We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely Relaxed in Marrakech”
Review of Riad Awa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Riad Awa
Ranked #410 of 1,172 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2010

This Riad is perfect if you want an inexpensive retreat from the bustle of Marrakech. Perfectly located near the city walls and in the Kasbah district the Riad is clean, stylish and incredibly calm.

The plunge pool was fantastic for cooling off from the heat and staff were always around to find cool drinks. The food we had at the Riad was amazing and we had two good meals out at Kosybar and La Tanjia - both an easy walk from the Riad.

We went for a relaxing holiday and thanks to the hospitality of Martine and her wonderful staff we felt very pampered. Would definately recommend it as a great base for exploring the magical cty of Marrakech.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vauclusegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2010

This is just the perfect place to be!

Marrakech is charming and full of energy but you need a place like this one to relaxe from all this confusion. I have no words to describe how the place is charming, friendly, beautifull with the best staffs and hosts that you can imagine.

Located at the entrance of the medina, this is a perfect location. The taxi was able to droped off just in front of the Riad and at the same time, you can walk into the hard of the medina in 5 minutes.

Unfortunately, we spent only one night at this riad since we booked in another top rated Riad. The other place was fantastic and beautiful but not as friendly and confortable as this one. On our last night, we had a perfect dinner on the terrasse of the Riad even if we weren't logging at this riad anymore...it was just divine.

We highly recommende this Riad if you want to feel like home and at the same time get the special attention that we like when we pay and travel.

Thanks Martine and Henry,

Your new friends forever,

Claudia and Mathieu

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mathieuportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

We had the pleasure of just two nights at this wonderful riad. Dropped at the door by the taxi and entered into another world - beautiful interiors - light and airy, cool and refreshing. Greeted by Henri and his wonderful attentive staff with refreshing mint tea. Then a quick tour of the riad - a wonderfully spacious room with fantastic shower. Upstairs a cool inviting lounge area and above that a wonderful terrace on two levels with a cool plunge pool. Sunbathing lounges and soft furnishings, shaded areas too. Amazing. Daily entertainment from the storks gliding above our heads.
Apart from gorgeous breakfasts of fresh fruit, pastries, etc we had just one lunch which was spectacular. Ice cold wines and beers to cool down with.
All in all - we would highly recommend this riad to everyone thinking of visiting Marrakech. It's location is perfect - just inside the medina walls, less than 10 minutes to the main square.
Just two words: STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

Just got back from 4 nights in the Marrakech staying in the Riad Awa, everything about the place was perfect! Henri was very welcoming, showing us around the riad and giving excellent recommendations for restaurants, bars and must see sights. Although the staff mainly spoke French their English was of a good standard.

The standard of the riad was amazing, it was so clean, very modern but not tacky, very cosy and had amazing showers! One of the main reasons for choosing the riad was the new roof terrace pool, which was perfect for the lazy afternoons in the sun! The staff at the riad were really friendly and always catered to any requests.

The riad is in a perfect looking not too far away from the square, but close to other sights and in perfect position to grab a taxi to the new part of the city to go for a nice meal or cool bar. Which i would highly recommend doing one night as it is a nice relaxing break to get away from the hustle n go to nice bars for a change.

I would also recommend having a meal in the riad, we did this the first night as we arrived quite late and it ended up being the best meal we ate all week! the Moroccan salad was amazing!

Overall Marrakech is an amazing experience and everyone must go at least once! A riad is a perfect choice for accommodation and in particular this riad can not be faulted! Henri, Martine and all of the staff are friendly and made our stay special!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRAVELLERYEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Just had 4 days at the Riad Awa and loved it. Martine and her staff were lovely and couldn't have been more helpful. The Riad is a great location close to all the central attractions. The breakfast was gorgeous, fresh fruit and pastries on acanopied terrace. The Riad is modern and immaculate and the staff were very friendly and only too willing to provide what they could. Martine made some brilliant recommendations. The Riad was great value.The roof top plunge pool was very refreshing on scorching afternoons after a hot morning haggling in the souk. We will definately go back to Riad Awa. Martine helped organise a trip to the Atlas mountains and dinner at La Mamounia. All we had to do was ask. Thank you so much.If you go, visit the bains de marrakech(book in advance)-fabulous!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 62MrsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

We visited for a four day stay and booked on line. Even before we arrived the communication with Henri was spot on. Taxi wes at airport as arranged. The Riad is perfect location, taxi dropped us on the doorstep. And a 8 minute stroll to the main square, around the corner from la Bains marrakh and no more than 10 mins taxi from the main tourist hot spots.
From the moment we walked in we knew we had picked well. Great friendly welcome by Martine (main language french but got by with the help of her staff). Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful interior, and very cool considering it was high thirties outside. Room was as on th pictures, clean and very comfortable. Huge shower. We had a great stay, very peacful Riad, perfect for the get away we needed. The pool, on the roof terrace was just a god send to cool off and relax, with drinks and haveeven breakfast The staff were very helpful, recommended places to visit, eat and even places to avoid as over hyped tourist spots.
We got massages on site in the massage/hammam room so was lovely to be able to just chill. The first night we ate at the Riad, and honestly, probably the best meal we had in Marrakeh. All round brilliant, look forward to going back soon, probably with our mates.
Things I would like to see...fridge in the room with water, as had to ask staff for water, who were prompt but, would be nice to have in room to store. No other changes, just perfect the way it is.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curry-Lounge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Lovely riad, perfect located, wonderful host, Henri, his wife and staff were all so kind and helpfull. The Riad itself is so calm and peaceful which is something you look forward to after a day out in Marakech. You won't regret staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheOwls93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
7 mi away
Palais de l'O
Palais de l'O
#498 of 1,172 in Marrakech
208 reviews
1 mi away
Riad Dar-K
Riad Dar-K
#50 of 1,172 in Marrakech
406 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#79 of 500 in Marrakech
2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
1 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#42 of 500 in Marrakech
1,315 reviews
4.5 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Awa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Awa

Address: 6 Derb El Hajra Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #410 of 1,172 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £65 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Awa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Awa is located in the south of the Marrakesh medina, in the Kasbah district.So it is next to the Royal Palace, the Saadian Tombs, and it is situated near the Bahia and Badi palaces.The owners, Martine and Henri, will welcome you in this contemporary place, made with all Moroccan handcrafted resources.The guesthouse is composed of 6 bedrooms which are very different ones from the others, but all are equipped with : bathrobe, hairdryer, body products, reversible air-conditioner and wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Awa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Awa Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing