We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Riad Sekkat, could not have expected more!”
Review of Riad Sekkat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riad Sekkat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I had chosen to stay at Riad Sekkat having looked at the reviews on Tripadvisor. We took advantage of the 3 nights half-board package which was very good value.
I have to admit I had my reservations as we had to pay half of the reservation upfront to secure the booking and had to do it by bank transfer. However Valerie was very helpful and all went smoothly. She was responsive to all emails and queries.
The whole stay from arrival to departure went smoothly. Khalid, who managed the riad in Valerie's absence, was very hospitable, friendly and helpful. We could not have asked for anything more. They prepared lunch for us on the roof terrace al fresco which was a very nice surprise as it was a very sunny day. We informed Khalid the day before when we wanted our breakfast and dinner and he was always obliging.
The riad is about 7 minutes walk to the souks and about 15 minutes walk to the main square.
I thoroughly recommend the riad for couples, families and groups. They have 4 rooms and it is possible to book the whole riad.
Just be aware that they only speak French, although our friend managed to communicate with Khalid via Google Translate.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank futomaki79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valvoil, Propriétaire at Riad Sekkat, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2012

A big thank you for this good comment ... 2012 target for Khalid and myself: try to improve our English. See you soon I hope!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2011

From our initial enquiry through to being taken back to the airport at the end of our stay, we could not have asked for more. All our questions prior to arriving were answered and our every need catered for when there. We were made to feel very special and welcome. Beautiful roses were in our room, courtyard and dining area. In the evening fairy lights and candles illuminated the private courtyard.

We were the only guests at the riad. Khalid and his wife were so attentive and thoughtful. Khalid patiently imparted his cooking skills to my husband in spite of the language difficulties given that my husband does not speak any French or Arabic.

Khalid hired a car and drove us to one of the beautiful valleys. He also took us to purchase our tagine and mobile accessories. On top of this he arranged for me to go to a traditional hammam that I requested and also for a massage for my husband.

We enjoyed most the personal attention that we received from Valérie when booking and prior to arriving as well as that of Khalid and his wife at the riad. We also enjoyed the calm and convenience of the riad. What we least enjoyed was leaving. We expected 7 days to be too long in Marrakech. In fact, we still have lots more to see and do so we will be going back to Riad Sekkat at the first possible opportunity.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Once again, we spent a wonderful stay at Riad Sekkat. Exceptional location, exceptional "cuisine", so peaceful. One of the best value for money option I found in Marrakech. It was once again too short. For sure, we will come back !

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbidule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauline d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valerie v, Propriétaire at Riad Sekkat, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 705martinec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valerie v, Propriétaire at Riad Sekkat, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ghislain D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valerie v, Propriétaire at Riad Sekkat, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: A l'étage pour l'ambiance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sylvainraybois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valerie v, Propriétaire at Riad Sekkat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Equity Point Marrakech Hostel
1 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#76 of 500 in Marrakech
2,173 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
0.2 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#41 of 500 in Marrakech
1,357 reviews
0.6 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#55 of 500 in Marrakech
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Sekkat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Sekkat

Address: 40 derb el Farnatchi | Rue Ahl Fes, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 314 Speciality Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range: £53 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic Riad comfort and tradition 5 minutes walk from the souks. Our steward on site throughout the year will be happy to assist you with any questions. Tranquility, calm space ... you are at home at Riad Sekkat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Sekkat Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing