We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis”
Review of Riad Azoulay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Azoulay
Ranked #32 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2013

When we were first walking to this Riad we weren't sure what to expect but lo and behold the doors opened to an absolutely pristine and incredible oasis. The staff was incredible. The owner, Massimiliano will cater to your every need. The food was excellent and the massages were spectacular. And of course, there is the friendly turtle (Max?) who is well known for being the fastest turtle in the world. He will greet you as soon as you sit down for a welcome drink. My only small gripe is the area the riad is in. If you return to the riad after the markets close, the area is a bit sketchy. This is not unusual in Marrakech but there are riads in which we would have felt a bit safer when we came back late. Nonetheless, the location is excellent in terms of accessibility to the markets and the city squares. I highly, highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jgoal55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 858 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

It was my first time in Marrakech and I spent 3 wonderful days in Riad Azoulay.

The location of the riad is great, a 5 minutes walk from the Djemaa el-Fna place.
The riad is beautiful, very charming and nicely decorated. My room was small but very cute and pretty quiet.
The breakfast changes everyday and it is trully delicious. Weather premitted, I strongly recommend to have it served on the beautiful roof top rather than inside in the central patio.

But the most amazing thing about the riad is the staff. Massimiliano and his staff are so kind, always willing to help and to facilitate your stay.

Definitely a great address, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElofromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I took my family of four children to Marrakech by car from London. A wonderful journey and it was a pleasure to arrive at this Riad. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The service is personal and the breakfasts and dinners a real pleasure. The Riad is in the middle of the spice market and the Riad is found along a maze of small streets, like an oasis. I would really recommend this place and when we return to Marrakech I'll be staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My friend and I stayed at Riad Azoulay last week for 3 nights. It’s by far our favorite memory of Marrakech. A home away from home and an escape from the bustling square, souks and motorbikes outside. We loved every bits of the Riad: the deco and design are beautiful yet not over the top; the rooms are spacious and clean; the owner and staff are so welcoming, kind and helpful; the food was delicious… One of our favorite things to do is to drink mint tea and have cookies on the terrace at night. Two girls in Marrakech for the first time can be hectic but with the help from the staff at the Riad, it really made things so much easier and enjoyable for us. They arranged transportation from the airport, they even bought train tickets for us and arranged last minute dromedary rides. Younes is so helpful and friendly. He showed us how to get to various places and he found the bracelet my friend left behind and brought to us before we got in the taxi – THANK YOU YOUNES!
Regarding the comments of the location and the 4 o’clock prayer from some of the previous reviewers, we really didn’t find either being a big deal. The Riad is in the Jewish quarter of the medina (south side) and inside a dark alley. The shops around it close around 10pm. However, unless you are planning to party until 2am in Marrakech, it’s really not that big a deal to walk back at night (although it’s better if you are not alone). Both of us are good sleepers so we went right back to sleep after the prayer.
We highly recommend the Riad to anyone visiting Marrakech!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

When we arrived in Marrakech we were picked up at the airport, which Riad Azoulay arranged. Upon arrival we were greeted at the door by Max, the owner. He made us feel very welcome. The staff are courteous and polite and made us feel at home straight away.
The Riad itself if stunning. Tastefully decorated, with each room having its own character. Cooking class and dinner not to be missed.
Stefano

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve15071970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Our first stop in Morocco was in Marrakech and we stayed at Azoulay for 3 nights. Everything was fine, it was clean, the staff were very helpful and friendly- showed us around the medina, and provided us with tips about how much to pay the taxis. The cookies and tea were so nice when we would come back from a long hot day of exploring. Unfortunately, it was too hot to enjoy the balcony. We were upgraded to the Royal Suite, probably because no one else was staying there at the time - it is July in Morocco. The only thing I would criticize is the breakfast, some eggs or fruit would have been nice, besides all the bread. The location is fine, we didn't feel it was too far from anything. All of the merchants definitely let you know that you were in the Jewish part, each time you passed by. Unfortunately, we did explore the synagogue or the cemetery.

BTW, the beds are very hard.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelforlifePhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Riad Azoulay located in the middle of the old Jewish spice market of Marrakech in June 2013. Our stay there was first rate in every way. The Riad is a tranquil little island in the sea of humanity that is the Medina. Accommodations were comfortable and suit’s appointments were tasteful with an authentic local feel. The staff took great care of us from the preparation and serving of breakfast each morning on the roof top terrace to booking tours and excretions. We had dinner at the Riad two evenings. Safa the Chief prepared delicious meals using fresh local fruits and vegetables. Younes, and Reda provided incredible service and were charming and delightful people. We would highly recommend the Riad Azoulay for anyone looking to stay in the Medina, immerse themselves in the Moroccan culture and have a relaxing place to get away from the hustle and bustle of the Market.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_C822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#26 of 501 in Marrakech
470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#9 of 501 in Marrakech
575 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#24 of 501 in Marrakech
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.9 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#7 of 501 in Marrakech
845 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#71 of 501 in Marrakech
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Azoulay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Azoulay

Address: 3, Derb Jemaa El Kebir | Near Bahia Palace and El Badi Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £81 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Azoulay 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Azoualy is located in the Medina of Marrakech, in the middle of the Mellah, the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech, a few steps away from the Bahia Palace and a 10 minute walk from the legendary Jemaa-El-Fna square. The Riad Azoulay combines the comforts, the traditional ambiance and the charm of old riads. The building has been restored to its former splendor of the past using the traditional materials, finishes and techniques. The Riad Azoulay has five spacious rooms, all overlooking the internal patio and all furnished with air conditioning and heating, roomy wardrobes, small safes for personal effects, Internet and WI-FI connection, mineral water and fresh flowers daily. Soft plump pillows and sheets of Egyptian cotton will help to make your nights comfortable and dreamy! All the bathrooms are ensuite, and are equipped with hair-dryers, soft towels and top rate ecological toilet and beauty products. Each suite has an individual theme, giving them a unique and unforgettable character.Some of the rooms can be provided with a third bed. The African, Mauritanian and Syrian rooms have matrimonial beds which can be made into two singles. The Riad Azoulay boasts two magnificent junior suites, the Favorita and the Tibetan Suites, and two large sumptuous suites, the Sultana and Royale Suites. The suites, which have been decorated with great care and attention to detail, come equipped with air conditioning and central heating, spacious wardrobes, private safes for the guests' personal effects, Internet and WI-FI connection, and a daily supply of mineral water and fresh flowers. Soft plump pillows and sheets of the finest Egyptian cotton have been provided to ensure the guests with all one needs for a relaxing night's sleep.All the bathrooms are ensuite, and are equipped with hair-dryers, soft towels and top rate ecological toilet and beauty products. The typical Mediterranean breakfast, included in the tariff of the room, can be served "al fresco" on the patio or terrace, or in the winter months, in the ground floor dining area. Guests will able to begin their day with freshly baked bread, homemade marmalade and jams, boiled, fried, or scrambled eggs or omelettes,oven fresh cakes and biscuits, yoghurt, fresh fruit, freshly squeezed orange juice, and of course coffee or tea. Light freshly made snacks are available throughout the day. Thus while you are basking in the sun on the terrace you could enjoy a Moroccan yoghurt made with honey and nuts, or a bowl of fresh fruit salad, or if something a little more filling is preferred, a "trio" of Moroccan salads, or a perhaps a sandwich of grilled vegetables, with goats' cheese and a touch of mint. Our dinners are the result of a fusion of Moroccan and Italian cuisine, served by candlelight, and followed by a relaxing herb tea. We never use processed foods in our kitchen, and all our meals are prepared using traditional methods. Our chef plans a delicious menu of the day with typical traditional Moroccan dishes, prepared with love and the freshest of ingredients. Try our "briouates" (small pastries with savoury fillings) or the famous "pastilla" with pigeon and almonds, Moroccan salads and soups, and our delicious tajines and couscous, and we are sure you will be delighted! As we are only a small hotel, guests are kindly asked to let the staff know if they would like to dine with us. The chef will make every attempt to satisfy any dietary requirements the guests may have. Vegetarians are made most welcome. Moroccan Cuisine is a perfect combination of various traditional cuisines and is one of the best in the world. Its fascinating mixture of flavours, aromas and colours, combined with its capacity to amalgamate vegetables, fish and fruit with delicate and refined spices, have made it renowned and appreciated the world over. Mediterranean, African, and Oriental cuisine have been fused with the local Berber traditions; the bitter-sweet tastes are inherited from the lands of Arabia, whereas the tradition of combining fruit with meat is Persian. The desserts, full of sugar and spice, are instead a Turkish passion. In order to know a country well, the is no better way than to study its traditional cuisine, taste its foods, and enjoy its flavours and aromas. Thus, with this aim in mind, the Riad Azoulay offers its guests the opportunity to join the chef Saida, who will reveal to them all the secrets of the Moroccan cuisine. During the course the chef will teach the students how to recognize and choose the correct spices for each dish, how to cook using the traditional methods, and how to prepare some true Moroccan meals to serve to their friends and family when they return home. Amongst other things students will be taught how to make cous cous with lamb stew and vegetables, how to use the terracotta tajine to braise meat with vegetables and fruit, and how to make some very special Moroccan desserts. The ritual of the Hammam, which heals the body and relaxes the mind, is available to our guests in our Wellbeing Centre. Guests can enjoy a relaxing steam bath or an invigorating body scrub in the candle lit hammam, sitting on the benches of Italian Carrara marble. Or maybe they would like to book a soothing massage by one of our qualified masseurs, and experience the exotic qualities of the locally sourced but world famous Moroccan Argan oil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Azoulay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing