We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Zayane

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Riad Zayane
Ranked #206 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Walking to the hotel we really didn't know what to expect,we approached this tiny door not knowing what was behind it,given what we had just seen,OMG.It was a step back first,then a WOW this is different,then to ' this is really traditional'.The staff were really helpful,very friendly and always happy.We had the africa room,clean,comfortable,with no mod cons.Great to be away from the norm stuff.This is Marrakech as it is,not your normal tourist hotel.It was a great traditional place with superb traditional food,a must in my opinion an amazing experience not to be missed.Always be aware of the people that will lead you astray,we got a guy from Denmark out of a bit of trouble,DON'T be afraid of saying 'NO'.Keep walking and ignore these people and they will leave you alone.Don't let them ruin your holiday experience, it's an amazing place.

Room Tip: Research your venue,if you want mod cons this is not for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    32
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
136
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed for 3 days and it was such a lovely place. The rooms are quaint with very nice bathrooms. There is a roof top deck with lounge chairs and seating to enjoy the sun. The staff is wonderful and so helpful. They assisted us with reservations to restaurants and excursions. The breakfast offered was traditional and good. We would come back from our daily activities and enjoy wine on the rooftop deck. I enjoyed staying here and would recommend it to any traveler to Marrakech.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this riad for 3 nights at the end of our Moroccan trip. We had stayed in 3 or 4 other riads so had an idea of what we could expect.

We had a great experience. The staff were very lovely. They let us use their phone to confirm transfers (ringing Morocco and France) and they spoke to the Moroccan company in Arabic to avoid any confusion as we only speak English and some French. They did not ask for any reimbursement for this.

Another member of staff offered to wash several pairs of socks that my husband had left out, feebly handwashed- we'd been been travelling for over a month at this point and it was so lovely to have them delivered back to us about 3 hours later, clean, dry and warm! Again, many places would demand a high fee for same-day cleaning but she did not charge us!

We undertook the cooking course advertised on the riad's website which was fabulous. A great chance to learn from their chef and it was a lot of fun. The dinners were delicious.

The we met the manager, a Frenchman, on day two and he took the time out to recommend to us some places to visit in Paris which was fantastic. He was very friendly.

Our room was cleaned each day, mint tea on arrival, all around the staff were courteous and friendly. The riad itself was quite spectacular and beautiful. Each room has a theme. The shower was great!

The riad is just inside the medina wall and virtually silent inside- you can't hear the busy medina at all! It was like a bubble of tranquility. Great for when you've had a busy day of walking around the souks which are closeby. It is also very close to ATMs, bureau de change and a very large supermarket.

We left at 7am on our last day and we spoke to the staff at around 5pm the afternoon before asking what time breakfast might start, and if there was a chance we could just organise for some bread or something to tide us over. They wouldn't have a bar of it and the full breakfast was away for us at 6.30am, coffee included, despite much protesting from ourselves that it was unnecessary! It was very kind of them.

The fire alarm in our room went off at around midnight one night and within about 2 minutes, one of the staff had arrived with a ladder to fix it for us.

Overall we had a great stay and we were particularly thankful for the staff- every member of staff we encountered went above and beyond in some way. Thankyou so much for having us stay!







Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Claire V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Please do not take any notice of any negative comments about Riad Zayane. We had a wonderful stay here. A warm welcome with mint tea on arrival. The place is clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was tasty, varied and plentiful. Rooms were cleaned daily. The authentic day trip is a must. Whole day out in the Atlas Mountains with a mule ride and lunch in a Berber house. Airport transfer was smooth and reliable too. Wonderful stay here and I would recommend. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracytinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandre M, Gérant at Riad Zayane, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for your complete and wonderful review and for writing your experience at Riad Zayane.

When we read this type of comments we are glad because we have achieved the goal we had set ourselves: all the team works hard essentially for the services including helping our guests, the quality of food for the breakfasts and the dinners, the cleanness of the rooms and the riad etc

The authentic day trip package we propose is our favorite and we try to convince as much guests as possible to experience it.

All the team wish you all the best for this New Year 2014.

Sincerely.

Alexandre, Riad Zayane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

I stayed at the Riad with my daughter in October. We liked the Riad very much, it is calm and quiet and a lovely haven after a day out and about in the busy streets of the Medina.
The Riad itself is located in a little side street at the very edge of the Medina and can be a little intimidating as you have to walk down a busy shopping street to get to it and you get starred at.
But back to the Riad, really lovely, decorated with traditional furniture each room has it's own character.
All kept beautifully clean - they have a massive roof that cover the courtyard and that gets rolled back each day we have little birds coming in - was lovely
The staff at the Riad are lovely, they are helpful and there is always someone around who can answer any questions you may have and make arrangements for excursions, taxis etc.
Only one word of warning.. when you book the Riad takes a deposit, when you arrive you are presented with the accommodation bill, I found this a little strange but was fine about it.
Any other incidentals are charged on a separate bill and you are expected to pay cash for this. I had not realised and had wanted to pay for my additional charges with my credit card at the end of the stay as I had spent my cash at the Souks, I was told that in the room information it had specified that they expected to be paid in cash, but I couldn't see why they were so insistent, unless it is a tax dodge. But I had to no cash so they had to accept payment with a card and I had to pay an admin charge. This last bit of hassle marred the stay a little for me. I think in this day and age of electronic and plastic credit they should be more accommodating- So be warned if you stay here make sure you keep some of your cash till the end.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shireen43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandre M, Gérant at Riad Zayane, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
All the staff is delighted to have met your expectations.

It was a real pleasure to receive you. We tried to share our Moroccan experience and we received you and your daughter like we like to be received in a guesthouse: the hospitality, some advices, a little assistance during our stay.

All team works hard daily to maintain a high level of services, to clean and decorate the riad and to cook and serve the meals.

As we are a little guesthouse, we do charge deposit (as mentioned on Booking.com) in order to secure the booking and to avoid no-show.

At the check-in, we give the accommodation bill to our guests so they won’t have to worry about paying the accommodation at the end of their stay. As the bill for the room only concerns us, we accept credit cards.

As mentioned in the room information all the extras (diners, excursions etc) have to be paid in cash at the check-out. The two reasons are because we have to pay the company organizing the transfers, excursions etc in cash, the second reason is the high level of commission (5%) we pay accepting credit card in Morocco which is much more higher than what it is in France or the UK.

Thanks a lot for the lovely review and we wish you the best for this New Year 2014.

Best regards.

Alexandre, Riad Zayane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinerhir, Morocco
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I live in Morocco and therefore I have quite some experience in riads in Marrakech. Riad Zayane is simply the worst experience I have ever had.

I booked at Venere.com and was guarantied that the informations of my creditcard was only for the reservation and that no money would be taken from my account. The day after, the property had taken the full amount from my account. How did they get my card's informations? I had planned to use the money on my bank account for something else and already had the payment for the riad in dirhams (cash). The owner said he would return the money to my account, but till now, they are not there.

First thing we met, when we entered the hotel was the bill and a cup of tea, even before we had seen the room. The (very kind staff) called the owner, who shouted at me in the phone that we had to pay or he would take the money from my account (again!) or we could just leave and he would take the money anyways. I have now closed my card and my account and have to wait for my Danish bank to send a new one to Morocco + that I have lost 75 €. Really a bad experience. I can't recommend my worst enemy to stay there.

I have stayed at other riads in Marrakech for ½ the price and with so much better service, more centrally placed, homemade breakfast and an overwhelmingly welcome (the bill presented when we leave). This riad didn't match any of it.

As I have my own B&B in Morocco, I know what service means to clients and I wonder what this was?!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenChakir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandre M, Gérant at Riad Zayane, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Ellen,

All the staff does its best everyday to satisfy our guests and we receive many compliments on the service, the decoration, the accommodation, the diner, the breakfast etc

Concerning the deposit, we made a mistake by charging the full amount (75€) of your reservation (1 night) thinking it was a prepaid reservation. As soon as we noticed our mistake thanks to you, we cancelled the transaction the day of your booking (December 27th) and sent you an email to apologize and explaining that the problem was solved with a document showing the cancellation.

The day of your check-in (January 1st), you were obviously upset about the idea of paying by telling to a colleague that you had already paid the reservation. On the telephone, I asked you firmly but in a polite way to pay for the room.

We think the review you wrote doesn’t reflect the real passion the staff has for its job, the well-being of our guests, and the quality of our guesthouse.

We regret the situation and your reaction that seems excessive to us.

Sincerely.

Alexandre, Riad Zayane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed at this Riad this year after our stay at an airbnb flat last year. The feel to it so welcoming that I will never look back. The staff is observant, hard working yet pleasant, out of your way but whatever one wishes for (with common sense) will be dealt with with an ease. They are also very warm people so one feels like at home. I loved coming back from our days out and then share with them what it was like over some nice Moroccan tea or amazing red wine they have. The atmosphere is lovely also due to a small number of people and it is nice to meet different faces over the course of few days. Food is lovely, simple and it's just a nice place to stay. We made friends there and will always come back. Thank you for an amazing time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DudaLuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.3 mi away
Riad Aladdin
Riad Aladdin
#226 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Bamaga Hotel
Riad Bamaga Hotel
#158 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Zayane Atlas
Riad Zayane Atlas
#274 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Altair
Riad Altair
#37 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam
Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam
#63 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Al Nour
Riad Al Nour
#62 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Zayane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zayane

Property: Riad Zayane
Address: 36, derb Nakhla | Bab Doukkala - médina, Marrakech 40008 , Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Zayane 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idéalement situé à deux pas de la Mosquée Bab Doukkala et des transports en commun, le Riad Zayane est une magnifique maison d'hôtes de Marrakech à cinq minutes à pied des Souks et quinze minutes de la place Jemaâ El Fna . Outre ses 5 chambres et suite climatisées à la luxueuse décoration métissée, le Riad Zayane dispose d'une terrasse sur le toit avec solarium, d'un salon et d'une salle à manger ainsi que d'un magnifique patio aux zeligues bicolores avec bassin et fontaine traditionnelle, où vous pourrez vivre un dîner aux chandelles des plus romantiques autour de mets savoureux typiques de la tradition culinaire marocaine, concoctés par la cuisinière du Riad. Le personnel est disponible 24h/24 et vous aidera à organiser excursions et visites guidées de Marrakech et ses environs, ou encore à réserver une table de restaurant et autres billets de spectacles. Un service de navette pour l'aéroport vous sera fourni sur réservation préalable. Enfin, l'accès Wi-Fi est gratuit dans tout le bâtiment. Un parking payant se trouve à proximitéIdeally located near Bab Doukkala Mosque and the public transports, Riad Zayane is a beautiful Marrakesh guesthouse within a 5-minute walk from the Souks markets and 15-minute walk from Jemaa El Fna square. In addition to its 5 luxury guestrooms and suite exquisitely decorated, Riad Zayane has a rooftop terrace with solarium, a lounge and a dining room, as well as a beautiful patio tiled with zeligues and boasting a traditional pond and fountain, ideal setting for a romantic candlelit dinner over tasty dishes of Moroccan cuisine, concocted by Hayat, the in-house cook of the Riad. Staff are available 24/24 and will help you organize excursions and guided tours in Marrakesh and the surroundings, or to book a restaurant and tickets. A shuttle service to the airport will be provided on prior reservation. Eventually, a free wireless Internet is available throughout the building. Charged parking is available nearby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your Riad Zayane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Zayane Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing