We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem!”
Review of Dar Latifa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar Latifa
Ranked #661 of 1,172 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed here for three nights from the 31st march. Was welcomed by the lovely Enza, who prepared mint tea and cakes for our arrival. Really don't know what we would have done without her local knowledge. Room was beautiful and clean. Enjoyed lovely relaxing night's on the quiet roof terrace watching the stars! Woke up to refreshing breakfast prepared by Enza. Would certainly recommend raid Dar Latifa, a wonderful quiet oasis among the hustle and bustle of crazy Marrakech!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pollydx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

I fully endorse the 'Hidden Gem' review which gives a very comprehensive description of all Dar Latifa's attributes, not least the wonderful Enza who couldn't be more caring and helpful. Meeting our taxi and leading us through the maze of alleys to the Riad where a pot of mint tea and cakes was the start of her kindness. If it is to be your first visit to Marrakech, having dinner at the Riad on your first evening will be a sumptuous experience [prepared by Enza], and no worries about finding your way back.
During our 3-night stay we packed in a lot of sight-seeing, mostly on foot as the Riad is a 15-minute walk through the souks to the main square and about the same again to the major tourist attractions.
Enjoy a treat and negotiate a rate for a caleche to take you from the square to the Majorelle Gardens [we paid 350dms], the driver waited and brought us back after we had lunch in the gardens, giving a guided tour as we came back.
Our first visit to Marrakech was a great experience and we hope to return and stay at Dar Latifa.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annie2mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We were looking for a relaxing week away from England's rain and storms; somewhere warm and not too demanding. We had previously stayed in the Meridien which we enjoyed, but this time we fancied being nearer the centre of Marrakech. We chose the Riad Latifa because we thought we'd easily be able to walk to restaurants and investigate the Souk. It did turn out to be more of a hike than we had envisaged.

Riad Latifa was bought in the 1990s and lovingly restored by a French musician. It's a three-storeyed house with 8 bedrooms built around a central courtyard with potted jasmine, orange and lemon trees. It's a charming house, a total surprise since all you see from outside is an unpretentious door at the end of a dark alleyway. It's in the heart of the old Medina. The alleys are too narrow for cars, and the taxi will drop you off half a mile away so be sure to use a wheeled suitcase! Do take the airline's offer of a taxi to the hotel. Before you go, check exactly where it is, because it's extremely hard to find; half a mile's walk through a maze of alleys to the entrance to the Souk, and the Maderassa.

The house is in Moroccan style throughout; curtains, lanterns, divans, cushioned sofas and stained glass windows adorn it. Most of the accommodation is up at least one flight of steep stairs, and single or double steps lead from one area to another. We stayed in a generously sized, though dimly lit 'superior' room on the first floor with ensuite facilities maintaining the Moroccan motif by way of tiled floor, a cave-like shower and brass hand basin.
We ate breakfast and other meals in the courtyard, and found plenty of idiosyncratic nooks with sofas on every level. The roof terrace is particularly inviting with lots of space to relax. There's a sattelite TV on the third floor with a few English news channels, but there's no wifi so we read a lot and went to bed early! We always take a bottle or two of our favourite tipple with us to Muslim countries, which came in handy during the evenings.

It's managed by a delightful Moroccan woman called Enzha who is eager to please and willing to advise, but doesn't try to influence you. She'll get you a taxi, arrange a day trip, cook for you and be your guide in the initial bewildering days when you're finding your way through the maze of narrow alleyways. We really can't praise her enough.

We were lucky to be the only guests there for most of the week so Enzha was able to give us lots of attention, and as we speak fluent French and a smattering of Arabic we were able to chat very freely to her. She does speak some English, and can understand what you're saying, but if you can manage to brush up your French before you go you'll enjoy your stay in Morocco twice as much. It's a better place to practise French than France where the natives are all intent on speaking English to you!

We didn't realize that common, cheap medicines like Paracetamol, Ibuprofen and aspirin are expensive in Morocco or we'd have taken out boxes of the stuff. We also wish we'd thought of taking some wrapped sweets for neighbourhood urchins. (More appropriate than encouraging them to beg by giving them coins.) We loved poking around the Souk, particularly the area with tortoises, chameleons, animal skins and spices. We bought cactus fibre scarves and a bedcover/tablecloth in brilliant colours, a straw hat, handbags, belts, slippers. We had a hand henna'd and ate kebabs, salads and omelette for lunch in small cafes without ill effects. We had some evening meals out and ate in the hotel a couple of times. Our week in Marrakech was a complete change and we came home much refreshed.

Room Tip: A 'superior room' is worth paying extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmsworthStella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Fantastic little riad at a good price in the heart of the medina.
The place is small (8 rooms only) and lovely, beautifully decorated and very quiet. It truly feels like an oasis among the hustle and bustle of the medina.
There's a lovely courtyard, a terrace and plenty of cosy nooks to relax.
The two women looking after the guests in the riad are extremely helpful and hospitable and they made our stay in Marrakech truly memorable. I cannot commend and thank them enough. They went over and beyond of what we required/asked.
They both speak French and Arabic and one of them also speaks English.
Standard rooms are rather small, but again, nicely decorated and very clean, and in all honesty, we weren't spending that much time in the room so it didn't matter to us.
All in all, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiki1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Yes, the price is right, and if you want to be in the heart of the medina, this may be the place.
(Though you will have to walk through entire market to get to the Jema). It is quiet, has a nice courtyard, and the women who work for the absentee owner are lovely and helpful, (though you must speak French), and the meals are good. However, without exaggeration, there was less than 24 inches between double bed and wall on both sides - and the bed was the only thing in the room. The owner's agent insisted that "this is what rooms are like in Marrakech" (tr. from French), and I don't know if that is true. If room size doesn't matter it might work for you.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandalaSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Esméralda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cantares69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#79 of 500 in Marrakech
2,112 reviews
0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
0 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#42 of 500 in Marrakech
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0 mi away
Iberostar Club Palmeraie Marrakech
0 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#268 of 500 in Marrakech
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Latifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Latifa

Address: 17 derb Lalla Azzouna | Kâat ben Nahid, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #661 of 1,172 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £50 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Latifa 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This guesthouse riad is located in one of the old districts of the medina, a stone's throw away of the Medersa Ben Youssef, the souks and splendid foundouks where craftsmen work with ancient techniques. Taxis arrive in the immediate vicinity of our riad. In a very calm lane, no noise comes to disturb the silence of the house. Elegant local decoration, sunny dominating terrace, all bedrooms are air-conditioned and heated, with private conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Dar Latifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing