We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not brilliant, but it was good enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Grand Imilchil
Ranked #427 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 21 April 2014

So we came here with a tour.

Place is perfectly reasonable for a few nights and, yes, a few things needed mending here and there, but so what.

Pool was nice enough. Food was perfectly adequate (actually really liked the meal on the first night!)

The bar was basic and didn't stay open late into the night, so essential to keep a good supply of bottled water handy.

There's a supermarket about 5 minutes walk away, so you can get plenty of provisions easily enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnonymousAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

I think a lot of the reviews for this hotel are unjustified. This is a not a 5* hotel is Paris. It's a 3* in a North African city and to be honest it is excellent value for the dirt cheap price. If you have travelled the rest of Morocco you will find that this is quite luxurious in comparison to a mud hut! I went with my partner as part of a tour group and found the staff very welcoming and helpful. The foyer is very traditionally decorated with mosaic, cushions and carpets. The room was very spacious and we had a large bed. We also had a good sized bath which was nice. Reasonably clean given the location. There was a pool which was nice to dip the toes in but we probably wouldn't have gone for a swim! I wouldn't recommend for a 'luxurious' or 'romantic' getaway but for a safe and comfy place to spend the night on a budget - yes! Also if you hate tour groups...probably not for you as several tour companies use it.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank missrose22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This place probably suffers from the fact it is used by a lot of budget travel companies, so in a way doesn't really need to try too hard.
On my arrival the reception staff were not too interested in helping.
The rooms are OK , Worn but clean, rather bland and spartan. The bathrooms are shabby, as are the towels and hot water totally unreliable. In December this was not a plus.
Public areas are ok, breakfast is good enough but not a buffet. We had dinner there the first night and I was delicious.
As part of a tour, it is a reasonable place, except for lack of hot water, but if you're an independent traveller, you'd be better of staying closer to the medina and in somewhere far more atmospheric and with some character.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank brysc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The negative reviews of this hotel were not warranted. It is acually quiet pleasant and while run down a little, this entire country is worn down a lot and one must take that into account when making expectations. The breakfast, criticized elsewhere, is actually quite good. The service and attitude of staff was friendly. It's not fancy, but clean and efficient, and nothing wrong with it either.

The hotel is located in the new town and lacks any atmosphere locally. For friendly chaos, book accommodation in the Medina, but don't expect high standards.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CelticNomadLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed here like a lot of people as a result of a booking from a trekking company. Stayed one night either side of the trek. The accommodation was clean and the staff very friendly but as previous posts have said it was well past its sell by date . In need of serious modernization. Breakfast was a fixed menu of bread roll , croissant , orange , cheese triangle , boiled egg , marmalade and coffee. Lifts clanked and groaned under the weight and we heard what sounded like wires parting. No drama though and we lived to tell the tale. I have to mark it very low as a result of the actions of the man who took our bags to the taxi. We had pre booked the cab through the tour guide for the airport and was told 100 Dirhams . The porter tried to tell us it was now 150 because of the cases. This was an obvious attempt at getting a kick back . We refused to pay up front so he never got his bung from the driver . I advise all travelers to agree a price up front and refuse to budge when they try it on.

Room Tip: Higher up for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FC381CC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The location is excellent for the price. About 10 minute walk to main square, but pleasant walk along the city wall - you can always get a cab for 20MD (£2).

My room was quite large for one person and had a balcony overlooking the pool area. Room was clean but a little outdated, which is very common for Morocco. The downtairs area is nicely set out with plenty of seating places and also has a little restaurant. The food in the restaurant is quite good, but not a lot of choice.

Has WI-FI in your room - big bonus for Morocco :-)

Breakfast was basic but ample consisting of tea/coffee, breads, croissant, jam etc - the best part is the freshly squeezed orange juice!

Staff are very lovely - nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetaMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed here at the beginning and end of a two week trek in the High atlas. Contrary to many of the reviews I was pleasantly surprised. It isn't 4 star by UK standards but both our rooms were clean with comfortable beds. Service was occasionally a bit haphazard but the staff were courteous and keen to help. It would have been nice to stay a little closer to the centre of town, but standards were higher than in a lot of hotels I've stayed in while participating in adventure holidays in Europe. No complaints at all!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Akabar
Hotel Akabar
#417 of 500 in Marrakech
128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Narjisse
Hotel Narjisse
#310 of 500 in Marrakech
56 reviews
1 mi away
Agdal Hotel
Agdal Hotel
#448 of 500 in Marrakech
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Amani Hotel Appart
Amani Hotel Appart
#181 of 500 in Marrakech
290 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Oudaya
Hotel Oudaya
#392 of 500 in Marrakech
455 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Amssaffah
Riad Amssaffah
#475 of 500 in Marrakech
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Grand Imilchil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Grand Imilchil

Address: Avenue Echouhada Hivernage, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #427 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £28 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Grand Imilchil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing