We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Riad and Excellent Staff”
Review of Riad Anyssates

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Anyssates
Ranked #145 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Brilliant Riad and Excellent Staff”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I found the Riad through BA and what a great find! The French owner Michele is very knowledgeable and helpful and prior to us wandering through what can only be described as "Aladin's Caves" he gave us a very useful pep talk which certainly helped our experience. It is tucked away from the mayhem but a good walking distance, a perfect oasis of calm after the terrific mayhem of a typical day out in Marrakech...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valérie D, Gérant at Riad Anyssates, responded to this review, 9 April 2015
Dear Tom,

Thank you for a great review of your stay with us. Reading that you liked every part of the stay is a great boost for the team and I. We hope to see you back with us soon for another successful experience in our oasis!

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    55
    22
    1
    5
See reviews for
65
132
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We had our first trip to Marrakech and Morrocco. Thank goodness for Trip Advisor. We found the Riad through BA holidays and it's also recommended by Mr & Mrs Smith. (Incidentally, note that the Mr & Mrs Smith website has the Riad significantly misplaced on their map - very unhelpful!) Ensure you visit the Riad's website to get the low down and also to talk to the owner Nickolas who is a Parisian and speaks English well. Following the tips from TA we did the right thing and spoke to Nickolas in advance of departing to organise a taxi to collect us from the airport. The driver met us with the Riad name on a board as we came through arrivals. The Taxi took 15-20 minutes to get into the crowded Medina (behind the city walls) characterised by narrow streets that are poorly labelled. We parked up and the driver walked us straight to the Riad which was indistinguishable from the outside save for a small unobtrusive nameplate - easily missed. To be honest if we had followed the hotel instructions we would also, likely, have found it - (I'm pretty good with maps) but we might have got hassled en route whilst we were carrying bags and the method we used was definitely the best stress-free method. All for 20 Euros. The Riad was delightful. Its hard to avoid the phrase 'Oasis of calm' used by so many others. The Medina is fun but busy, crowded, confusing and intriguing. We found we needed cafe stops to escape the madness and the street hassles, and several returns to the Riad to recharge our batteries and to recollect ourselves. We ate out in the Medina during the day but found the Riad so pleasant that we ate there in the evening - we found no real need to go out and hte other guests were nice to chat to. It was relaxing and the eating spaces were calm with an intriguing arty/boutique feel. Shoestringers - do note that the food and wine prices are more akin to UK prices than those of Morocco - it mattered not to us. Also please note if you're looking for a Riad with a pool this one is not heated and at this time of year the water temperature is coldish. Some tips: Getting lost in the backstreets was fun - stay calm and head for the Medina walls to find a gate and then navigate back to where you want to be. But note we did get to several areas that were very dense with men - at one point in a crowded area packed sky high with furniture we estimated 1,000 men to one woman. My partner who is very robust and confident felt distinctly uncomfortable that men were staring at her ankles so we had to go back to the Riad to get changed. Covering up in this muslim country means long skirts or trousers are best.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valérie D, Gérant at Riad Anyssates, responded to this review, 9 April 2015
Dear Ian,

I am glad to see you enjoyed your time in the riad and in Marrakech altogether, thank heaps for sharing this with everyone, the team's enthusiams and mine are bolstred by comments such as yours. I hope that we will have the privilege to see you come back sometime soon.

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a lovely four night stay at Anyssates but it took us until the last evening to finally work out to get back home at night time as it is very hard to find! Our tip is to take photos of any street signs or landmarks so you can find your way back. Once you are back at the Riad you are transported into an oasis of calm and a feeling of relief overwhelms you after the mayhem outside. On entering the big solid front door a beautiful courtyard with candles round it awaits you, with an archway through to the lounge/dining room ahead and to one side a recessed outdoor seating area, and the other leading to an indoor bar and lounge, with the Spa off to one side.

We were in the Blanche Suite, which was quite compact with an archway with double doors through to the shower room. There was a definite smell of stale water in the room but we put this down to the fact that there is no opening window in the shower room. We did find that there was often no hot water and on the last evening our toilet wouldn't flush. Nicholas did send someone straight away and a make-shift repair was done for the rest of our stay.

We contacted the Riad before our trip to arrange for a taxi to collect us and we were so glad we did this as we would never have found it. The taxi can only take you so far then your adventure begins with a short route on foot to the Riad. It all looked a little scary and I did wonder how safe it would be, but after a couple of days in Marrakech walking down similar streets and alleys, I realised that this is the real Marrakech and we were perfectly safe. The only annoyance was young men constantly asking us both if we were lost or needed help finding something to buy and then trying to lead you to a shop owned by a friend of theirs, or asking for a tip.

On our first night we had pre-booked a meal at the Riad and for 22 Euros we had a very good three course meal, with a free bottle of wine, as we had booked a deal through BA/Mr and Mrs Smith. It was all humbly served by Takim who had been with the Riad since its beginning. We ate in the dining room with another couple who had shared our taxi from the airport and at the other end of the room another happy group of guests were dining in front of a lovely log fire. As it was end of November this was very much welcomed as was the patio heater in the outside seating area.

Nicholas, the Manager was very helpful and speaks excellent English. He arranged a driver for us for a day trip to the Atlas Mountains and made reservations for us at local restaurants. (See my other reviews on restaurants.) The staff were all polite and we got the feeling that they are all a very happy team wanting to make their guests' stay a good one.

I would happily recommend this Riad - if you can work it out, it is in a really good location and the hospitality is gentle and calm.

Room Tip: We saw the suite on the terrace and that looked lovely but I expect it was much more expensive than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank surreylady50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valérie D, Gérant at Riad Anyssates, responded to this review, 9 April 2015
Dear guest,

A great many thanks for your kind and thourough review of your stay with us, it is great to see that you had such a good time in the riad and I hope that we will have the joy of welcoming you again soon.

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

What a truly wonderful place!

Please note though that it is very difficult to find. It is located in strictly pedestrian area so please do not expect your taxi to drop you right outside the hotel. Be prepared to walk for five minutes or so and mind yourself with all mad moped riders!

All staff were wonderful, however; do not go to this riad if you expect any English language to be spoken there. We had to use our long-forgotten school French! It was rather appalling. Our French that is.

The Riad itself is wonderful and peaceful. Beautiful small pool in a courtyard setting makes it very special. The pool is not heated so it is unusable in winter months I would imagine.

Gorgeous roof terrace.

Rooms are incredible. Highly recommend Suite Josephine. It is the only room that has a bath. A free standing deep and beautiful!

I would say that beds are a bit hard...but it is a matter of personal preference.

Suite Josephine overlooks the pool and in my opinion has the best views in this riad.

This riad is situated close to all main attractions, however; be prepared to be lost. :-)

Highly recommend trying their three-course set evening meals. Delicious!

Would book this place without any hesitation! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Suite Josephine is beautiful and the only room with a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank XseniaX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valérie D, Gérant at Riad Anyssates, responded to this review, 9 April 2015
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure receiveing you as was reading your most friendly review of your stay. The team and I thank you for it and we hope to see you return soon, for the Joséphine room another one to renew the experience!

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We came to Marakech mainly for a break, but also for the culture and good food. I must say it was such a good choice choosing Riad Anyssates. Marakech is crazy and exhausting, so we were massively grateful for the calm and peacefulness of the Riad, set in a cool, traditional and beautiful Riad. We spent lots of lovely time chilling out on the Roof Terrace or around the pool and lounge area when we weren't out exploring, giving us the chill out we really needed. We were always looked after, often being asked if we would like anything to drink.

We found the staff to be very friendly and personable. Nicholas was amazing, and we definitely wouldn't have got so much from our trip without his cunning and clever advice. We also got to know the super friendly, local man who proudly led the reconstruction of the Riad many years ago, which really made the whole experience feel more special (although speaking a bit of French was helpful for us!)

The breakfast was good quality but definitely lacked in variety: if you don't like lots of carbs you're in trouble! We had a quick lunch which was average and very pricey, but this was only for convenience as we were leaving that day. Don't let it put you off, because going out to eat is very easy, and really is why you are going to Marakech. We were told good things about dinner, but we didn't bother. The traditional Mint Tea was the best we tried in the whole city (and we were on the hunt for the best!)


I also had a pedicure which was great quality and not badly priced, although we got our Hammam else where.

On the whole, lovely, peaceful, personable and we were looked after! Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room "Sarah" was lovely, spacious, authentic, everything worked and enough space to re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WraggyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valérie D, Gérant at Riad Anyssates, responded to this review, 9 April 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review, helping you enjoying the riad and Marrakech was my pleasure and I would do it again anytime, hopefully soon!
I do think that the carbs are needed to have fully charged batteries and enjoy all that the medina has to offer :) But we can of course tune it to our guest's wishes, with more fruits ore other lighter food.

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

We moved to this riad after staying in another riad in Marrakech and perhaps this contributed to our sense of disappointment as we had had a lovely time in our first riad.

Nicolas is fantastic and he really was the highlight of the stay.

Breakfast was ok - although variety limited. We had a few plumbing issues (which were sorted out quickly). The shower fitting fell off the wall during a shower. We found the staff impersonal and not very available. The room we were in was not very big. We chose not to have dinner in the riad as we were not impressed with breakfasts.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vapp83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valérie D, Gérant at Riad Anyssates, responded to this review, 9 April 2015
Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your impressions on the riad, although your compliments made me blush, I apologize if the staff felt too distant, I hope that I did not created a barrier by being too present.
It is a shame that we happened to experience these untimely shower and plumbing issues, it saddens me that it was partly responsible for spoiling your experience of the riad.

On the other hand and as you noticed, the staff promptly fixed the problem and in the same spirit they would have had no trouble doing something different or something more for breakfast, had they known what would have pleased you.
Even though our breakfast includes fresh orange juice and fruit salad, home made yogurt and jam with toasted bread, and each day a different kind of cake and pancakes, we are always happy to do something different or extra. Shame too that as a consequence you did not get to try our lunch or dinner that can be equally adaptative.

I hope that you still had a pleasant time in Marrakech and that you would come back someday to give us a chance to prove ourselves to you

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed at the Riad for a week having done lots of research into where to stay while in Marrakech. The positive reviews of this place are bang on the money and if I were to ever go back to Marrakech, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

The Riad is in the north west of the Medina, and maybe a 15 minute walk from the main square. It's worth noting though, that we barely spent any time in the main square, as there are so many other things to do in the Medina, and once you get your bearings (which didn't take us long) its an easy walk (minding the scooters!). It is also easy to get the Majorelle Gardens and the new town from the Riad.

Nicolas was incredibly helpful, describing the routes and what to look out for to help navigate. He also made reservations for us when we asked him to, and made recommendations of places to eat.

We stayed in Blanche room- I'd recommend this on the basis that it is maybe quieter than some of the other rooms. The nature of a riad means it is arranged around a central courtyard, and so noise travels. So if you are a light sleeper- pack ear plugs. We were disturbed on our last night by some inconsiderate guests being noisy, which was a shame.

I also had a very painful facial in the spa- maybe that is the way they are done in Morocco, but I wouldn't go back for one in a hurry! I didn't have any other treatments though, so maybe they would be more relaxing!!

The food is simple but tasty.

Overall, this was one of the best hotel experiences I've ever had- the staff, the location, the design, the food... all of it made for a really enjoyable trip to Marrakech.

Room Tip: The 'rooms' rather than 'suites' are probably quieter, as the suites open out onto c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valérie D, Gérant at Riad Anyssates, responded to this review, 9 April 2015
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure welcoming you as was reading your review of your stay. So sorry about your last night being spoiled by another of our guests who go too enthusiastic too late. You will be glad to know that following your and other feedbacks we now work only with a specialized company that employs certified and highly qualified beauticians.
The team and I thanking you for your kindness and wish you well.

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#72 of 500 in Marrakech
221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#45 of 500 in Marrakech
206 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Bounouar
Riad Dar Bounouar
#99 of 500 in Marrakech
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#28 of 500 in Marrakech
816 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Malika
Riad Malika
#96 of 500 in Marrakech
434 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#121 of 500 in Marrakech
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Anyssates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Anyssates

Property: Riad Anyssates
Address: 144 Derb El Bomba | Arset Ihiri, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#80 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#102 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#180 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Anyssates 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feeling, trueness, shift, these are what you shall enjoy at Riad Anyssates.As well as our “Table dhôtes” and our fill hammam services.The riad is between the exciting section Bab Doukala and the Riad El Arouss and the city remparts.The riad is ideally located between the souks, the famous *place Djema El Fna and the new city Guéliz with the taxis and guarded parking.The riad provides you with toplevel comfort, with a charming, warm and family atmosphere.With large volume and huge 380 m2 superficies, the riad provides each host with intimacy and friend meeting facilities up to 20 with exclusive reservation.To day the riad offers 4 rooms and extended terrace and space devoted to hammam and care services.The bar Lounge is open to 2 galleries, one in front the swimming pool, the other opening on the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Anyssates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Anyssates Marrakech
Riad Anyssates Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing