We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Marrakech”
Review of Dar Nouba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Nouba
Ranked #397 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a 3 night trip to Marrakech, and I'm so glad we did. Because the Riad is located right in among the old Medina, it was the perfect location for a short stay. We were able to soak up the true vibe and atmosphere of the city just by leaving the Riad and wondering around the (very confusing but wonderful) twisting alleyways surrounding it. The Riad itself is clean, beautiful and charming, and the hosts themselves were incredibly helpful and friendly. On the first night Merwan sat us down with a tea and cake to show us how to get around the area, then even walked us to a nearby restaurant. It's a great haven to come back to after a hectic day in the city! Breakfast was simple but good and you can purchase a number of food items, and drinks (including alcoholic.. not that easy to find without paying a fortune). I highly recommend this Riad to anyone wanting to discover a real taste of Morocco, while still having a nice place to relax and take it all in.

Room Tip: I highly recommend taking the airport transfer, or having the hosts organsise a transfer for you; Th...
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank KKP_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

Lovely, well-restored riad in a great location.

We were greeted by an initially friendly guy who, very quickly, made it clear that he wanted to get back to watching a football match. Not too welcoming.

Our room was clean and bright but fairly basic and lacking in privacy - we didn't realise until the day we left that the room actually had glass in the windows. Given the choice in the medina in Mararkech we wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank locomota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Merwan and his Belgian wife Gaethane, were exceptional hosts, very helpful and obliging, not forgetting their wonderful cook. best food we had whilst in the medina. The whole place is delightful and felt safe and clean. Very important for two women travelling alone. It's a little oasis in a crazy town. not far from the northern souks and with 'The Map' navigation was not a problem. With Medersa Ben Youssef and the Museum just round the corner,and an amazing spice shop our hosts took us to, this Riad was a good place for us for our 4 night stay. We had a lovely room big enough for three people, the shady courtyard and the roof terrace a bonus.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bussy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

A fantastic stay in Marrakech. The riad is a real oasis. We totally liked the decor with all its tasteful details. The breakfast was delicious, and we really enjoyed the company of the hosts, who turned out to be the highlight of our stay. We were not only offered a free upgrade, but they also made us feel at home. We couldn't have made a better choice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fatty_bum_bum69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Stop searching for a Riad and book with Dar Nouba. Merwan and his wife are the most friendly owners I've stayed with - Merwan even took us to a few shops in town and showed us around. Our rooms were awesome - big, clean, comfy beds, AC, wifi.
We had dinner at the Riad one evening and it was, by far, our best meal in Marrakech. Breakfast was also fantastic.
The Riad is in the medina, down an alleyway, but Merwan supplies a map of the area so you won't get lost.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abt9904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We were recommended by fellow travel blog members to stay at Dar Nouba. We were told that it was an amazing place to stay, very comfortable and friendly owners.
What we got was much more; it was the beginning of a wonderful 5 day long weekend in Marrakech.
From the moment we arrived, we requested the 15 euro taxi transfer from the airport to the riad, to the very last minute we were treated as part of the family.
We took several advises from Merwan, including a day trip to Essauoiura and where to by some of the beautiful pieces of items that are used to decorate Dar Nouba.
The location is perfect; just 12 minutes walk through the main souk to Jemaa El Fna. Merwan gave us a very detailed map to guide us around. We never got lost!
Breakfast with the family is an opportunity to share the experiences and with the owners and fellow guests.
I really regret not having the chance of having dinner at Dar Nouba!

When I return to Marrakech, and I’m sure I will, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gonowtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Dar Nouba was by far our favorite riad! We had one of the suites, nicely decorated, big, clean and comfortable. Service by the owners, Merwan and Gaëtane, was impeccable. Merwan picked us up in a near place on the day of arrival and took a lot of time explaining the map so that we would not get lost. If you feel like relaxing, go to the roof terrace and enjoy the sun! It is very quiet and enjoyable. And if you do not want to go far for dinner, you will definitely not regret eating at Dar Nouba! It was one of the most amazing tajines we had! Overall, I highly recommend this riad, especially for a first stay in Marrakech, and for your own sake, if you arrive at night, accept the pick-up service offered by them.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank areusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#12 of 502 in Marrakech
1,297 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#16 of 502 in Marrakech
899 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#81 of 502 in Marrakech
2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 502 in Marrakech
1,300 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
2.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Nouba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Nouba

Address: 9 Derb Slima, Hart Soura | Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #397 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £54 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dar Nouba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing