We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION, FANTASTIC RIAD”
Review of Riad Amiris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Amiris
Ranked #318 of 1,139 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION, FANTASTIC RIAD”
Reviewed 13 November 2009

This riad is lovely, very clean and with only 6 rooms you really feel looked after. Fabienne and Michel were really helpful with every request we had and they really went out of their way to make sure we had a great time in Marrakech.
We stayed in the Hearts room on the first floor, very romantic, perfect for couples, the decor is chic Moroccan with a french twist and we were really happy with our choice.
The location is perfect, only a minute walk to the square and the souks, great for visiting the city as even if you get lost it is very easy to find the square again!
The riad has a lovely terrace to unwind and relax with a beer or a glass of wine soaking up the lovely winter sun of Marrakech!

I can safely reccommend this riad to everyone and I can't wait to go back to Morocco for another adventure!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiara_cm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    64
    13
    8
    10
See reviews for
35
152
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2009

Very stylish and well maintained guesthouse. The owner + personel made us feel at home and were very service oriented, also in assisting with finding adresses and making reservations for a rental car.

The ambiance is nice, well decorated and of good quality. The riad is situated at 200 m from the main square of down town (Medina) Marrakesh.

very recommendable

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huugasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2009

We loved staying in this beautiful Rihad. The owner Fabienne is a chic Parisienne, who has created a beautiful atmosphere & whose warm and relaxed style ensures guests feel perfectly welcome & at home here.

Other things I loved:
Breakfast - fresh crusty bread with morrocan honey, freshly made sweet & savoury pancakes (still warm) home made semolina cake, moroccan rolls.

Staff - especiall Radhiga a very sweet & helpful morrocan lady who makes the pancakes & also bakes yummy heart & flower shaped biscuits

Rooms - we stayed in hearts room which was spacious with a large bed fluffy pillows & crisp white linen. The pretty bathroon is morrocan style with copper basin & rough-cast tiles.

Ambience - from the intricate cedarwood carved panels & beautifully painted doors (restored to their 300 yr old glory by a team of craftsmen in 2008) to the beautiful smell of rosewater & freshly made cookies (if Radigha is baking) & the sound of Ella Fitzgerald or Bach playing in the backgorund

Local knowledge - Fabienne went through our clearly out of date Rough Guide & gave great tips on where to go & how much the taxi drivers should charge.

Hammam & massage - fantastic!

I could go on & on but if you want somewhere to feel the true flavour & romance of Marrakech choose this Rihad!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scolastica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon,England
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2009

Staying in this riad really helps you to get the full experience of Morrocco. The staff are great, very welcoming and helpful. The riad itself is lovely, so much attention to detail throughout and lovely and clean. It is just a short walk from the main square so you really feel at the heart of where everything is going on.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheelsgoround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell, Ca
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

If you are looking for a Riad in Marrakesh, and if Riad Amiris is available, stop looking and book it. It is perfect and it is a major bargain.

We stayed there twice and the location, beauty and atmosphere, amenities, helpfulness and value, this Riad gets nothing but “10’s”.

If you are going to Morocco, stay in a Riad. You can stay in a hotel anywhere in the world, why not have a different experience in Morocco? In Marrakesh, you want to be close to the main square because taking a taxi every time you want to shop or look for a restaurant is no fun. However, you do not want to be on the square or the noise will be unpleasant and keep you awake. Amiris is a two-minute walk from the square but on a quiet side street without noise.

Fabienne and Michel are French and multi lingual and they have created an oasis (what else, on the edge of the Sahara?) of tranquility and beauty. The Riad is amazingly attractive and comfortable without being ostentatious. The roof garden is wonderful for breakfast or for a glass of wine in the evening and the Hamman (Turkish steam room) is very special with or without massage. The courtyard and primary public area is more than pretty –often with soft classical music playing- and each guestroom is decorated uniquely in Moroccan style with lovely tile and brass bathrooms.

Every member of the staff is as warm and helpful as Fabienne and Michel and with only six guest rooms Amiris is the real intimate Riad experience. Frankly, you can spend twice as much or more and not have half as good an experience as you will at Amiris. Even if you are on a minimum budget, this is worth a bit of a splurge.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasletra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilanova i la Geltru
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Just spent 4 days in this Riad for some total relaxation. Had a superb stay. Fabienne and her staff were friendly and helpful from the start. Fabienne arranged our airport transfer (15 euros) which was courteous and efficient. The Riad is literally round the corner from the Jmaa El Fna sq. so great for evening strolls through the souks and taking in the atmosphere of the stalls. We were greeted at the Riad with some delicious miniature pastries and mint tea, shown our room and given advice about Marrakesh.
Our room (we requested this room) was lovely but the bathroom did require some refurb. The paint was peeling off and large cracks were on the walls. It was also quite narrow and small. The drains also had quite a bad smell and it was important to put the plug in the shower base to try and prevent this. Humidity is a constant problem in the old town houses.
The bedroom itself was beautifully decorated with a stone carving on the wall. We stayed in the 'Sun' room. We looked at all the other rooms. All were very nice and the bathrooms were in better condition than ours and larger. I would particularly recommend the 'Hearts' and 'Birds' rooms.
Our bed was large and very comfortable with soft white cotton sheets, cosy duvet and big soft pillows. The towels were also large and soft.
We booked a massage which was so good we had one each day of our stay. The Hammam was quite nice but I think it would be even better on a cold winters day.
A particular treat was having breakfast in bed every day (we could have had it on the terrace or in the courtyard). The breakfast consisted of 'very' strong coffee (we had to ask for it to be hot, otherwise it came luke warm), freshly squeezed orange juice, homemade pancakes and pastries with conserves. Absolutely delicious but I think some variations would be good for people who want something more savoury not sweet (maybe cheese or with toast).
The Riad can also do meals although we chose to eat out for the experience. They also serve alcohol at reasonable prices.
All in all a delightful Riad and we would certainly go back to stay there.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riadamiris, propriètaire at Riad Amiris, responded to this review, 1 October 2009
Thank you for your nice message;
Just to tell you and to our futures guests than our only bathroom which had a small problem with some water infiltration has been totally repaired and is brand new!
This is the bathrom of "sun's room"

With kind regards;
Fabienne Guéguen Fernbach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

The Riad is absolutley fantastic and you will find great attention to detail. The service is warm and personal and the host is first class.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayjitsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Basma
Riad Basma
#253 of 499 in Marrakech
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Zinoun
Riad Zinoun
#249 of 499 in Marrakech
227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Balkisse
Riad Balkisse
#332 of 1,139 in Marrakech
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Marrakiss
Riad Marrakiss
#293 of 1,139 in Marrakech
178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Catalina
Riad Catalina
#181 of 1,139 in Marrakech
332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#45 of 1,139 in Marrakech
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Amiris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amiris

Property: Riad Amiris
Address: 47 Derb Sidi Boulfdail | Angle Rue Kennaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #318 of 1,139 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Amiris 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Amiris is located 200 meters from Jemaâ El Fna Square and a 4-minute drive from Koutoubia Mosque. This traditionally decorated riad offers a rooftop terrace, a hammam and a central patio. All of the rooms at Riad Amiris have air conditioning and a seating area. Each room includes a private bathroom with a shower. Typical, Moroccan dishes can be enjoyed for dinner, upon prior reservation. Free Wi-Fi internet connection access is available in the common areas. Marrakech Menara Airport is a 25-minute drive away and public parking is possible near the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Amiris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Amiris Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing