine to reflect the flavors of the season with the Tasting Menu, the Traditional Lamb Couscous with Seven Vegetables or the Home Made Duck Foie Gras.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We had dinner here for my 40th birthday. The rooftop terrace was amazing, with a fabulous aptmosphere. We had drinks before dinner, whils the sun set. The service was very good and the menu choice excellent - with lots of fish options, which I love.

The only niggle was that they had run out of the chablis we selected, so we ended up with a pouilly fuisse, which was just as good but a little more expensive.

The seafood tagine that I had was exceptional, with so much seafood and fish it was too much to eat it all. My partner had a beef dish, which he really enjoyed too.

The setting, decor, service, location, musician; all added up to a fabulous evening that was truly memorable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    114
    45
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent service, lovely food and romantic setting”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had a few lunches on the roof terrace and one dinner by the pool in this wonderful hotel. The ambience is excellent and the team of staff was friendly and welcoming. Would strongly recommend for a relaxing lunch and afternoon or more vibrant dinner with live music.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Urnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

When we arrived we had a drink on the roof terrace. The only thing I could criticise would be that it was not made clear to us when or where we would be eating. We were left on the terrace for sometime, then we asked for our booking name. Then someone came to get us and we asked for 10 more minutes as we wanted to watch the sunset. But after that nobody came and we had to ask to be taken to our table, about half an hour after the sunset!

However the wine was terrific and the selection very good. We had an amazing meal, the portions were large and excellent quality.

The tables round the pool are beautiful and the whole place has a lovely atmosphere.

For the quality of the food and drink I think it is well priced.

Well worth a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely Athmosphere & Good Food”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The athmosphere was lovely - located on the roof top terrace overlooking a minaret and parts of the old town. It is very romatic and definitely worth a visit. We tried the Western Tasting menu as the local menu had been sold out already. The food was good but not as amazing as expected - maybe the traditional one would have stunned us but we unforunately never got to give it a go.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeikoHeiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot after Saadi tombs”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This rooftop restaurant is located right next to the Saadi tombs, in the Sultana Hotel. When at the tombs, if you look up and see a screen of mirrors, that's the Sultana Restaurant!

Service was good, the atmosphere was tranquil and relaxing, and I felt like I could sit up there all afternoon and soak up the sun. Food was excellent, a mixture of Moroccan and European dishes on the menu. Prices were on the higher end for Marrakech, at 150 MAD to 200 MAD for main courses. But then again in Marrakech its hard to find anything middle of the road.

For me, the Sultana Restaurant delivered everything I wanted for a relaxing lunch on holiday, and I was happy to pay the bill at the end.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dahokolomok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Sultana also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Sultana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing