We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Riad”
Review of Riad Andalla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Andalla
Ranked #24 of 1,172 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This was our first trip to Marrakech but we were made to feel completely at ease in a new culture. Christophe (the owner) organised transfers from the airport to the Riad which helped as we wouldn't have found it without help! We were welcomed with mint tea and cookies on the roof terrace and our luggage taken to our room. Christophe talked us through the places to visit, provided us with maps and told us the best/safest routes so we wouldn't get lost. He also told us rough price guides that we should haggle to so we didn't pay over the odds.

We ordered a meal for the first night so we didn't have to worry about finding a place to eat and it was by far the best meal we had in Marrakech. I would thoroughly recommend eating at least once in the Riad, it is a truly wonderful experience on the rooftop. Christophe also recommends other good places to eat for all price ranges despite them serving food at the Riad and offers to book tables for you.

The room was spotless and we had no problems whatsoever (make sure you put the plug down after showers like they say). We had a little trouble with the wifi at first but once we found the right place to sit it worked fine! Breakfast on the roof terrace each morning was magical and Abdul (the night porter) couldn't have done any more to help - despite the language barrier. The Riad was in a perfect location for visiting ALL of Marrakech and we would absolutely return! I would recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: We had zouina (as a double room) which was lovely - not much storage room for clothes though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,848)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

409 - 415 of 1,848 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

This was such an amazing place to stay on our first visit to Marrakech. Christophe organised a taxi from the airport then a guide (with a barrow for our luggage) to lead us to the riad. We would never have found it on our own! However, it is in a really good position close to Djemaa al-anfa and all the sights of the Medina. The view from the beautifully furnished terrace of the square and the snow capped Atlas mountains to the south is hypnotic. We spent a long time just gazing at it all in amazement. Christophe's advice about how to get around, what to see and what to avoid was invaluable and meant we made the most of our visit. Breakfast on the terrace served by the charming Abdul was delicious and varied a little each day. We also had dinner at the riad on our first night and that was very good too. Our room was prettily decorated but was a tad small for us, and all our stuff, so when I return I would try to book a slightly bigger one. As others have said, all the team were cheery and helpful - we really felt at home.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aelfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The location of this riad is excellent. its very close to the main square and has a lovely roof top terrace where they serve a great free breakfast. While you are eating breakfast you can watch the merchants setting up for the day. At night the view of the square is amazing! Its also very close to the beginning of the souks. You must try the fresh orange juice in the square it is amazing! The raid is tucked away from the main road so you have to navigate a few small street/alleys to get there. We arranged transportation with Christophe to pick us up at the airport and they took us all the way to the riad which was excellent because I dont know if i would have found the place on our own. Christophe and the staff are fantastic and welcomed us with amazing mint tea. He answered all our questions and was very helpful. The staff were always smiling and although there are no real locks on the rooms i never felt unsafe. You have to buzz into the riad to be let in which is a nice safety feature. Its very quiet, relaxing and beautiful. There was always pleanty of hot water and our 3 person suite was amazing (90 Euros/night). When we checked out Christophe give each of us a nice thank you metal bookmark which was a nice surprise. I highly recommend the Riad Andalla.

Room Tip: When we first got there we were the only travellers so we were able to peek into a couple of the oth...
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank giddygal19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I could not find any faults about this Riad. Location wise, it is absolutely just a stone throw away from Djemaa al-afna . And like the other reviews about the staff here, they are truly a very admirable team. Always friendly, and dependable. I must thank Christophe for having such a great staff, as well as being a wonderful host. I enjoyed staying at this Riad. I never felt like a tourist because Christophe made us very comfortable, and the place always inviting and quiet amidst the chaotic daily life outside the Riad. The Riad is beautifully decorated, with a wonderful roof top terrace over looking the square... Magnificent view at night and day time, as the Medina and the square come to life.
I must say the best cup of Mint tea I've ever drank was from Riad Andalla! Thank you for opening your Riad to the world Chritophe... and many thanks for your tips....

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Byroenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The location of the Riad is fanastic, the staff are unsurpassable in their friendly welcomes and Christophe is a wonderful host.

The views from the roof terrace where breakfast is served are amazing. We also really enjoyed watching the medina come to life in the early evening from the roof terrace then throwing oursleves in knowing that we only had a two minute walk to escape - it really makes a huge difference to your stay.

There are no locks on the room doors & the loud housekeeping staff mean that afternoon snoozes are out, but otherwise a really fantastic Riad.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We were really welcomed into Riad Andalla. The location is like no other. They made our stay so welcoming and the decore was beautiful. We were even upgraded for our last night to a suite!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlinaEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Couldn't ask for a better introduction to Marrakech! Room was spot on, breakfast fab, recommendations were perfect!! Mint tea Super Duper! Location amazing!!!! we felt like it was or home! All staff were perfect! Top marks and big hugs to all x x x x cant wait to come back!

Room Tip: Our suite for 3 Bachacoma something!?! only had a window in the bathroom but it was still perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NaomiWoodruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#82 of 499 in Marrakech
558 reviews
0.3 mi away
Andalla Riad & Spa
Andalla Riad & Spa
#2 of 1,172 in Marrakech
170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#7 of 1,172 in Marrakech
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Boussa
Riad Boussa
#12 of 1,172 in Marrakech
1,129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Itrane
Riad Itrane
#22 of 1,172 in Marrakech
1,061 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Aguaviva
Riad Aguaviva
#9 of 1,172 in Marrakech
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Andalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Andalla

Address: 15 Derb Zaari | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 1,172 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £56 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Andalla 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional House, Riad Andalla, typically charming and full of Moroccan warm and friendly, is ideally situated on the famous, mythical and magical Djemaa el Fna, at the gates of the souks and the center of many historic monuments. Riad Andalla has 6 rooms and 2 suites decorated with passion and originality, and has the most beautiful terrace in Marrakech: Riad Andalla offers a unique view, unique and the Treasures of Marrakech, such as the Djemaa el Fna, the archetype of Islamic monuments, the Koutoubia and the majestic mountains of the Atlas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Andalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Andalla Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing