We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Friendly Riad”
Review of Dar Loula

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Loula
Ranked #332 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 25 October 2011

When I first approached the Hotel in my taxi from the airport, I was suddenly filled with worry. Tucked away in an alley in the old (stranger) part of town I was expecting, to be honest, a hovel. Luckily the actual Hotel was the complete opposite!

The Riad is like staying in a friends house; the staff are friendly and happy, the rooms are cosy and homely and the breakfast is simple yet filling. As a group of two young girls (both under 21), the hotel felt safe and comfortable. The air conditioning was very lovely, and super strong, just what you need in a summer in Morocco. The rooms had lovely traditional furniture and fabrics and it felt authentic - which for me, was exactly what I was aiming for.

You are free to roam around the Riad whenever you like - there is a lovely selection of comfy nooks with sofas and a lovely roof terrace with sun loungers for all important tanning!
Some of the staff are a little strange, and mostly only speak french, but did their best to help us at all times.

I would definitely recommend for affordable, fun travelling!

Room Tip: While we were there we changed rooms twice and peaked into all of them. They are pretty much all of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shannon a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2011

Before we came to Marrakesh I was a little concerned about finding Dar Loula as different maps placed it in different locations - for those looking to book it, it's through the tinsmith's square, round the corner to the left from the entrance to the Badii Palace - but when we found it we were so glad we'd booked it despite this concern.

The guesthouse is an oasis of tranquillity in a hectic city (the only noise to wake you up is the birds) and it has a beautiful terrace garden which we had to ourselves for most of our stay. We loved our bedroom and large shower, and the hotel interior is magical. The staff are really accommodating too - when we didn't have a small note to pay for a drink we'd bought, the receptionist told us not to worry and to pay him when we got back.

It was so fab that we began to worry the price we'd paid (£200 for a double room for 7 nights) was just a deposit and we were expecting to be charged more when we left - however, the staff just waved us off, leaving us totally surprised! If we return to Marrakesh we will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank crf07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

beautifully restored old riad, well located in Southern part of Medina. Quiet, beautiful terrace, average breakfast, handy travel service - email for airport taxi at 15 euros or 150 dirham. was dreading going after review of place on here as a "nightmare", but very pleased indeed - at £12.50 per night each for b and b - couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: we had safia room - small but well decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank andaleWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

I read the reviews for this Riad and was amazed so had no hesitation in booking it for a week on a B&B basis. I wasnt expecting the Ritz for these prices and I certainly didnt get the Ritz. We had upgraded to a superior room but my goodness it wasnt what we expected. The room was tiny, a small double bed, two bedside lockers that were stuck so they coulndnt be open without a struggle, a little wrought iron coffee table with chairs, a dressing table and a small wardrobe. If that wasnt enought the room was very dirty, the carpets had not been vacuumed in a long time, the dust on the bedstead was thick,and to cut a long story short everything was grubby and shabby. We werent sure if the bed had been changed the sheets were creased and had a few hairs in it, we ended up taking them off and shaking them and putting them back on upside down. Needless to say we didnt sleep very well (late arrival time so couldnt go elsewhere). It's not over folks........the shower had creeping black mould, the light fitting had bare wires and no shade, the towels were disgusting very very thin and hard with ground in dirt and the toilet....well I'll let you use your imagination.
We were offered another room but on inspection they were all the same. Dont know where the standard rooms were, we were taken to all but one of the rooms so if you do ignore this review dont pay for an upgrade there doesnt seem to be any.
please dont spoil your holiday by picking this place there are so many great riads in the medina.We lost a whole day getting somewhere else because everywhere was booked but eventually got a fantastic Riad but at a cost. Marrakech is AMAZING you just have to learn to say No thanks a lot of the time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LENA195621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Our first visit to Marrakech and this riad was just what we imagined it would be. Tucked away ,(don't be put off by the location) but once inside this house was attractively furnished and very clean. The staff were helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was basic with freshly squeezed orange jiuce and tea or coffee (buy some milk if you want English-style tea), pancakes and bread with jam or honey.

We were initially given the downstairs bedroom, which was furnished in the Moroccan style and very comfortable, but there was no window which I found rather off-putting. We asked if we could be moved, and on our third night we were moved to a room off the galleried landing which had a window overlooking the courtyard. There were no windows opening to the outside, which takes some getting used to! As it was still winter, the roof opening was still covered over with a plastic tarpaulin, so you had no way of knowing what the weather was like until you went outside! The odd thing about our second bedroom was that there was no hanging space in the wardrobe, just shelving.

If you need a hairdryer you have to ask for it. Hassan, the night duty man wasn't aware of this, so I asked Khadija, who served us breakfast and she was happy to lend me hers each morning. Don't take any notice of sites that tell you take loo paper, every one we visited had proper soft paper, just like here!

Dar Loula has a lovely roof terrace on two levels with sun loungers and chairs and tables. There is also a jaccuzi hot tub.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shertur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Maaariiionnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nicola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Central Palace
Hotel Central Palace
#346 of 501 in Marrakech
101 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#296 of 501 in Marrakech
114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Chennaoui Marrakech
Riad Chennaoui Marrakech
#334 of 501 in Marrakech
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Yara
Riad Yara
#398 of 501 in Marrakech
2 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#244 of 501 in Marrakech
150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#324 of 501 in Marrakech
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Loula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Loula

Address: 102, derb Sabaa | Quartier Berrima - Médina, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#166 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £21 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Loula 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Dar Loula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Loula Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing