We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A door is opened and suddenly you are in a retreat of peace and calm after the melee and vibrancy that is the Medina”
Review of Riad Alboraq

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Alboraq
Ranked #79 of 1,139 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Frimley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A door is opened and suddenly you are in a retreat of peace and calm after the melee and vibrancy that is the Medina”
Reviewed 9 June 2010

The Al-Boraq is situated to the north of the Medina, which is a ten minute walk away. The riad is exquisitely decorated and the bedrooms all have an individual style. We stayed with Yves for five days in mid May. A huge thankyou to him and his staff who made our stay just perfect. I suppose the best compliment you can pay anyone is to say that you will return. I can assure you (and Yves) that we most certainly will. Smiro and his wife (superb cook) along with Aisha took care of us as if we were their family - nothing was any trouble. The sun terrace was our sanctuary in the mid afternoons and the plunge pool was there if we needed to cool down. Thanks once again Yves. Lindsey and Alan

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AMPFrimley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    43
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
221
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Very friendly people, very beautiful rooms, a little cool pool, a sunroof, ... everything you wish for!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juliedebie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We spent two nights at the Riad Alboraq because our other riad was only available for one night. This riad was beautiful and exceeded our expectations in every way. It's new so it's rating on trip advisor does not yet reflect how wonderful it is. The service was impeccable - the owner paid for a cab from our other riad and personally walked us from the taxi to this riad (the riad's can be quite tough to locate in the medina). We were served a tasty breakfast every morning with piping hot coffee and tea and pastries on the rooftop terrace each afternoon. The owner and his family were very warm and the owner speaks English and was able to arrange several tours for us on the spot. He also had good restaurant recommendations for us. Finally, he assisted us with trains/transport out of Marakkech. The riad was very clean and the rooms were beautiful!
Bottomline - impeccable service and beautiful riad:)

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lvillaSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

This Riad was everything we could have hoped for as women traveling in a city unknown to all of us. Personable and generous with their time, the owner and manager were available for questions, directions, and even a rescue of lost visitors. Morning started with a wake up call and as if being serenaded from a magic carpet, the call to prayer comes wafting in. All the meals were worth their weight in gold. Coming back after a day out to authentic regional meals at night (if wanted) was a welcomed treat. We were even lucky enough to stay up late a few nights to get recipes and cooking instructions from Saida- a jewel herself. This Riad added to our experience of Marrakech. Small, personable, clean, beautiful to the eye; a real oasis from the constant motion of the city.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jgm2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2009

Hidden behind an anonymous door in the north part of the Medina, Riad Alboraq is a gem of an oasis – relatively new, minimally and tastefully decorated in a city where decorative touches can be overbearing. The Riad is efficiently managed; we found it a haven after a day of sensory overload in the souks and Place Djemma El Fna

It was our first visit to Marrakech, so were grateful for all the care an attention given by the owners Yves and Marie Lynn and the staff Smiro and Saida. We were treated like family members and they went out of their way to ensure for our care and safety. Although it is a 15-minute walk from the main souks, we thought that was more ideal than being located in the thick of it –quiet and calm, yet easily accessible.

The dinners cooked by Saida were excellent – home cooked with enormous portions and her pastries were divine! Leave your sugar-control back home – their mint teas were far more fragrant than those we drank anywhere else.

The rooms are good-sized, very clean and the bathrooms and toilets have efficient Western plumbing – no mean feat within the ancient walls of the Medina!

Being ex-Kenyans, we enjoyed living Riad-style, as you are enclosed by four walls, in your own little world, overlooking a cool inner garden with a small pool and relaxation area, or you can sit by the fire-place in the living room or dining room should it be chilly. There’s also the terrace where the white and pink bougainvilleas will soon trail around its perimeter. It’s like being at home, with friends, and not at all like being in an anonymous hotel. This is where you appreciate genuine hospitality over the practiced but fake veneer of a multi-national hotel. They were sensitive enough to schedule breakfast and optional mealtimes around our own schedules. Nothing was too much to accommodate.

They really do try to ensure that your visit is trouble-free beginning with an airport pick-up, a personally walked guide to the main souk and Place Djemma El Fna on the first day, yet they oversee everything with a light touch. The Riad is ideal for hiring out for whole families so that you are in a home away from home.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank baaabbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2009

we had a great 7 days discovering the Medina from this lovely Riad, although the area was described to us as the ghetto on a couple of occasions we didn't feel at greater threat here compared to anywhere else in the medina.

the cooking here by Saida was superb and we was unfortunate to miss out on her Pastila, dinner at the Riad is recommended but not the cheapest option by far. Mint Tea and pastries on the terrace in the sun was also a highlight.

We would definitely recommend Riad Al Boraq, you wont regret it

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bexstar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BARCELONA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

It's really an experience to be in this riad. The people is really nice & kind and the Riad is just wonderful and precious.
The good taste is always present in this place. I will come back to the same Riad by sure!!
Regards from Spain.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BCN28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#124 of 499 in Marrakech
332 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riad el Noujoum
Riad el Noujoum
#209 of 499 in Marrakech
134 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Bounouar
Riad Dar Bounouar
#100 of 499 in Marrakech
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Les Lauriers Blancs
Riad Les Lauriers Blancs
#99 of 1,139 in Marrakech
416 reviews
11.7 mi away
Palais Amador
Palais Amador
#38 of 1,139 in Marrakech
136 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Altair
Riad Altair
#39 of 1,139 in Marrakech
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Alboraq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alboraq

Property: Riad Alboraq
Address: 49, derb taht sour lakbir | zaouia al abbassia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 1,139 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Alboraq 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By opening our doors, we open the heart of the Medina with its mysteries, its magnetism and its friendly hospitality. Riad Al Boraq will give you a genuine experience in the heart of the Medina just 15 minutes from the famous “Djamaa El Fna”, in the Sidi Bel Abbes' neighborhood which was one of the seven saints of Marrakech ...The pure Zen style of the riad combines with a friendly and professional service to ensure you a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Riad Alboraq reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing