We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short first visit to Marrakech. Excellent!”
Review of Riad Dar Shana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Dar Shana
Ranked #418 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The Riad is lovely, very well appointed and we found it very clean.
The manager Mohamed is the perfect gentlemen and catered for us perfectly as did the other staff.
We had a great stay and felt very looked after, all our questions were answered quickly and efficiently.

The property is some 15 to 20 mins walk from the centre of town which is what we wanted, but to be aware that a brisk walk to the centre is needed. Having said that it's much quieter than a more central location although you would struggle to find anywhere in the Medina peaceful.

Have noticed other comments regarding the area being intimidating or threatening, we found it fine, sure a little earthy but had no hassle whatsoever from the locals in the side streets leading to the Riad. We enjoyed staying in an area which felt like a real living part of the city rather than a more sterile tourist orientated illusion.

Upside - real authentic area, great customer service and food
Downside - decent walk to the centre of town (personally this wasn't a downside but would be for some)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

The riad is not easy to find, the owner was extremely unfriendly and not helpful (even agressive when we asked for another room). The rooms where ok but dirty. There are plenty of hotels in the medina that are very nice to stay in! I would definitely NOT recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Btissamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I stayed here with three other female friends. The place is very difficult to find if you go through the old city to get to it. You really need to go around the main road. The owner started off being friendly but as our stay progressed he became quite rude and was visibily drunk late at night. Due to the sim cards we purchased from the airport we did not know the actual time in Marrakech. As silly as this sounds, the time we had on our watches was about an hour or two behind the actual time. We had a great deal of difficulty getting to Morrocco due to our flight from Malaga being cancelled despite us not being notified and having to wait a day to get another flight so we were very tired by the time we got to Marrakech.

On one night we got black henna tattoos done. Returning to the riad we decided to sit in the small spa and some of the henna tattoo came off into the pool. The owner expressed his displeasure and told us that the black henna was poison and that we were staining his pool. This took us by surprise but we assumed he was saying this with our interests in mind.

The room we had could not be locked from the inside, this made us feel a bit uncomfortable. Also, the Riad cannot be accessed after hours without the owner having to open the door. He did not provide us a key nor tell us that if we are late that he would be woken up to come in. We arrived one night at about midnight as we were lost in the old town and it was only with the help of a local guy that we found our way back and the owner was very furious. He started swearing at us, and yelling at our helper. His behaviour was very aggresive. So much so that it brought one of the girls to tears.

When it came to checking out, he charged us more than the rate we had booked the place.

Overall, I would not recommend this place for women. I would not recommend this place for non-European/white travellers as it seems that the treatment of guests depends on their skin colour. At least that is how it felt for some of us.

Room Tip: I do not recommend this place. Room was too cramped for four people despite the host offering this a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AlishaTilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Stayed there for two nights, loved it! Feels like home, nice food, cosy atmosphere, friendly staff!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agnoolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Clean, comfortable, small rustic riad with a more than welcoming owner - Mustafa.
The only downfall is location - near the door Bab Ailen (as far as the taxi can go), amid slum-like houses, a bit scary at night but apparently very secure (we had no problems coming in late all 4 nights). Good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachella84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

We stayed with Moustafa for 3 nights at the start of our family holiday. We could not be happier with the experience. The rooms were beautiful & authentic. The level of service from Moustafa & his female staff was 10 star. The riad itself is nothing short of stunning & it was hard to leave each morning to go exploring.

Three things may deter some travelers: 1. If you are a very light sleeper or you like to nap at times when other guests may be coming/going then you may find the noise levels bouncing around the enclosed courtyard layout too much. This is just the way riads are designed & built - not any fault of the owners. 2. The standard/included breakfast is very simple (bread/yoghurt/t&c) so you will have to pay for a bigger/more varied breakfast.
3. There is no WiFi or hotel computer but Moustafa was more than generous with his personal laptop when we needed to check something online for ten minutes.

None of these things detracted from our overall opinion/experience of the riad - please don't read them as criticisms - just things to consider for some travelers.

The location was nice too - about a 10-15 minute walk (through ever-changing, always interesting streets) to the center of the old city. At night you are away from all the noise & crowds & it feels like you own little hideaway in back of the city.

We would highly recommend this riad to anyone visiting Marrakesh.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barneyontheboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

A very nice little Riad in Marrakesh, only 5 but very nicely decorated rooms in Morrocain style, comfortable beds, a nice little swimmingpool to chill when it is too hot (whe we visited in February it was not the case...); nice reading room and a good terrace on the top
The owner and staff is doing everything for your stay to be perfect, including helping you to find this hideaway when arriving. Diner is excellent fresh and plentiful (you have to order in the morning). Breakfast with nice frech Morrocian pancakes.

Dar Shana is situated a 15-20 min walk away to the main square Jemna el Fna and the Souks. But it is a pleasant walk through a less "touristy "but lively through le quartier d'Aylane and the Madina. Enjoy watching the everyday life of the people of the medina on the way, you pass ocal shops, barbers, mosques...

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flobard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.4 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 499 in Marrakech
2,112 reviews
2.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
0.5 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#41 of 499 in Marrakech
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
5.1 mi away
Iberostar Club Palmeraie Marrakech
1.2 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#269 of 499 in Marrakech
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Shana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Shana

Address: 80 Bis Derb Mejjat Bab Ailane, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #418 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £55 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Shana 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad Dar Shana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing