We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but...”
Review of Riad Anyssates

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Anyssates
Ranked #127 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2010

We have just returned from 5 nights in Riad Anyssates and overall we enjoyed it there. The Riad is a real oasis of tranquility after the bustle of the medina.
As other reviewers have mentioned, language is an issue here if your french is less than fluent but we got by and the staff were lovely!
Our room was great and was cleaned daily and we had none of the plumbing and air con issues that some other reviewers had.
Being a riad rather than a hotel, it is a little less flexible and if you want to eat there in the evening you really have to tell them in the morning. There were one or two occasions where we ordered snacks and felt that we were putting upon the staff a little!
My one word of warning would be about airport transfers. We booked a pick up from the airport prior to our arrival and I would say that this is essential - you will never find it otherwise! However, for the return I would reccomend simply picking up a petit taxi nearby. We booked a return transfer for 8.30am with the riad and at 8.30 the porter was nowhere to be seen. We waited til 8.50am and decided to just get a cab which cost us 100Dh. We were then pursued to the airport by the porter who demanded 600Dh for the transfer saying that we had just left without paying! So our return transfer cost about £70!
If you book this with Mr & Mrs Smith be warned that the manager will take your card off you and keep it; you will have to pay for a new one on your return.
So aside from the rather weird airport altercation, we enjoyed our time here. It's a great way to experience Marrakech but if you want flexibility and the convenience of 24h staffing, stay in a hotel :)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicepants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valérie D, Gérant at Riad Anyssates, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I apologize for what happened with the previous manager and hope that you will give a shot at the new Riad Anyssates.

Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2010

Booked this Riad for a surprise 50th Birthday for my aunt and there were 15 members of an extended family so we booked the whole place. First time booking a Riad and not a hotel and felt slightly cheated with the experience. The website makes the place look like a true luxury place but it wasn't as nice in the flesh. The building is nice but the soft furnishings need a major update as they were a bit sad looking. The place isn't as big as it looks like on the website either.
Language was a major issue so ensure you have a good understanding of French or Spanish, we had to use a laptop to show and translate what we wanted the chefs to make for our meals. They initially provided only 3 bottles of water with the meals and we told them it wasnt enough so they increased that to 5 bottles! Not a lot for 13 adults and 2 infants. They ripped us off with soft drinks - 1 can of coke was 150 dirhams but we could get two bottles of coke for 16 dirhams in the stores just outside. When we asked if we could purchase soft drinks from a supermarket and keep them cold in the kitchen's fridge we were told it wasn't possible. I think in a country where it reaches over 40 degrees in Aug water should be provided free - at the end of the week they charged us for 47 bottles of mineral water, even after paying them 800 euros for food for the week when we arrived. We may have happily paid for wine and beer if they'd even entertained the idea of free water! Next time i would just book into a hotel, at least we'd have fridges in the room.

The porter and chef/kitchen staff where brilliant - friendly, helpful and couldn't do enough to make sure we were comfortable. Food was good and freshly made and they really made us feel like the Riad was our home for the week. The Manager however wasn't as friendly and was hardly there thank god. He shouted at the staff in front of us when they didn't do what they were told to straight away and tried to get us to pay for airport transfers when we'd already agreed with the owners that transfers were included. This situation was resolved after he called the owner in front of us and she said she'd agreed transfers with us.

I'm glad our family are close as it could have ended up being a disastrous weekend but this isn't a place i would stay in again. Marrakech i would visit again and we weren't hasseld as much as we thought we would be.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gubs H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valérie D, Gérant at Riad Anyssates, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2015

Dear guest,

I thank you for sharing your feedback with everyone here. I am for sorry for the misunderstandings and mishaps during your stay some time ago, know that the riad and the team have changed quite a bit so I hope you would come and try the bigger better Riad Anyssates.

Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

We loved our stay at Riad Anyssates. It was perfect. The room was beautiful, the staff friendly and the atmosphere was calm and relaxed.

On the evenings that we had the place to ourselves, it was magical and romantic. When the other guests were around it was convivial and entertaining.

We ate the two best meals we had in Morocco at Riad Anyssates, and were looked after so well we didn't want to leave - despite its great location in the northern part of the medina.

Really couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesandcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valérie D, Gérant at Riad Anyssates, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2015

Dear James, dear Catherine,

I can't thank you enough for your kind review of your stay with us, it is great to see that you had a good time in the riad and I hope that we will have the joy of welcoming you again.

Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2009

I stayed at Riad Anyssates for 4 nights in October. Overall we had a pleasant stay and I felt more authentic, if this is really possible in such a touristy destination, than if staying in one of the luxury resorts/hotels outside of the medina. The Riad has a very tranquil, almost magical atmosphere, particularly at night. After the heat, hustle and bustle of Marrakech, stepping through the door into the cool and calm is exactly what you want. However, this riad is in no way worth the money charged. The rooms are pleasant and spacious, but a little more run down than I expected, the plumbing is poor (although I understand that this is generally a problem in the city) and there are few facilities offered in your room other than some bottled water. Our air conditioning unit leaked water whenever it was switched on, making it unusuable, which considering the unseasonably warm weather for that time of year, was a pain. We showed the manager this problem on our first day, he made a big show of shouting at the maid to come and clear up the water, but never fixed the problem. As mentioned by an earlier reviewer, the breakfast was pleasant on the first day, but it is very basic and by day 4 you really have had enough. This would all be fine if you weren't paying over 100 euros a night, but after our big bill (with 4% card fee) at the end of it, felt a bit ripped off.
Note: they have sorted the after hours access problems as posted by a previous visitor. You are now issued with a key to your room and the front door upon arrival.
The biggest downside of this riad is the location, to the north of the medina. As a first time visitor you WILL get lost, which admittedly is part of the experience, but in this district you will get hassled constantly, mostly by local boys trying to get themselves employed as your personal tour guide. A common ploy is to send you the wrong way when you are foolish enough to ask for directions, so that you are then forced to pay someone to help you. Having said that, I found Marrakech to be safe, and despite being regularly lost and frustrated, I never felt in any danger. The staff at the Riad do try and combat this problem however, by offering to find you taxis and we generally found the them to be eternally helpful and cheerful.
A quick word on some must does, a hammam at Le Bain de Marrakech (had an amazing half day spa - Lovely. Book well in advance, they get very busy). Had wonderful meals at Yacout, Le Cafe de la poste de Flore & Al Fassia - higher end but worth it. Le Jardin de Marjorelle is well worth a visit.
Would I recommend Riad Anyssated to others? No, and particularly not to first time visitors, that location is just too much work for a relaxing holiday. I suspect that you could get much better value for money, and be nearer the main tourist attractions, elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TallulahLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valérie D, Gérant at Riad Anyssates, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. I offer my most sincere apologies for what went wrong at the time but I can assure you that the riad is quite a different place now. Hopfully you will be back to try our own hammam and massage and more.

Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2009

My partner and I stayed at Riad Anyssates for 5 nights in June. We were in the Josephine room and whilst on the whole the room was nicely furnished, we felt that we had been deceived by the internet photos as the quality was quite poor. The bath was ancient and not at all inviting and the floor mats were quite worn.

The staff were mostly friendly and helpful however we were surprised to be met on our first day with a demand for payment. We were told outright that they would only accept cash, preferably Euros. We had booked this trip through Mr & Mrs Smith and had to call them directly to clarify this point. We then insisted on paying on a card and were asked if we could pay half cash and half card which we again refused and felt that we were being pushed around. Beware they charge 4% for credit card payments. It would also be useful to decide in advance whether it is more beneficial to pay with euros or dirhams. The manager pushed for euros but by paying in dirhams we saved around £50.

We very much enjoyed our breakfasts on the roof terrace and we had 2 evening meals in the Riad. We were disappointed however that this was a set 3 course menu chosen from the open menu by the cook. Our meal on the first night was a waste of time as they brought us main courses that we would not have chosen ourselves. The lack of snacks on offer was also a problem.

Our favourite part of the Riad was by far the roof terrace. The sun beds were really comfortable and we enjoyed drinks up there on an evening as well.

The atmosphere at the Riad was for the most part peaceful and relaxing until our penulitmate day when the owners and their 3 children arrived. They took over the whole of the downstairs limiting our access to facilities. We were the only other guests in the Riad at this time and our presence was not acknowledged at all and they generally made us feel like unwelcome house guests. The peace was shattered by the noise they generated not only during the day but also well past midnight. Up until this point we had enjoyed spending time in the Riad but felt the need to escape.

Beware this Riad is on the edge of the northern Medina and we found it to be easier to get to the square by walking around the outside of the walls.

On the whole, we found the Riad to be ok. It was very clean, the staff were friendly and we enjoyed most of the food we had there. The surroundings were pleasant until our penultimate day. Would I recommend it - No. I think there are other Riads out there providing better quality and better value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarahcWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valérie D, Gérant at Riad Anyssates, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2015

Dear Sarah,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. I am truly sorry for the parts of your experience that you were disapointed about but know that there were quite a few changes since then that should have fixed most of the issues. Hopefully I will have the pleasure to welcome you myself another time.

Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2009

We stayed at the Riad Anyssates for 5 nights and it would be fair to say this was too long a 2 - 3 night trip would have been more appropriate. This Riad is graded at 4* however in our view it was probably more a 2-3 * grading. The Riad photos look exactly as the Riad does in reality however given that Marrakech is pretty dusty this has impacted on the overall look, in some ways this adds to the charm of this Riad. The Riad Anyssates is a little out of the way and finding your way around the medina iwas quite unnerving until you learn the route to and from tourist areas. French is the main language spoken therfore if you cannot speak this commincation will definatelly be a problem at this Riad. The rooms were cleaned daily and to a high standard however other areas were only cleaned once during our stay. Breakfast was a novelty on the first day as this was typical morrocon style i.e bread, flat bread, chapati type, croissants or buns with butter and jam, orange juice and coffee however by day 5 this was a chore. Particularly when you could smell the maid or owner cooking bacon and other appealing choices. There is no restaurant available however there is a set lunch or dinner menu on offer. This did not include snax or light bites but more a full three course morrocon dinner / lunch choice and was quite expensive 15euros for lunch and 20euros for dinner per person excluding drinks. One word of caution you are not issued with a key to the Riad and are reliant on the maid letting you in. On one particlar evening we returned late only to discover no-one was in. Luckily we took the telephone number for the owner and after overcoming the language difficulties someone eventually arrived to allow us access. This was quite a scary experience standing in the narrow lane late in the evening. For peace of mind make sure you cover this contingency. Overall staying in a Riad was a magical experince and one I would strongly recomend if you want a real feel for morrocon life within the medina however choose your Riad wisely

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuzyQScotlandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valérie D, Gérant at Riad Anyssates, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2015

Dear Suzy,

Thank you for sharing your feelings about your stay with us and for being our 1st Tripadvisor review! I regret that you were unhappy with a few things in here but I hope that you will return someday to see how much we have changed and improved since.

Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank soph2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Infinity Sea
Riad Infinity Sea
#121 of 501 in Marrakech
110 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riad Alma
Riad Alma
#134 of 501 in Marrakech
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#56 of 501 in Marrakech
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#24 of 501 in Marrakech
831 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Bounouar
Riad Dar Bounouar
#87 of 501 in Marrakech
167 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Terra Bahia
Riad Terra Bahia
#188 of 501 in Marrakech
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Anyssates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Anyssates

Address: 144 Derb El Bomba | Arset Ihiri, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#72 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#95 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#178 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £83 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Anyssates 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feeling, trueness, shift, these are what you shall enjoy at Riad Anyssates.As well as our “Table dhôtes” and our fill hammam services.The riad is between the exciting section Bab Doukala and the Riad El Arouss and the city remparts.The riad is ideally located between the souks, the famous *place Djema El Fna and the new city Guéliz with the taxis and guarded parking.The riad provides you with toplevel comfort, with a charming, warm and family atmosphere.With large volume and huge 380 m2 superficies, the riad provides each host with intimacy and friend meeting facilities up to 20 with exclusive reservation.To day the riad offers 4 rooms and extended terrace and space devoted to hammam and care services.The bar Lounge is open to 2 galleries, one in front the swimming pool, the other opening on the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Anyssates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Anyssates Marrakech
Riad Anyssates Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing