We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place made perfect by lovelier hosts”
Review of Riad Dar-K

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Dar-K
Ranked #42 of 1,156 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely place made perfect by lovelier hosts”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

A lot has been said about how beautiful this place is and it is all true. But our experience was defined by the friendliness of Sarah and Yassine and the lovely Malika.

We planned to stay there for 4 days and loved every moment of it. And thanks to some last moment change of plans, ended up staying another couple of days.

Generous to a fault, Sarah, Yassine and Malika were perfect hosts. Malika's food was divine. The rooms are were traditional but minimal in design, and extremely comfortable. We ended up taking pictures of every little corner of the Riad. The orange trees in the courtyard, the breakfast setting on the terrace, the plunge pool that was covered and converted into a sitting area for winter, the perfect location near Medrassa Ben Youseff. Sarah arranged for everything, she gave us dining tips, chatted with us and made sure we enjoyed our stay.

Would recommend it no end and we hope we get to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rgarg07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
79
198
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We just returned from our trip and loved our time at Riad Dar-K. Everything from start to finish was perfect. Sarah met us near the Riad and welcomed us so warmly. As soon as we walked in, it was so peaceful, quiet, and the place is incredibly tasteful and beautifully done.
The riad couldn't be in a more convenient location: close to all the major sites, souks, but located a few minutes from the hectic areas, which is so incredibly important, especially when one is staying in the medina. Our room was such a pleasure to stay in. It was clean, beautiful, and quiet. The breakfasts were very filling and tasty: fresh fruits, yogurts, breads, orange juice, coffee ( enough to keep us full until dinner).
The highlight of our stay was Sarah and her staff. We couldn't have asked for a more friendly, and welcoming group of people. They felt like friends and always were such a pleasure to be around. Sarah is very helpful and has amazing suggestions. She would even take time out of her day to walk us to various places. How incredibly sweet of her it was.
Anyone who stays here will love it. There is not one flaw I can think of. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 921nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My friend and I stayed at Riad Dar-K for one week and couldn't have asked for a better experience. It was definitely a home away from home. Marrakech can get a little overwhelming at times and Sarah and her lovely staff provided us refuge after our busy and sometimes hectic days in the medina. Sarah is a very hands on hostess and is so incredibly kind. The location of the Riad is also excellently placed. It's close to the Madrasa which is probably one of the most beautiful places a tourist can go (I suspect there are some incredible mosques but tourists aren't allowed in). It is also close to the souks but not in the middle of the hectic bustle...it's on the outskirts where the souks taper off into shops and a fruit market where the locals go. It's a perfect spot and only a three minute walk away from the spice market which then leads into the main souks. It truly is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamDickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Riad Dar-K was an absolute oasis in the middle of the Marrakech medina. The location was fantastic - a less than 10 minute walk to Jemaa El Fna. The design and architecture were beautiful - simple, traditional Moroccan elegance. The included daily breakfast was wonderful - fresh whole fruit, bread with butter and cheese, yogurt, coffee, and fresh-squeezed OJ, along with a different surprise each day - French toast, pancakes, Berber bread (that tastes like corn fritters), always in quantities that would satisfy the largest appetites (we always had leftovers).

Despite all of this, easily the best thing about staying here was the service. Sarah, Yassin, and Malika treated us like family. They were particularly gracious and attentive to our kids (6 and 3). We were on a 26-day trip, visiting Barcelona, Morocco, Provence and the Cote d'Azur, Monaco, and the Cinque Terre. Our kids loved everything about the trip, but they have the fondest memories of Riad Dar-K. Sarah and staff, thanks for an unforgettable stay in Marrakech!

Btw, I absolutely recommend having dinner at the riad. Malika's cooking was outstanding! That was probably the best of many good meals we had in Marrakech.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I still remember what it was like walking through the door of riad dar k. peaceful. unbelievaably peaceful. unlike the peace one gets from just being in a quiet area. no not like that at all. more like a zen peace. fresh. pure. serene. tall beautiful orange trees. white walls. gray doors. and light. so much light. unusually so. with a chirping bird or two or more. always in the background.

every room with fine lines, appointments, cool and white. ever so clean. ever so simple. modern design within contemporary morocco. chic spaces to hang in. current music. we don't need ornate complexities to find such beauty. simple and tasteful. our own rooms were airy and large. open windows morning and night. gorgeous lamps. skylight in the bathroom such a plus! fabulous shower. a great space to sleep and wake in.

all the staff, sarah a fabulous hostess, hussein a sous host, chef malika, all so there for you. sarah. so beautiful. like a gazelle taking us through the marketplace. bringing us to special merchants whenever we requested a need for her french:) advising us. making reservations for us. setting up a road trip for us with her great road guide. it didn't matter what the request. she's incredible. hussein couldn't be cooler! and malika ever so sweet, cooking those fine breakfasts! don't hesitate to try a dinner. you will be most pleased by her beautiful food!

so enter through this madness that marrakech is so unique to. and be thankful to find riad dar k while you do.

it's bliss! utter bliss!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marciajkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Absolutely loved our trip to Riad Dar-K
The host Sarah and her staff of Malika and Yassin leave no stone unturned when it comes to making sure you have everything you need to make your stay perfect.

TripAdvisor didn't have their website listed which made finding contact info difficult (FYI it's http://riad-dar-k.com)

Once we called Sarah was amazing about not only staying in email and phone contact but went out of her way to:
1. Find us alternative accommodations for our first night since their Riad was booked
2. Though we'd be staying elsewhere the first night Sarah made sure to send us a taxi for the train station and to be sure we got settled properly at the other Riad (also another amazing place)
3. Making sure that someone was available to greet us when we did arrive at Raid Dar-K early the next morning

Once we got there, having made a VERY long 18 hour trip and me being pregnant....... the staff was absolutely wonderful about making sure we had everything we need.

We stayed in the upstairs suite which was impeccably clean and beautiful. I loved it so that Sarah took me shopping later to the same places she bought her blankets etc......... and she even got me her special Sarah discount! Don't miss a trip shopping with her... she's fast, knows her way around and doesnt mess around. The prices she get are the same you'd spend hours haggling for!

By the time we left we really felt as if we were leaving a dear friend. I cant recommend it highly enough. She and her staff are a sea of efficiency and care for their guests.

Our only regret was that we neglected to ask to eat one night at the Riad. Malika's cooking smelled and looked divine!

The location of the Riad is also wonderful, super close to the entry to the Souk and close to a number of cute eatery options. Anything they don't have, Sarah will see to it that you get. My husband and I are torn about leaving too good a review in case we can't get reservations next time...... ;) But better to let them enjoy every well deserved success. Enjoy!

p.s. yes they have wifi and it works very well

Room Tip: We loved the upstairs suite but every room looks beautiful. The upstairs rooms are especially perfe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dakin
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

It has taken me a month or so to get round to writing this but we stayed in Morocco for a week, staying in Marrakech for 3 days, then over to Essaouira for a couple of days and then back to Marrakech. The time that we spent at Riad Dar-K was the highlight of our visit to Morocco. Sarah was fantastic, showing us around and just fixing everything- where to go, what to see- how to get back!
We really loved this place- it's beautifully put together and you feel really well looked after. Sarah- if you read this can you let me know which rose wine you gave us on our first night- it was teh best I ever tasted?
To sum this place up- simple and elegant, plus you get the feeling that Sarah and her team really would do anything to make your trip comfortable. We will be back!

Room Tip: We had a suite, lovely and big- simply furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DakinJonathan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Dixneuf La Ksour
Riad Dixneuf La Ksour
#9 of 1,156 in Marrakech
431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Adore
Riad Adore
#18 of 1,156 in Marrakech
422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Mo'da
Dar Mo'da
#2 of 1,156 in Marrakech
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dar Akal
Dar Akal
#20 of 1,156 in Marrakech
428 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#11 of 1,156 in Marrakech
555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Matham
Riad Matham
#30 of 1,156 in Marrakech
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar-K? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar-K

Property: Riad Dar-K
Address: Derb Boucetta lekbir No23, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 1,156 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad Dar-K reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing