We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Moroccan Treasure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Massine II

Riad Massine II
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Massine II
Ranked #156 of 276 Speciality Lodging in Marrakech
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Moroccan Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Everything about this place is amazing- though the breakfast is very small
The Staff were very friendly; reception and kitchen staff will do anything to make sure your stay is pleasant
The decor is quite traditional; a 19th century building
Great location: only a 20 minute walk from bus station and 10 minutes to Souks and food stalls
I would definitley return and recommend to any type of traveller

Room Tip: Dorms are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikkibaddeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
2
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Just got back from a week in Morocco, and if you're going to Marrakech I wouldn't look any further than this place...it's fab!
It's surprisingly cheap for what you get - lovely rooms with REALLY nice bathrooms, air con and beautiful decor. The breakfast isn't included, but is pretty cheap and really nice (fresh oj, tea, bread and pancakes).
But what truly makes this place special is the staff. I've travelled the world, and the staff here are some of the best! Really friendly and helpful - and even had a wee birthday party for my friend! They really made us feel at home and welcome.
Couldn't recommend it more!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nichroil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

wow.... i am now preparing to leave riad massine II and i want to share with others my experience

i have stayed on and off here during my trip to morocco and it has been such a treat to stay here

the rooms have air con and are super clean. the bathrooms are spacious and hot water is in abundance should you need it

the riad itself if perfectly situated close to the main square. some 10 minute walk. it is traditional style with a beautiful rooftop terrace
the owners of the property treat you like family and this has been a huge part of its charm.....

its a wonderful place and comes highly recommended. at 5 GBP per night, it is a total bargain

i went for a hammam on sunday, and this experience was one in a life time. the landlady khadija organised this for me, and this acitivity is a must for any traveller looking for something traditional and special to do. it was only 12 UK pounds: again, great price

the cheapest and best place to stay in marrakech. i will certainly come back here.....

shukran to the massine family for your hospitality and kindess

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babs3428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

I spent a week at the Riad Massine, and I found the staff to be very hostile and rude, especially Muhammad. He was disrespectful to my friends and even refused us service....And the ultimate act of hostility, he locked my friend in her room from the outside and proceeded to run out of the building, unaware that I was watching. Overall, it may be inexpensive, but is it worth it when the service is terrible?

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hima G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortaleza, CE
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Stuff are very nice and friendly. The Breakfast so delicious. Me and my friend had a great time there. The mananger was very atencious with us and gave us all the tips to enjoy this wonderful city. After one day or two you can get used with the strange darks ways to arrive in the hostel. It's not dangerous. Miss Marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrennaRDamasceno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

Loved everything about this place, the location - close to the Efna, the staff which was very very helpful, the conditions were more than ok for a hostel, the free shisha and mint tea :)

Would recommend to get their airport transfer service, as it can be very difficult to find it the first time !

One thing that need improvement is the breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlorinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

The hostel was "illegal". There was no sign or anything and you are not asked for any information. You just pay and go to your room. So if anything happens to you, there's no official data of your stay in this hostel. It is like you are just staying at some random house in Marrakech. So it is not really safe. Location is not safe either as you have to walk through dark tunnels to reach. And there are no signs neither on the way nor on the door of the hostel. And the rooms are unlocked. No keys.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asteroidb612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#88 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Nabila
Riad Dar Nabila
#291 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#87 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#74 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
0.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Massine II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Massine II

Property: Riad Massine II
Address: 50 Derb Sidi Mohamed L'Haj- Bab Doukala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 276 Speciality Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in an old principal residential district, in the middle of the souks, you can enjoy the major places of interest of Marrakesh (souks, Majorelle gardens, Koutubia Mosque,Pacha Glaoui Palace…), and the Marrakesh enchanting golf courses. The ancient Riad was restored to its initial state (Spanish-Berber style) using the local and traditional materials of Morocco to provide our guests with all the comfort needed. The Riad can accommodate up to 20 guests, and the whole house can be booked by a single group. With its inventive and delicate cuisine, this magical Riad is the ideal place to digest the delicious flavors of Morocco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Massine II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing