We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Zayane”
Review of Riad Zayane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Zayane
Ranked #218 of 1,144 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liphook, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Riad Zayane”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Myself and 9 girlfriends visited this Riad for 40th birthday celebrations and had such a wonderful time. The short walk to the Riad was a bit of an eye opener but as soon as you are inside the Riad is magical.

We had the place to ourselves as there are only 5 bedrooms and had the option of a typical Moroccan meal made by Bahitia on our first night which was delicious. Bahitia, Jaouad and Aichia were so lovely and nothing was ever too much trouble. Jaouad went out of his way to make sure we were escorted to the taxis and agreed prices for us with the drivers. They also organised excursions for us.

I would not hesitate to recommend this beautiful place to anyone and hope it is not too long before we can visit again. Thank you to everyone at Riad Zayane. We are missing you! x

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLamnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    35
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
142
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed at Riad Zayane for five nights in January. We booked the Warda room which is on the first floor (where the majority of the bedrooms are). I would highly recommend staying here and would also recommend the Serenity package, which really took the hassle out of getting to the Riad and our first meal. The staff were all really friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious each morning and the staff very kindly adapted the food to our likes and dislikes.
Fresh roses and rose petals were a nice touch in every area of the Riad (including extra roses in our room on the morning of my husband's birthday). The Riad was very clean, relaxing and a true oasis that provided respite away from the hurly burly of the Medina. I liked the fact that as soon as you stepped out of the Riad and made your way down the passage way, you were in an area of little shops where the locals would buy their food and various other items.
We were able to pay for the room by credit card but the Serenity package and extra drinks etc needed to be settled in cash. No great hassle, but keeping it in mind when sorting out your money.
The Riad helpfully had umbrellas for guests to use, which came in very handy as there was a fair bit of rain during out visit.

Room Tip: Provided you don't have any mobility difficulties, I would go for the rooms on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M0M0S_43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We had a most enjoyable stay in this Riad, which is located just inside the Bab Boutouil – a little to the north of the larger Bab Doukkala.

From the very beginning we received a friendly welcome and excellent service from Aicha, Jaouad, Bahija and the other staff.

Our room was comfortable, the breakfasts were delicious, and the roof terrace a great place in which to relax first thing in the morning, or after a day out.

The location of Riad Zayane is very convenient for the Ville Nouvelle, as well as the medina, souks and old city.

We were particularly impressed at the number and quality of green spaces in Marrakech, and enjoyed relxing in the Cyber Parc, the El Harti gardens (next to the Royal Tennis Club, but closed on Sundays), and of course the Majorelle Gardens, which are only about 15 minutes’ walk away.

February is a marvellous month in which to visit, as the weather is warm without being too hot, but many spring flowers are already blooming. We were also impressed with the number of varieties of bird even in the cities, and loved the song of the house buntings visiting or roosting in the riad.

The El Badi and Bahia palaces are very well worth a visit … and we would recommend taking the Sightseeing Bus which visits or passes close by to many attractions. (A good place to catch it is near the Koutobia Mosque, and another place is near to the Railway Station.) Because of the scorching sun, it may be best to use the bus in the early mornings or late afternoons.

We thoroughly recommend travelling by train in Morocco. Regular services depart Marrakech for Casablanca, Rabat, Meknes, Fez and Tangiers. We took the train to our main base of the holiday, Sala, which is on the coast, and just over the river from Rabat. We loved these cities even more than Marrakech, and will shortly review the fantastic riad (The Repose) we stayed at in Sala.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bexhillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We have just spent an excellent week at the Riad Zayane and have nothing but praise for the quality of the accommodation (we had the Africa Room) and for the welcoming and friendly staff who were unfailingly attentive without being obtrusive. The roof terrace was a welcome oasis of calm after the bustle of the city. The food was also excellent. A first class find..
Roy G

Room Tip: The upper rooms are better than the one ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Was not sure what to expect but the beautiful Riad right in the heart of Marrakesh was a true find. It was so great to knock on the door, go inside and leave all the buzz of the city behind. The room was beautiful, the shower a delight and the thick cotton dressing gowns and the hair dryer a great touch.
Staff were very friendly and the breakfasts first class. We only ate in once as we wanted to experience other eating places. The meal we had was wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Walking to the hotel we really didn't know what to expect,we approached this tiny door not knowing what was behind it,given what we had just seen,OMG.It was a step back first,then a WOW this is different,then to ' this is really traditional'.The staff were really helpful,very friendly and always happy.We had the africa room,clean,comfortable,with no mod cons.Great to be away from the norm stuff.This is Marrakech as it is,not your normal tourist hotel.It was a great traditional place with superb traditional food,a must in my opinion an amazing experience not to be missed.Always be aware of the people that will lead you astray,we got a guy from Denmark out of a bit of trouble,DON'T be afraid of saying 'NO'.Keep walking and ignore these people and they will leave you alone.Don't let them ruin your holiday experience, it's an amazing place.

Room Tip: Research your venue,if you want mod cons this is not for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed for 3 days and it was such a lovely place. The rooms are quaint with very nice bathrooms. There is a roof top deck with lounge chairs and seating to enjoy the sun. The staff is wonderful and so helpful. They assisted us with reservations to restaurants and excursions. The breakfast offered was traditional and good. We would come back from our daily activities and enjoy wine on the rooftop deck. I enjoyed staying here and would recommend it to any traveler to Marrakech.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.3 mi away
Riad Aladdin
Riad Aladdin
#221 of 499 in Marrakech
166 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Villa Nomade
La Villa Nomade
#134 of 499 in Marrakech
243 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad 58 Blu
Riad 58 Blu
#35 of 499 in Marrakech
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Zayane Atlas
Riad Zayane Atlas
#276 of 1,144 in Marrakech
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Altair
Riad Altair
#42 of 1,144 in Marrakech
556 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad les Hibiscus
Riad les Hibiscus
#418 of 1,144 in Marrakech
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Zayane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zayane

Property: Riad Zayane
Address: 36, derb Nakhla | Bab Doukkala - médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 1,144 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Zayane 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idéalement situé à deux pas de la Mosquée Bab Doukkala et des transports en commun, le Riad Zayane est une magnifique maison d'hôtes de Marrakech à cinq minutes à pied des Souks et quinze minutes de la place Jemaâ El Fna . Outre ses 5 chambres et suite climatisées à la luxueuse décoration métissée, le Riad Zayane dispose d'une terrasse sur le toit avec solarium, d'un salon et d'une salle à manger ainsi que d'un magnifique patio aux zeligues bicolores avec bassin et fontaine traditionnelle, où vous pourrez vivre un dîner aux chandelles des plus romantiques autour de mets savoureux typiques de la tradition culinaire marocaine, concoctés par la cuisinière du Riad. Le personnel est disponible 24h/24 et vous aidera à organiser excursions et visites guidées de Marrakech et ses environs, ou encore à réserver une table de restaurant et autres billets de spectacles. Un service de navette pour l'aéroport vous sera fourni sur réservation préalable. Enfin, l'accès Wi-Fi est gratuit dans tout le bâtiment. Un parking payant se trouve à proximitéIdeally located near Bab Doukkala Mosque and the public transports, Riad Zayane is a beautiful Marrakesh guesthouse within a 5-minute walk from the Souks markets and 15-minute walk from Jemaa El Fna square. In addition to its 5 luxury guestrooms and suite exquisitely decorated, Riad Zayane has a rooftop terrace with solarium, a lounge and a dining room, as well as a beautiful patio tiled with zeligues and boasting a traditional pond and fountain, ideal setting for a romantic candlelit dinner over tasty dishes of Moroccan cuisine, concocted by Hayat, the in-house cook of the Riad. Staff are available 24/24 and will help you organize excursions and guided tours in Marrakesh and the surroundings, or to book a restaurant and tickets. A shuttle service to the airport will be provided on prior reservation. Eventually, a free wireless Internet is available throughout the building. Charged parking is available nearby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Zayane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Zayane Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing